TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-04-2013, 09:30 PM   #1
RusRus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 150
TCP 8080 Failed

I don't know if this problem existed before I moved from AT&T DSL to Cox Cable Modem or not but when I ran diagnostics it said that Port configuration failed and it said TCP 8080 needs to be open. How do I open it?

My router is a D-Link 615.

Last edited by RusRus : 07-04-2013 at 09:41 PM.
RusRus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 05:14 PM   #2
HomeUser
Registered User
 
HomeUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: A2 Michigan
Posts: 2,292
Help can be found on TiVo's website Which network ports and IP addresses do I need open when using my TiVo box?

I doubt if they are blocking 8080 that is a frequently used port search the web for something like "websites setup on port 8080" look for one using :8080
__________________
VicW, Ex-Comcast customer ... And loving it!.
HomeUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 03:50 AM   #3
SKInouye
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2
Arrow Same error & problems with Pandora too

We have 2 Series 3 TiVo XL boxes.

We have been having problems with Pandora going on 3 or 4 weeks now. Songs get stuck and the same note repeats over and over, sometimes for just a few seconds and sometimes for a minute or more.

So I headed over the Network Diagnostics and sure enough, I am getting the same port configuration error on both TiVo boxes which are connecting via the WiFi:

The port(s) listed below need to be opened on your router. For more information, review your router manual or contact your ISP.

TCP port 8080

I called Verizon Fios and (no surprise) they wouldn't help me. I am using the Verizon supplied Actiontec router because my Internet comes over coaxial cable.

We stream Netflix on our TiVo and have no problems with that, just Pandora.

I have tried setting up the port forwarding on the router per this article support. tivo. com/ app/ answers/ detail/ a_id/ 402/ kw/ ports and this did not help.

I have noticed when I use another box to stream Pandora that sometimes that box needs to buffer the stream. I wonder if this is the problem and the TiVo XL just doesn't do a very good job handling that?

But that still doesn't explain why this has only been a problem for the last several week...or why we are getting this port error now.
SKInouye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 06:07 AM   #4
dianebrat
Uncontrolled Force
 
dianebrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: boston'ish
Posts: 7,237
Port 8080 failures are a red herring, they're not the issue.
__________________
"There is a distinct difference between having an open mind and having a hole in your head from which your brain leaks out."
dianebrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |