TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-27-2014, 03:18 PM   #1
barb1948
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 26
What is DT? is it HD?

I am setting up my favorite channels and i notice, for instance CBS is listed WCBSDT. Why is it not WCBSHD?
All my Network channels are DT.. With stations like USA, TNT, FX are HD?

Now i know all HD tv is DT, but not all DT is HD... But why is there a difference in the call letters (DT/HD?

Am i loosing quality with the DT channels?
Thanks
barb1948 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 03:28 PM   #2
stevel
Dumb Blond
 
stevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 24,190
TC CLUB MEMBER
It's "Digital Television". Doesn't mean a lot now. One could have a non-HD digital TV set. The cable channels aren't broadcast, so they use HD to distinguish them from SD feeds.
__________________
Steve
stevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 03:32 PM   #3
barb1948
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 26
Hmmm. You went over my head.

WCBSDT is same as WCBS HD? I have a hd TV set and tivo roamio
barb1948 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 03:45 PM   #4
maharg18
Registered User
 
maharg18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 3,631
Yes, same thing in this case. Analog broadcast stations used TV as the designator, digital broadcast stations use DT.
__________________
-Maharg18
maharg18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 04:10 PM   #5
NorthAlabama
tabasco rules
 
NorthAlabama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: rocket city, al
Posts: 2,268
Quote:
Originally Posted by barb1948 View Post
...Now i know all HD tv is DT, but not all DT is HD... But why is there a difference in the call letters (DT/HD?...Am i loosing quality with the DT channels?
a "dt" in a station call sign has nothing to do with whether or not the station broadcasts in "hd", it's an fcc call sign suffix, like "tv". other suffixes include "fm", "ca" (class a), and "lp" (low power). "hd" was never a call sign suffix.

the "dt" stands for "digital television", it's not always required, and a tv station can apply to have the "dt" dropped, or changed to "tv".

from the wikipedia call sign page on suffixes:
Quote:
Suffixes

FM radio and television call signs may be followed by a dash and the two-letter class of station: "-FM", "-LP", "-TV", or "-CA". For digital television, since June 2009, stations have the latitude to choose a "-TV" or "-DT" suffix for their calls, but as of 2014, very few stations have chosen to use "-DT" call signs. Occasionally, an FM or television station may have one or more boosters, which retransmit the main station's signal to overcome terrain obstacles. In this case, the main portion of the call sign remains the same (unlike translators), and the boosters are given sequential numeric suffixes like "–FM1".

It should be noted that the "-FM" or "-TV" suffix is not required to be assigned to television or FM radio stations, except where there is another station that shares the same three- or four-letter base call sign without an accompanying suffix. AM radio stations never have an "-AM" or any other suffix.

__________________


The truth will set you free. But not until it is finished with you. - David Foster Wallace
NorthAlabama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 04:23 PM   #6
barb1948
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 26
as usual, i get the best answers here. thanks!
barb1948 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 05:08 AM   #7
HarperVision
Registered User
 
HarperVision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 958
Quote:
Originally Posted by barb1948 View Post
Hmmm. You went over my head. WCBSDT is same as WCBS HD? I have a hd TV set and tivo roamio
No, DT only means that it's a digital TV broadcast. It is "usually" the SD (480i/p) version of its digital broadcast when it says DT, but it can technically be either that or HD (720p/1080i). But as mentioned their HD version is usually listed as HD.
__________________
Dave Harper
Director, Event Technology
ISF, CTS
HarperVision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 10:56 AM   #8
Jeeters
Registered Snoozer
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 6,844
Quote:
Originally Posted by HarperVision View Post
No, DT only means that it's a digital TV broadcast. It is "usually" the SD (480i/p) version of its digital broadcast when it says DT, but it can technically be either that or HD (720p/1080i). But as mentioned their HD version is usually listed as HD.
This.

The majority of my digital SD stations have DT suffix. And the majority of my HD stations have an HD suffix. But I have several HD stations that have a DT suffix instead of an HD suffix.
Jeeters is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 11:51 AM   #9
JosephB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 595
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeeters View Post
This.

The majority of my digital SD stations have DT suffix. And the majority of my HD stations have an HD suffix. But I have several HD stations that have a DT suffix instead of an HD suffix.
This is only kind of correct.

From a technical perspective, -DT is part of the callsign. So, if you had WWOR-TV in the analog days, it would now be WWOR-DT referring to the digital signal.

However, that's not a hard and fast rule. As mentioned above TV stations can drop the DT, or they can use TV instead of DT.

As far as what's listed in the guide or what's listed in the channel information, that is just completely at the whim of the engineer at the TV station that configured their equipment along with whoever submits the data to Tribune. It doesn't really mean anything in regards to whether or not the signal is HD or not.
__________________
Current: TiVo HD w/lifetime, 2 x 2 Tuner Premieres

Former: S1, S2 TiVos, UltimateTV, SD DirecTiVo (x3), SA 8300HD w/Passport Echo, DirecTV HR-24 (x2) , DISH 722k, DirecTV Genie + 2 mini
JosephB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 07:20 AM   #10
Diana Collins
Registered User
 
Diana Collins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: New York City Suburbs
Posts: 1,337
ALL of this (on a TiVo) is dependent on what Tribune publishes for your cable provider. Here in the NYC DMA, on FiOS, all of the broadcast stations are listed with "DT" suffixes (WCBSDT, WNBCDT, etc.) in the TiVo guide and almost every one of them broadcasts in HD.
__________________
Current Setup: 2 Roamio Pros, 5 Minis on FiOS (all with lifetime)

Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006
Diana Collins is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |