TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-02-2012, 11:45 AM   #1
buscuitboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta area
Posts: 690
Question Are these older TiVo networkable?

I might be able to get a hold of some older Tivo's with built-in DVD-R recorders. They are the following:
  • Pioneer Elite DVR-57H
  • Toshiba branded (not sure of the specific model number yet)

Both would come with a wired or wireless USB adapter. I already have an S2 DT and S3 Tivo units that are hard wired into my home network. I do MRV with both of them as well as pyTivo for video transferring.

Since the Toshiba and Pioneer units comes with USB adapters, will I be able to fully network them with my S2 & S3 (& use pyTivo)?

Last edited by buscuitboy : 02-02-2012 at 11:51 AM.
buscuitboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 12:36 PM   #2
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,023
Yes, if they're Series 2s. But if you want them to talk directly to each other, you'll have to get their MAKs changed to match. (pyTivo doesn't care about the MAK except for togo, or when dealing with .TiVo files.)
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 12:59 PM   #3
buscuitboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta area
Posts: 690
MAKs = Media Access Keys, right? If so, can this easily be done myself? Is it maybe done automatically once they are added to my account?

Also, I think one states it comes with a "Limited lifetime subscription" & the other comes with "FREE lifetime basic TiVo". What are the limitations of these kind of lifetime subscription (presumably the same)? Does it maybe not allow season passes and/or online scheduling? Anything else missing versus a regular lifetime sub?
buscuitboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 05:12 PM   #4
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,758
Quote:
Originally Posted by buscuitboy View Post
MAKs = Media Access Keys, right? If so, can this easily be done myself? Is it maybe done automatically once they are added to my account?

Also, I think one states it comes with a "Limited lifetime subscription" & the other comes with "FREE lifetime basic TiVo". What are the limitations of these kind of lifetime subscription (presumably the same)? Does it maybe not allow season passes and/or online scheduling? Anything else missing versus a regular lifetime sub?
I'm assuming that the MAK gets changed automatically once the Tivo is added to your account. At least that has been my experience for different S2, S2DT, S3HD, and Premeire boxes.

I think that the DVD boxes came with the limited lifetime or basic (not sure if they are the same) and that you only get something like 2 days of Guide Data.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 05:36 PM   #5
supersnoop
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 50
All Pioneer and Toshiba TiVo's came with lifetime "Basic" service. You can see the differences here.

Basically, they get three days of guide data and you can record by time and channel. If you want to transfer shows around, you'll need to pay for the "Plus" (regular) service.
__________________
(2) Tivo Premiere Elite
TiVo HD - 2TB
TiVo S3 - 1.5TB
TiVo S3 - 1.5TB
Pioneer 57H - 750GB
supersnoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 04:12 PM   #6
gullick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1
Question No Phone

I no longer have a land line, but I have a lifetime service with TiVo. My TiVo has USB ports. How can I connect?
gullick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 05:41 PM   #7
caddyroger
Registered User
 
caddyroger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Some where out west
Posts: 1,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by gullick View Post
I no longer have a land line, but I have a lifetime service with TiVo. My TiVo has USB ports. How can I connect?
What is the model no of your TiVo?
__________________
Caddy
caddyroger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 05:48 PM   #8
scandia101
Just the facts ma'am
 
scandia101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: MN, greater TC metro area
Posts: 9,177
Quote:
Originally Posted by gullick View Post
I no longer have a land line, but I have a lifetime service with TiVo. My TiVo has USB ports. How can I connect?
There are a number of compatible wireless and wired adapters that work with the series 2 tivos.
http://support.tivo.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/405
__________________
discipuli nostrum bardissimi sunt.
scandia101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 05:51 PM   #9
HomeUser
Registered User
 
HomeUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: A2 Michigan
Posts: 2,309
Hello Gullick, Welcome to the TiVo Community.

TiVo's from the Series2 and newer can use a network connection see Which network adapters work with my TiVo DVR?
__________________
VicW, Ex-Comcast customer ... And loving it!.
HomeUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:08 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |