TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-07-2011, 10:51 PM   #1
gregbare
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6
Westinghouse VR-5585DFZ remote code

picked up a new Westinghouse VR-5585DFZ (55") TV but cannot find a code that'll work w/ my series 2 remote. The only code listed under Westinghouse is 0238 does not work. Likewise, none of the Sony codes have worked. Has anyone been able to find a code for this model that'll work on the TIVO remote? I'm tired of having to keep 2 remotes handy. OBTW, I'm not too excited about trying the 'auto code finder' method that tries all possible codes. From what I've learned, that takes at least 45 min to work. thanks in advance
gregbare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2011, 04:19 PM   #2
chrispitude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 452
I just picked up a Westinghouse LD-4655VX LED-LCD TV, and the Westinghouse code provides volume control but not power control. My learning Premiere XL remote doesn't learn the TV remote's power button code either. Grrrr.
chrispitude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 01:55 PM   #3
Southie Boy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrispitude View Post
I just picked up a Westinghouse LD-4655VX LED-LCD TV, and the Westinghouse code provides volume control but not power control. My learning Premiere XL remote doesn't learn the TV remote's power button code either. Grrrr.
I've been looking for the ld-4655 code as well. Have you had any luck since you posted last?
__________________
I was born down on A street,
raised up on B street,
Southie is my home town.
Southie Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 02:21 PM   #4
Edmund
Remote Czar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ca
Posts: 5,147
try the samsung tv codes like 0305.
Edmund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 04:08 PM   #5
Southie Boy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edmund View Post
try the Samsung tv codes like 0305.
Tried all the Samsung and Sony codes as well, no luck. Went through the code search process for the input button (Tivo/Select---input -- 0999 -- CH+) On button press 64 I got the input menu to pop up. I also, while still in search mode, was able to get the tv to turn off/on with the power button, until I hit enter to lock the code in. Then I still had the input function, but lost the on/off ability. So, I know the remote can send the code, but it just won't hold it after locking it in. Same problem with learning mode on the glo remote. It confirms getting the code with the 4 flashes, but after locking the code in it does not turn the tv off/on.
__________________
I was born down on A street,
raised up on B street,
Southie is my home town.
Southie Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 04:19 PM   #6
Edmund
Remote Czar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ca
Posts: 5,147
Since the power and volume keys could be superceded by stereo volume and power, try resetting the remote before attempting the codesearch.
Edmund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 12:39 AM   #7
Southie Boy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 36
Stereo power is set in the #1 slot. The only thing in the #0 should be TV functions of power and input. But for arguments sake, I reset the remote, ran the search, got identical results. after button press #64, tv power and input functions are working until the enter button is pressed (per the instructions on the TiVo website) then power function disappears and only the input function happens. The same thing happens if I go to button press #129 and # 220.
__________________
I was born down on A street,
raised up on B street,
Southie is my home town.
Southie Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 01:58 PM   #8
Edmund
Remote Czar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ca
Posts: 5,147
enter, as in the bottom row of keys, right of the zero key, right? And not the select key!
Edmund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 03:56 PM   #9
PHILBX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 20
Westinghouse remote code

After having no luck with other threads, I will try this one. I have tried every code on the peanut for my Westinghouse CW26S3CW with no satisfaction. The best results are with 0001. This will turn set off and control volume and mute. Curiously, it will not turn set on. Westinghouse must be using multiple codes sequentially for on/off. Presumable, no learning remote will learn more than one code at a time and will not work with this set. Has anyone seen/solved this problem?
PHILBX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:30 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |