Originally Posted by jrtroo
What model do you have? All newer generations have this functionality.
No they don't. The latest TiVo software may have "Watched Progress" bars, but that's not the same as a show being "Marked as Watched."
For the purposes of the OP, yes, two
people could communicate some process whereby they would always jump to the end of a show when they want to indicate it's been "watched," pretty much filling-up the progress bar, and the second viewer, seeing the full progress bar when they begin viewing, could simply delete the episode when they've finished watching it. But the flaky nature of the progress bars could result in fully-viewed shows seemingly being unwatched or, worse, shows only partially viewed being deleted (because the initial viewer fell asleep during playback and the program ran to its end).
The only proper solution, and it would work for multiple users, is TiVo adding user profiles, so any individual user can delete content from their view without affecting other users; and a given show could be automatically deleted from the system once it's been deleted from all user views. (lather, rinse, repeat