TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-23-2013, 10:14 PM   #1
sdsvtdriver
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 54
lost recordings due to T/A

So once again, my Series 3 did not record my show (Mad Men). While it was "recording" the channel was just a gray screen. This is driving me nuts at this point.. I can't count on Tivo recording anything unless I am around to manually tune the channel shortly before the recording starts.

When I reported the problem to Cox, the phone tech advised the "T/A with USB is the old model, go in and get a newer one". When I went in, they only have the Cisco (USB) T/A in San Diego. They replaced it along with giving me two different cable cards (same make) and the problem still exists.

I don't think Cox gives any care, they're happy to tell me to get their DVR. What's next? Is the Series 3 just too old to keep anymore? Shame, as I have lifetime on this box. Do the newer Tivo's need a T/A? I haven't paid attention to the new equipment, short of hearing they weren't that great when initially released.
sdsvtdriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 12:04 PM   #2
Teeps
Registered User
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Torrance,Cal. 90503
Posts: 980
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdsvtdriver View Post
What's next? Is the Series 3 just too old to keep anymore?
It's getting there, with cable tv that is. OTA is still an option.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sdsvtdriver View Post
Do the newer Tivo's need a T/A?
Yes.
If SDV is deployed in your service area you are stuck with it, as I am with Time Warner.

FIOS, if available in your area, is an option for now.

SDV is an evil scheme, foisted on TiVo and computer tv tuner card users. SDV allows the cable companies to offer more content than they have bandwidth to carry, simultaneously. They have, effectively, figured out how to stuff 12lbs of crap in a 10lb bag.
Teeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 12:43 PM   #3
sdsvtdriver
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teeps View Post
It's getting there, with cable tv that is. OTA is still an option.



Yes.
If SDV is deployed in your service area you are stuck with it, as I am with Time Warner.

FIOS, if available in your area, is an option for now.

SDV is an evil scheme, foisted on TiVo and computer tv tuner card users. SDV allows the cable companies to offer more content than they have bandwidth to carry, simultaneously. They have, effectively, figured out how to stuff 12lbs of crap in a 10lb bag.
Thanks for your response.

I miss FIOS... I used to live in an area that had it and it was great. Stuck with Cox or AT&T here.
sdsvtdriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 07:35 PM   #4
HerronScott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 966
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdsvtdriver View Post
I don't think Cox gives any care, they're happy to tell me to get their DVR. What's next? Is the Series 3 just too old to keep anymore? Shame, as I have lifetime on this box. Do the newer Tivo's need a T/A? I haven't paid attention to the new equipment, short of hearing they weren't that great when initially released.
I don't think the S3 is to old. I have 2 S3 OLED with lifetime that I purchased in December 2006/January 2007 and they are both still working fine with cable TV although I'm lucky that we don't have SDV here (Comcast).

Even a new TiVo will need a Tuning Adapter if your cable company has deployed SDV to received SDV channels.

Scott
HerronScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 02:20 AM   #5
dlfl
Cranky old novice
 
dlfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 6,007
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...13#post9620413
See post #4 in particular.
__________________

"It must be swell to be so perfect and odor-free" -- Del Griffith


VideoReDo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pyTivo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dlfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 11:07 AM   #6
Teeps
Registered User
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Torrance,Cal. 90503
Posts: 980
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfl View Post
When/if all cable transmissions go to mpeg4 format. S3 users are out of luck.
Teeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 09:19 PM   #7
dlfl
Cranky old novice
 
dlfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 6,007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teeps View Post
When/if all cable transmissions go to mpeg4 format. S3 users are out of luck.
Apparently. At least we can hope mpeg4's reduced bandwidth requirements will allow them to get the number of channels they want without using SDV.
__________________

"It must be swell to be so perfect and odor-free" -- Del Griffith


VideoReDo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pyTivo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dlfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |