TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-24-2013, 08:17 AM   #1
buscuitboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta area
Posts: 690
Question Can a budgling cap cause a hard drive to go bad?

I have a lifetime Series 3 (OLED) that started the dreaded reboot loop. I opened up the case and it indeed has a budging cap. Now, I had a spare 500GB WD drive that I put in it a few months ago. Before putting the S3 image on it and sticking it in the TiVo, I ran an extended test on it and all came back good. It has been working flawlessly for months until recently

I have another Series 3 (OLED) that had this reboot issue a while back as well. While it had a bulging cap & I had it fixed by a local shop, this didn't fix its reboot problem. Rather, a totally new hard drive is what ultimately fixed it.

While I will get the cap fixed either way on this other S3 as it can't hurt, I am just wondering if this bad cap can cause a hard drive to go bad over time. Or does one really have NOTHING to do with the other in terms of failure. I also realize that since this 500GB WD drive is not totally new, there is chance it could have just failed as well. Just curious on this.
buscuitboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 03:44 PM   #2
ggieseke
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,924
I guess low voltage and/or excessive ripple could cause premature drive failure, but I've never really heard of it. On TiVos they usually won't boot at all if there's not enough juice to spin up properly.

P.S. Is a budgling cap like a fledgling bird?
ggieseke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 05:35 AM   #3
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by buscuitboy View Post
I have a lifetime Series 3 (OLED) that started the dreaded reboot loop. I opened up the case and it indeed has a budging cap. Now, I had a spare 500GB WD drive that I put in it a few months ago. Before putting the S3 image on it and sticking it in the TiVo, I ran an extended test on it and all came back good. It has been working flawlessly for months until recently

I have another Series 3 (OLED) that had this reboot issue a while back as well. While it had a bulging cap & I had it fixed by a local shop, this didn't fix its reboot problem. Rather, a totally new hard drive is what ultimately fixed it.

While I will get the cap fixed either way on this other S3 as it can't hurt, I am just wondering if this bad cap can cause a hard drive to go bad over time. Or does one really have NOTHING to do with the other in terms of failure. I also realize that since this 500GB WD drive is not totally new, there is chance it could have just failed as well. Just curious on this.
A flaky power supply isn't "good" for a hard drive, but it's much more likely to scramble some of the software and files on the drive than harm the drive itself physically.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 08:47 AM   #4
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
I don't know, but I think a flaky power supply would damage components on the hard drive's PCB before it would affect anything stored on the media.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 10:24 PM   #5
jmbach
Registered User
 
jmbach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 688
Really depends. Overvoltage issues will most likely cause premature failure of components while under voltage may cause certain functions not to operate to specs or not at all.
__________________
"Delay is preferable to error" - Thomas Jefferson
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of Giants" - Sir Isaac Newton
jmbach is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:51 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |