TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Stream
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-05-2015, 12:44 PM   #1
keyzone72
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Whittier, CA
Posts: 38
Tivo Premiere XL now streaming externally via Tivo STREAM!

Hi Tivo friends,

I apologize if this is old news, but I just had to inquire with the Tivo community here.

I have 2 Premiere XL series and a TIVO Stream. There are no Roamio Pro's series in my setup. Until recently, I could only stream content from the Tivo's to my iPhone or iPAD while inside my home network.

Today I just noticed that "out-of-network streaming" is now working on both my iPad and iPhone 5s outside of my home! This is great! I only thought that the Roamio Pro series supported this feature!

Has anyone with a similar setup noticed this is now working for them? Did TIVO sneak in an update without telling us?

Thanks.
__________________
Tivo Premiere XL: 1TB + 1TB eSATA (WD My DVR)
Tivo Premiere XL: 1TB + 1TB eSATA (WD My DVR)
Tivo Stream
keyzone72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2015, 01:26 PM   #2
ellinj
Seems Very Friendly
 
ellinj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: RI
Posts: 11,273
You are mistaken, the feature works with the stand alone stream as well. Always has since the launch of the feature.
__________________
Wondering when the next trip to
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
will be ?
ellinj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2015, 02:10 PM   #3
keyzone72
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Whittier, CA
Posts: 38
Hello,

Yes I have a stand-alone stream I use with 2 Tivo Premiere XL's. I was always able to stream content from either TIVO to my iOS devices, but only when I was at home and connected to my Wi-Fi network. If I tried to stream via Wi-Fi at my office, or Starbucks or any where else, the TIVO apps would inform my that I must be on the same network to stream.

I recall Tivo stating on their website when the stand-alone stream first came out that a future update would enable this feature for Premiere users, but they never said when. It now appears that this update has finally come and I am only just noticing it.

Either way, this is a good thing and Im glad that my stand-alone stream is finally offering all the features and functionality TIVO originally promised!
__________________
Tivo Premiere XL: 1TB + 1TB eSATA (WD My DVR)
Tivo Premiere XL: 1TB + 1TB eSATA (WD My DVR)
Tivo Stream
keyzone72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2015, 08:40 PM   #4
PCurry57
Liberal Hippie Chick
 
PCurry57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by keyzone72 View Post
Hello,

Yes I have a stand-alone stream I use with 2 Tivo Premiere XL's. I was always able to stream content from either TIVO to my iOS devices, but only when I was at home and connected to my Wi-Fi network. If I tried to stream via Wi-Fi at my office, or Starbucks or any where else, the TIVO apps would inform my that I must be on the same network to stream.

I recall Tivo stating on their website when the stand-alone stream first came out that a future update would enable this feature for Premiere users, but they never said when. It now appears that this update has finally come and I am only just noticing it.

Either way, this is a good thing and Im glad that my stand-alone stream is finally offering all the features and functionality TIVO originally promised!
At some point you must have finally check the ooh box.
__________________
{DirecTiVo}
HNS SD-DVR40{retired}
HNS SD-DVR80{retired}
----
TiVo Premiere {lifetime} WD1TB+w/slide remote(original)
TiVo Premiere {lifetime} WD1TB
TiVo Stream (happily streaming to Android)
PCurry57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2015, 01:18 AM   #5
JWhites
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by PCurry57 View Post
At some point you must have finally check the ooh box.
Or the November firmware update did it automatically.
JWhites is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 AM.