TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-15-2013, 06:51 PM   #1
NotAlreadyInUse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 1
Tivo Mini "Can't Watch Now" Message

Just thought I'd post that I'd been receiving a Can't Watch Now (V125) message on my Tivo Mini when I would try to watch a recorded show (Live TV worked fine). The message indicated that there was a problem with my Premiere connecting to the network, so I spent a long time messing with that box (connecting to Tivo Service, Restarting, network diagnostics...).

Then I connected the Mini to the Tivo Service (hoping it would resolve some incompatibility between software versions) but that didn't help either.

Finally, I restarted the Mini itself, and then I was able to view recorded shows as I could before.

I'm not positive that this would have resolved the issue immediately, but I guess that it would.

Hopefully this could save somebody else some time.

NotAlreadyInUse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 09:30 PM   #2
sozler
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 13
Arrow Restart every day

Thanks for the suggestion. It also resolves my issue, so I don't need to do anything on the Roamio. However, I have to do this once every night.

My Mini is connected through Ethernet.

If anyone has any other solutions, please let me know.

sozler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 09:27 PM   #3
kherr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 136
.... "Green" switch issue ????????? .....

kherr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 10:53 PM   #4
sozler
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 13
Thumbs up Dynamic IP

Actually, mine turned out to be a DHCP issue. After posting my issue above, I left Wireshark capturing anything that my TiVos broadcast for a day. Roamio has two IP addresses assigned to two consecutive MACs. One of them changed its IP during the day, but I have no idea why the DHCP server did not re-assign the same IP. After that change, Mini could see My Shows, but could not play any of them. Live TV was also not working.

This happened with a Netgear router, so maybe other routers would have been smarter about assigning the same IP to the same MAC even without static allocation.

Also, I do not know why Mini could not play after Roamio's one of the IPs changed, it should've caught the new TiVoConnect beacon in my opinion (sounds ignorant?).

In short, I went to my router settings, assigned a static IP to all TiVo MACs including even the Mini. It has been working just fine since then (it's been 2 days). Yay!

sozler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 08:28 AM   #5
russellg99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 7
Giving both the Mini and the Roamio Plus a static IP fixed this problem for me. I had already assigned a static IP on the Roamio -- which may have been part of the problem, I don't know. But after assigning one on the Mini as well, it immediately fixed the problem of not being able to play recorded shows on the Roamio.

Thanks,
Russell

russellg99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 05:58 PM   #6
Caseman171
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 4
Had issues with my TiVo (v112) error. Seems like the static IP fix worked


Last edited by Caseman171; 03-23-2014 at 03:30 PM.
Caseman171 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2014, 08:00 AM   #7
stevepowell
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1
To temporarily fix the issue. ...instead of getting out of bed and unplugging the mini and waiting several minutes for it to reboot :-) .... go into settings, network, change network settings and then just specify your connection info again without changing anything. This will allow you to watch shows again. ..until the roamio changes its ip again the next night.

stevepowell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2014, 08:21 AM   #8
jojomorales
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 7
I had the same issue yesterday. I restarted the mini and all was well. Are you saying that this could happen daily?

jojomorales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2015, 02:06 PM   #9
solomita
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 35
Somehow this bug is still persisting 2.5 years later... Not a good sign for TiVo support.

We're having this problem now every day. I'm very confused about something an earlier poster said:

"Roamio has two IP addresses assigned to two consecutive MAC"

Did one Roamio use 2 different MAC addresses? That's very broken. How did you determine the 2 MAC addresses and that they're related?

solomita is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2015, 10:47 PM   #10
ej42137
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,632
Quote:
Originally Posted by solomita View Post
Somehow this bug is still persisting 2.5 years later... Not a good sign for TiVo support.

We're having this problem now every day. I'm very confused about something an earlier poster said:

"Roamio has two IP addresses assigned to two consecutive MAC"

Did one Roamio use 2 different MAC addresses? That's very broken. How did you determine the 2 MAC addresses and that they're related?
The builtin Stream in a Roamio has its own address; I understand that Bolts have consolidated the Stream function more so that a Bolt only has one address.

If for some reason you need to know which is which, turn the box over and the MAC addresses will be listed for you. Another way to identify the Stream address is that it is not the address that you configured under Network Settings, if you used a static address there. (This is something stevepowel upstairs should to to circumvent his problem.)

I myself like to keep track of things in my network, so before I hookup a new piece of gear I aways give it a name and enter the MAC in my router's DHCP table.

ej42137 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:28 AM.
Page generated in 0.15232110 seconds (58.21% PHP - 41.79% MySQL) with 16 queries