TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-15-2013, 09:30 AM   #1
Mike1973
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 31
Premiere 4 with upgrade drive, lights flashing

Woke up excited that jmfs had finished the copy of my original drive to my new 2TB drive. Expanded and supersized, dropped in the TiVo and...I get a light show. The welcome screen comes on very briefly and then all the lights start flashing (green power stays solid). Works when I put the original drive back in. Plugged it back into my computer and jmfs sees it as a TiVo drive.
Suggestions? From what I have found searching, it seems to be a bad drive. I'll run some diags on it after I've had some caffeine!
Mike1973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 12:45 PM   #2
Mike1973
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 31
Quick diagnostics on the drive were fine, about 75% into the full diagnostics but the drive seems to be fine. maybe I'll just have to try the copy/expand/supersize again.
Mike1973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 03:48 PM   #3
Mike1973
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 31
Full diagnostics are good too, guess I'll do a copy again.
Mike1973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 07:37 PM   #4
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,366
What drive are you using? Western Digital may need run WDidle3.exe /D

You have been posting without any information, such as What drive make/model?
__________________
Series 2 (80 hrs,PLS, Retired)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "S3HD")
Roamio, Oh Roamio!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 08:14 PM   #5
Mike1973
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThAbtO View Post
What drive are you using? Western Digital may need run WDidle3.exe /D

You have been posting without any information, such as What drive make/model?
It's a WD Green WD20EZRX 2TB. I ran wdidle3 and set it to 300, same result. I've got it copying again overnight to see what it does but would appreciate any other suggestions.
Mike1973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 09:10 PM   #6
jmbach
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 566
Sounds like something did not copy over correctly. Could be block 0 if your windows computer tried to initialize it. If it happens again, let's look at the data on the disk closer.
__________________
"Delay is preferable to error" - Thomas Jefferson
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of Giants" - Sir Isaac Newton
jmbach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 09:26 PM   #7
Mike1973
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmbach View Post
Sounds like something did not copy over correctly. Could be block 0 if your windows computer tried to initialize it. If it happens again, let's look at the data on the disk closer.
Windows never touched it, I was pretty careful. Trying again tonight, I'll update in the AM, hopefully with good news!
Mike1973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 02:10 PM   #8
Mike1973
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 31
Well, it didn't work, same problem. I did a low level format on the drive and I am backing up the original with dvrbars and will restore that image to the bigger drive then expand and supersize it.
Mike1973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 07:21 PM   #9
Mike1973
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 31
Well that worked!! I think there was a bad sector written to the drive but everything is working now, 318 hours!!
Mike1973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |