TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-08-2013, 10:17 AM   #1
malverde
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 22
Why no DLNA?

I know I am a bit slow, can anyone tell me why Tivo does not support DLNA streaming (from DLNA server)?

This seems like a huge miscalculation on their part.
malverde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 10:21 AM   #2
ferrumpneuma
fading fast
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Anhedonia
Posts: 571
Then you wouldn't buy more TiVos or Minis.
ferrumpneuma is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 10:40 AM   #3
malverde
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by ferrumpneuma View Post
Then you wouldn't buy more TiVos or Minis.
Personally, I don't need it to be a server. Just a client would be fine.
malverde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 10:41 AM   #4
atmuscarella
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 3,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by ferrumpneuma View Post
Then you wouldn't buy more TiVos or Minis.
You answer does go with the question. If TiVo supported streaming from a DLNA server your would need a TiVo or Mini at the TV.
__________________
atmuscarella
R.I.P. - 04/04 - Dish 510
09/05 - Humax T-800
R.I.P. - 08/06 - TiVo
05/08 - TiVo HD
06/08 - Panasonic 50PZ800U 50" Plazma!!
03/10 - Series 3
11/10 - Premiere
09/13 - Roamio
atmuscarella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 11:15 AM   #5
ferrumpneuma
fading fast
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Anhedonia
Posts: 571
I guess I would prefer my Tivo to be a DLNA server so I could watch Tivo recordings on the few items that have a DLNA client (TV, WMC).
ferrumpneuma is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 11:17 AM   #6
tatergator1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 948
I finally found a link to this press release from last year. Obviously no updates from Tivo on this, but we all know how well Tivo does with deadlines. Maybe in the Spring update, or maybe they've canned it. Who knows.

ACCESS NEtfront Living Connect
tatergator1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 11:19 AM   #7
malverde
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by tatergator1 View Post
I finally found a link to this press release from last year. Obviously no updates from Tivo on this, but we all know how well Tivo does with deadlines. Maybe in the Spring update, or maybe they've canned it. Who knows.

ACCESS NEtfront Living Connect
Well Tivo... you monitor these forums. What's the scoop?
malverde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 11:26 AM   #8
ferrumpneuma
fading fast
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Anhedonia
Posts: 571
Quote:
Originally Posted by malverde View Post
Well Tivo... you monitor these forums. What's the scoop?
I literally laughed out loud.
ferrumpneuma is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 11:27 AM   #9
tatergator1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 948
Quote:
Originally Posted by malverde View Post
Well Tivo... you monitor these forums. What's the scoop?
Tivo does not officially monitor these forums. Tivo support personnel have been known to post here, but usually only to threads from users asking for help with technical issues.
tatergator1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 12:55 PM   #10
malverde
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by tatergator1 View Post
Tivo does not officially monitor these forums. Tivo support personnel have been known to post here, but usually only to threads from users asking for help with technical issues.
Maybe I should have started the thread with "please help"
malverde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 02:47 PM   #11
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,556
I would guess we might see it in the next model if at all.

It is also possible this is more to develop the DLNA service that the cable companies are looking at switching to post CableCARD.
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 03:14 PM   #12
JoeKustra
Cable only
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ashland, PA 17921 TCD746320/500
Posts: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by malverde View Post
Maybe I should have started the thread with "please help"
Probably wouldn't help. I'm on your side. If it can access your local network (like the Desktop) then it should have DNLA client ability.
JoeKustra is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 04:28 PM   #13
bobdole888
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 38
DLNA client is not directly supported, but indirectly support with Tivo HME application:

http://code.google.com/p/streambaby/

It's fairly easy to install.

I can watch almost any format video on the tivo that I can watch on PC.
Though most of my files are .flv.
I had some issues with .mp4 files not playing, but just renaming them to .flv makes them playable.

You can only share music and photo, but Tivo supports that already anyway.

Through this, I can have a library of videos on my PC and watch them anytime through tivo.
bobdole888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 07:35 AM   #14
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,958
Streambaby's biggest problem is the 1GB size limit. For an HD movie that means it has to stop the show, create a new buffer and start playing again 10 times or more through the show. Just not usable for HD due to the limitations.

Until the protocol for streaming to the TiVo like the MRS function between TiVo's is figured out, best bet is pytivo which will start a transfer and allow immediate viewing.
__________________
Current : Roamio Base with 2TB drive and 2 Premieres and a mini. OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a 78TB Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 10:18 AM   #15
bobdole888
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcthorne View Post
Streambaby's biggest problem is the 1GB size limit. For an HD movie that means it has to stop the show, create a new buffer and start playing again 10 times or more through the show. Just not usable for HD due to the limitations.

Until the protocol for streaming to the TiVo like the MRS function between TiVo's is figured out, best bet is pytivo which will start a transfer and allow immediate viewing.
You must have pytivo and stream baby confused. Pytivo is the one with 1gb limitation. I have not had issues with stream baby.
bobdole888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 10:33 AM   #16
rfryar
My Media, My Way
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cottage Grove, MN
Posts: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobdole888 View Post
You must have pytivo and stream baby confused. Pytivo is the one with 1gb limitation. I have not had issues with stream baby.
Incorrect. Streambaby while "streaming" will stop and rebuffer after 1.x GBs.

pyTivo and Streambaby pushes do not have this limitation, however then you have to remember to delete the pushed show when you are done watching.

Rick
rfryar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 01:42 PM   #17
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,635
According to this...

http://www.v-net.tv/tivo-customers-c...h-access-dlna/

Someone is working on a DLNA client for TiVo. Not sure when/if it will actually be released, but I think we're going to see a more apps on TiVo next year after the new hardware platform is released. (the current one is just too slow)
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 02:17 PM   #18
Austin Bike
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 571
Any word on this? Is it ever going to happen?
Austin Bike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 02:35 PM   #19
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,635
They might be holding it back for the next hardware platform. It should have better performance so I'm hoping it'll support more apps.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 03:24 PM   #20
MikeAndrews
Registered abuser
 
MikeAndrews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern Illinois (Dn Nr WI)
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
They might be holding it back for the next hardware platform. It should have better performance so I'm hoping it'll support more apps.
Oh you mean, "BUY THIS NEW TIVO and we'll have the software fixed real soon now...(or never)" AGAIN, AGAIN?

Not me.
__________________
1) Series 4 Premiere - Lifetime
2) Series 3 OLED - Lifetime.
2) Series 2 DT 500GB
Mac Mini NAS with 9 7 x 2TB drives.
UVerse and OTA

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
MikeAndrews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 02:17 AM   #21
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,635
No I'm talking just about the apps. If you haven't noticed the apps are super slow on the current TiVo. But on the Mini they're quite snappy. If the next gen TiVo is t least as fast as the Mini at running apps that may entice more developers to write apps for it. In fact some developers may have already written apps for TiVo but decided to hold them back because they're too slow on the current hardware and ruins the user experience.

TiVo seems to be making a slow but steady march toward completing the HDUI, but I don't expect that to change one way or the other with the new hardwre. In fact I expect them to kep developing for both platforms for quite some time.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 05:40 AM   #22
Brad Bishop
Member
 
Brad Bishop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 268
Regarding DLNA: My guess as to why they don't support it is that it's like this weird hobby standard.

Yes, you can get it to work (I have) but the problem is that it's not always as simple as:
- pick your DLNA server
- pick your client
- Woot! it's working

From my experience it has been:
Ok, I have this new DLNA clock radio.. I want it to pull stuff from Mac Mini... It shouldn't matter what server I get. I'll try Null River's server.. Nope.. That's not working.. Is it configuration or just some incompatibility.. (then proceed through a few more servers trying to get it all sorted).. Oh, look! Twonky works. I'll just use that!

That's the experience. It shouldn't have been that way but that's how it is. I could see a company like TiVo looking to avoid having customer calls on that.
Brad Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 07:09 AM   #23
tenthplanet
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brad Bishop View Post
Regarding DLNA: My guess as to why they don't support it is that it's like this weird hobby standard.

Yes, you can get it to work (I have) but the problem is that it's not always as simple as:
- pick your DLNA server
- pick your client
- Woot! it's working

From my experience it has been:
Ok, I have this new DLNA clock radio.. I want it to pull stuff from Mac Mini... It shouldn't matter what server I get. I'll try Null River's server.. Nope.. That's not working.. Is it configuration or just some incompatibility.. (then proceed through a few more servers trying to get it all sorted).. Oh, look! Twonky works. I'll just use that!
That's the experience. It shouldn't have been that way but that's how it is. I could see a company like TiVo looking to avoid having customer calls on that.
This goes with the DLNA stories I've heard, bliss or train wreck. I'll stick with Apple TV, home sharing and file conversion.
__________________
"It's tough thinking of something clever to write down here, I don't know how Chuck Lorre does it..."
tenthplanet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 11:11 AM   #24
Grakthis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 717
DLNA performance is generally not great. It's usable... but you know... it just kinda sucks. I don't blame TiVo for not wanting to support it.
Grakthis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:49 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |