TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-05-2013, 05:49 PM   #1
moose53
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 104
How Can I Tell If I *NEED* PyTivo??

How Can I Tell If I *NEED* PyTivo??

I have a TiVo Premiere connected via wired connection to my router. My computer is Windows XP Professional also wired to the router.

I just got a new television (Philips 22PFL4507). This replaces an older-than-dirt RCA TV-VCR Combo T19408.

I *assumed* that since I was getting a DLNA-certified TV that I would not need PyTivo any longer. How can I determine whether or not I will still need PyTivo??

Thanks.
__________________
Tivo Premier (OTA); Clearstream 4 ant.; FIOS Actiontec Wireless Broadband Router; RF modulator; Terk VR1 Automatic TV Volume Controller; Hulu notPlus, Netflix, PlayOn/PlayLater; Pytivo-Jkasyan-Fork.
moose53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 06:18 PM   #2
dianebrat
Uncontrolled Force
 
dianebrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: boston'ish
Posts: 7,539
What do you want to do that you think you need pyTivo for is a better question
__________________
"There is a distinct difference between having an open mind and having a hole in your head from which your brain leaks out."
dianebrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 06:39 PM   #3
poppagene
User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 672
Moose, my 2010 and 2011 DLNA certified Samsung tvs work great with playon directly. my 2012 and 2013 DLNA certified Samsung tvs don't work with playon. In either case, the ability to use pytivo with playon and have tivo actually record the video allows for fast forwarding and rewinding which I find to be usefull.
poppagene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 07:12 AM   #4
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,883
Your DLNA tvs will not speak to the TiVo's. You still need PyTivo for that.
__________________
Current : Roamio Base with 2TB drive and 2 Premieres and a mini. OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a 78TB Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 07:50 AM   #5
moose53
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by dianebrat View Post
What do you want to do that you think you need pyTivo for is a better question
Thanks, Diane. Stream and/or record Netflix. Stream and/or record PlayOn and Hulu. Watch PlayLater recordings.

Quote:
Originally Posted by poppagene View Post
Moose, my 2010 and 2011 DLNA certified Samsung tvs work great with playon directly. my 2012 and 2013 DLNA certified Samsung tvs don't work with playon. In either case, the ability to use pytivo with playon and have tivo actually record the video allows for fast forwarding and rewinding which I find to be useful.
So ... jump into the pool without the PyTivo life preserver and see if it works!!?? :GRIN:

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcthorne View Post
Your DLNA tvs will not speak to the TiVo's. You still need PyTivo for that.
I was hoping that I wouldn't need it anymore. We'll see. I got rid of Comcast internet a couple of months ago ... they were seriously shaping my signal ... supposed to be getting 30MB (was getting anywhere from 10MB to 30MB). I've moved over to FIOS with a much faster, consistent speed ... 57-60MB. I was hoping I'd see much faster streaming with the increased internet access. I'm not. I think that might be the PyTivo slowing me down.

I'll remove the PyTivo and see what happens.

Thanks for all your help.
__________________
Tivo Premier (OTA); Clearstream 4 ant.; FIOS Actiontec Wireless Broadband Router; RF modulator; Terk VR1 Automatic TV Volume Controller; Hulu notPlus, Netflix, PlayOn/PlayLater; Pytivo-Jkasyan-Fork.
moose53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 09:37 AM   #6
poppagene
User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by moose53 View Post
I think that might be the PyTivo slowing me down.

I'll remove the PyTivo and see what happens.

Thanks for all your help.
No need to remove the pytivo. Your DLNA certified TV will see the playon server on your home network (with or without pytivo running) and will access playon directly.
poppagene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 08:10 AM   #7
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,883
pytivo has nothing to do with your streaming video on a tv from the internet.

PyTivo is for moving video from and to a Tivo. That's it.
__________________
Current : Roamio Base with 2TB drive and 2 Premieres and a mini. OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a 78TB Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:39 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |