TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-01-2013, 03:27 PM   #1
Hank
AC•FTW
 
Hank's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 18,019
HDMI Blanking out on S3

I've had my S3 since about when they were launched.

A few months ago it "died" so I replaced all the PS capacitors and that brought it back to life.

It's been working great since then until the last several days.

I'll be watching a recorded program (or live TV) and the screen will suddenly go to black. The program will continue to play. After a few second (up to 20 or 30 seconds sometimes) the screen will come back. This tends to repeat frequently once it starts. I have power cycled the TV, which appears to fix it, but only temporarily (but it could be unrelated).

I have a Sharp Aquos LC37D64U 37-Inch 1080p LCD HDTV I bought in 2008 which has been great since then as well.

So how do I figure out of it's the TV or the Tivo causing the problem? I tried changing HDMI inputs on the TV, and the same thing persists.

I don't have any other HDMI sources to test the TV. Is this a known issue with Tivos, or is it more likely the TV?

Thanks.
Hank is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 12:01 AM   #2
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
One troubleshooting step you can take is to use component cables instead of HDMI and see if the problem persists.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 12:08 AM   #3
Hank
AC•FTW
 
Hank's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 18,019
Thanks.

I read in another thread that the HDMI cable might be the culprit... I swapped it out today and so far, so good.
Hank is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |