TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-17-2014, 03:02 PM   #121
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,186
Do you have Slingbox IP set in kmttg as your PA WAN IP? Also enable "Capture raw file" option to eliminate ffmpeg from the picture (though I doubt that's the problem).
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 03:07 PM   #122
HarperVision
Registered User
 
HarperVision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,325
Yes it is set to the PA WAN IP and I tried to raw capture to no avail. I was thinking maybe I'm using an incorrect version of perl? Mine is from March 2013 I think.
__________________
Dave Harper
Director, Event Technology
ISF, CTS
HarperVision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 03:14 PM   #123
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,186
Check that you can use regular Sling client to communicate with that Slingbox. Also double-check you have the correct port number in kmttg setup per the instructions of the Help button. (I don't believe that's the issue here but it can't hurt to double-check all your settings anyway).

Ideally you would want to check if things work in your PA LAN 1st before trying out of home, perhaps using Remote Desktop, VNC or similar if you don't have physical access.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 04:20 PM   #124
HarperVision
Registered User
 
HarperVision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,325
I've checked and rechecked and all the IPs and ports are correct. I am watching that slingbox as we speak so I know it works that way. I don't think I'm going to be able to do remote access. It's at my parents house and it was hard enough to get them to even use a TiVo HD I gave them. Plus I'm no expert on setting up something like that myself.
__________________
Dave Harper
Director, Event Technology
ISF, CTS
HarperVision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 04:24 PM   #125
HarperVision
Registered User
 
HarperVision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,325
I do have a 350 here at this location that I'll probably test it with as well, but would like to be able to record from the PA Pro-HD if possible.
__________________
Dave Harper
Director, Event Technology
ISF, CTS
HarperVision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 04:25 PM   #126
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,186
Without being able to check on LAN it makes things difficult. Only other thing I can think of is make sure you are not actually using the Sling client when attempting a capture - there can only be 1 connection at a time to the Slingbox, so attempting to capture when still connected will result in an error.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 04:33 PM   #127
HarperVision
Registered User
 
HarperVision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,325
Yeah I know about the one client deal. Been with sling since it's inception with the classic. I actually got one before they were even released from my distributor at the time.

It makes me think it's a perl issue based on this last line, agreed?:

missing or bad response header at C:\Users\Dave\Desktop\slingbox\rec2a.pl line 168.
pipe:: Invalid data found when processing input
__________________
Dave Harper
Director, Event Technology
ISF, CTS
HarperVision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 04:56 PM   #128
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by HarperVision View Post
Yeah I know about the one client deal. Been with sling since it's inception with the classic. I actually got one before they were even released from my distributor at the time.

It makes me think it's a perl issue based on this last line, agreed?:

missing or bad response header at C:\Users\Dave\Desktop\slingbox\rec2a.pl line 168.
pipe:: Invalid data found when processing input
It's not a Perl issue really, but some error that is occurring. That line is:
Code:
sysread($s_ctrl, $hbuf, 32) == 32 or die "missing or bad response header";
i.e. It's trying to read back 32 bytes of response header from Slingbox and not getting 32 bytes back and hence throwing an error and exiting. So the problem really is unexpected Slingbox response.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 05:01 PM   #129
HarperVision
Registered User
 
HarperVision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,325
Any way to edit it to make it work in some way? Maybe get rid of the "die" part or adjust it down from 32 bytes to something lower?

Do we know that we are both looking at the same version of perl? Mine is from March 2013, a year ago. Is there a newer one with changes?
__________________
Dave Harper
Director, Event Technology
ISF, CTS
HarperVision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 05:03 PM   #130
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by HarperVision View Post
Any way to edit it to make it work in some way? Maybe get rid of the "die" part or adjust it down from 32 bytes to something lower?

Do we know that we are both looking at the same version of perl? Mine is from March 2013, a year ago. Is there a newer one with changes?
If you're running via kmttg then just use Help->Update kmttg and you should get the latest. It's not a Perl issue. If you want to try and debug you could change the line to something like:
Code:
sysread($s_ctrl, $hbuf, 32) == 32 or die "missing or bad response header: $hbuf";
This will print the contents of $hbuf (if any) which may give some clue as to what is happening. But it could well be there is no response from Slingbox in which case $hbuf would be empty.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 06:51 PM   #131
HarperVision
Registered User
 
HarperVision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,325
Wow thanks for all the help. I'll try that when I get back home tonight. If you happen to think of anything else please let me know!
__________________
Dave Harper
Director, Event Technology
ISF, CTS
HarperVision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2014, 02:14 AM   #132
HarperVision
Registered User
 
HarperVision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,325
Ok I tried it with my local sling 350 and I'm getting a similar error, except now it says it's on line 140. Strange. I'd REALLY love it if someone could loan me access via their guest login for their 350 or 500 for a day or so in order to test a few things. Any takers? Dave
__________________
Dave Harper
Director, Event Technology
ISF, CTS

Last edited by HarperVision : 03-18-2014 at 03:02 AM.
HarperVision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2014, 03:04 AM   #133
HarperVision
Registered User
 
HarperVision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,325
Success!!! I forgot I had to find out the Admin PW for the 350/500. Once I did that I
Can now record from my local 350. Now I just need to see if I can get it working remotely using my Pro-HD.
__________________
Dave Harper
Director, Event Technology
ISF, CTS
HarperVision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 05:02 PM   #134
christheman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 163
Sounds great. How's the performance/transfer rate looking with the Slingbox? Is it comparable to TS file downloads through the built-in network adapter on the Tivo?
christheman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 12:41 AM   #135
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by christheman View Post
Sounds great. How's the performance/transfer rate looking with the Slingbox? Is it comparable to TS file downloads through the built-in network adapter on the Tivo?
It will never be as good as original recording since Slingbox is re-encoding from analog output. That being said, the Slingbox 350/500 models can capture at 1920x1080i resolution and a pretty high bit rate, so captures look pretty good. The following is a sample Slingbox 350 capture from a TiVo Mini output:
Sample Slingbox 1080i capture

(And of course Slingbox captures are not affected by CCI byte since they are capturing analog output, so you can capture any channel for any provider).
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by moyekj : 04-03-2014 at 12:56 AM.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 02:00 AM   #136
morac
Cat God
 
morac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,500
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post
And of course Slingbox captures are not affected by CCI byte since they are capturing analog output, so you can capture any channel for any provider).
I'm fairly certain TiVo applies Macrovision protection on analog outputs when the CCI byte is detected.
morac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 09:41 AM   #137
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by morac View Post
I'm fairly certain TiVo applies Macrovision protection on analog outputs when the CCI byte is detected.
Doesn't affect the Slingbox if it does.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 11:10 AM   #138
christheman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post
It will never be as good as original recording since Slingbox is re-encoding from analog output. That being said, the Slingbox 350/500 models can capture at 1920x1080i resolution and a pretty high bit rate, so captures look pretty good. The following is a sample Slingbox 350 capture from a TiVo Mini output:
Sample Slingbox 1080i capture

(And of course Slingbox captures are not affected by CCI byte since they are capturing analog output, so you can capture any channel for any provider).
Thanks for uploading the sample. That looks fantastic. I guess I will add that to my list of options. Since I already have a Tivo, this will probably be the most convenient. All the other options involve ditching the Tivo - at least for my HD transfers. All over the ridiculous CCI byte... A part of me doesn't want to give them the power to break something else and disable me in some other way.
christheman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2014, 08:59 AM   #139
cosmogoblue
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 5
Trying to get quality close to the sample

Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post
It will never be as good as original recording since Slingbox is re-encoding from analog output. That being said, the Slingbox 350/500 models can capture at 1920x1080i resolution and a pretty high bit rate, so captures look pretty good. The following is a sample Slingbox 350 capture from a TiVo Mini output

(And of course Slingbox captures are not affected by CCI byte since they are capturing analog output, so you can capture any channel for any provider).

I have read through this entire series and have the kmttg working well in windows. However, my quality is not near the sample provided. Can you summarize the configurations made in order to obtain this?

I am using a Slingbox 350 with DirecTV H20 receiver. Again, everything seems to work fine but in comparing quality, there is more to be desired.
cosmogoblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2014, 06:53 PM   #140
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,186
Sample capture was from a TiVo Mini component output: 1920x1080i @6000 Kbps in mpegts container from NBC HD recording.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2014, 12:18 AM   #141
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,267
FYI I added the ability to open these files directly, without the MKV conversion, to VideoReDo v5. We plan to start a beta of v5 on Monday and if all goes well we should start selling it in about a month.

It's got a LOT of new stuff that's been in development for about a year and half so I'm excited to finally get it into the hands of users. If any of you are registered v4 users and want to try it out send me a PM and I'll see about getting you into the beta.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 10:29 AM   #142
cosmogoblue
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 5
Version

I think I may have an older version. How do I ensure I have the most up-to-date? Could that be the reason that the quality I am experiencing is well below the sample provided?
cosmogoblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 01:53 PM   #143
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmogoblue View Post
I think I may have an older version. How do I ensure I have the most up-to-date? Could that be the reason that the quality I am experiencing is well below the sample provided?
Help->Update kmttg. Don't think that has anything to do with it though.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 09:19 AM   #144
cosmogoblue
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 5
Is there a certain encoding profile to use?
cosmogoblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 09:42 AM   #145
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,186
There is no encoding profile being used. The capture is being remuxed to new container and audio converted to AC3, but original video stream is preserved. To check video quality you should just view your Slingbox 350 output directly using web browser client. Quality you see aside from Slingbox encoding depends on how well your H20 receiver outputs analog component output.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 09:45 AM   #146
cosmogoblue
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 5
would hdmi provide better video quality? Also, how good is AC3 audio compared to the original?
cosmogoblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 09:58 AM   #147
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,186
HDMI captures will only work for unencrypted channels, so probably won't work at all for capturing from satellite. Plus Slingbox 350 doesn't have HDMI input anyway.

You can capture original stream with no changes at all by kmttg by turning on "Capture raw file" option in order to compare quality.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 10:30 AM   #148
cosmogoblue
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 5
thanks! where is that setting located?
cosmogoblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 02:35 PM   #149
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,186
It's part of the Slingbox tab.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2014, 10:07 AM   #150
PowerCC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
Will this method work for Slingbox M1? I just received mine and I would love to participate.
So far I needed to install Slingplayer for Desktop (no longer web streaming) however I did notice it's using the same web plugin by right clicking on the stream.

UPDATE: I got the Slingbox M1 stream capture working; make sure to use port 5301 instead of the default 5201.

Last edited by PowerCC : 09-21-2014 at 03:48 PM.
PowerCC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |