TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Mini
TiVo Community
Forum Jump
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 05-23-2013, 07:58 AM   #1
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta area
Posts: 731
Question can a mini coexist with a Series 3?

I'm sure this has been answered elsewhere, but I am assuming a mini can't interact at all with a Series 3 Tivo, correct? I'm thinking mainly because a Series 3 can only do multi-room "transferring" and not "streaming". Is this about right or can the mini interact with a Series 3 somehow in another way?

I have a few Series 3 lifetimes that are basically just being used as cable boxes in a basement. Not heavily used, but I do use their storage to record some shows. Free up space on my main level Premieres. Then multi-room transfer as needed over my (hard wired) home network.

If I had a 4-tuner Premiere and mini in my set-up, the mini would not then be able to view ANY material recorded on any of the Series 3, right? I realize I could probably "transfer" content from a Series 3 to a Premiere and then "stream" it from the Premiere to a mini, but is there maybe some other functions the mini can do with a Series 3?

Last edited by buscuitboy; 05-23-2013 at 08:05 AM.
buscuitboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 01:31 PM   #2
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Virginny
Posts: 2,310
You're correct. The Mini is strictly a streamer, and the Series 3's don't stream. I haven't tried it but I don't know of any other functions that a Mini/S3 together could perform directly.

BigJimOutlaw is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 02:23 PM   #3
Super Moderator
Dan203's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 32,038
You can't access a S3 from a Mini at all. It's grayed out at the bottom of the My Shows list on the Mini.

Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 03:40 PM   #4
Austin Bike
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 571
I did this with my Tivo HD:


Work ok for now, still need a little fine tuning.

Austin Bike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 05:13 PM   #5
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hartford- New Haven CT
Posts: 4,758
Yeah, you'd have to copy to the Premiere, and then stream to the Mini.

Premiere XL4 Lifetime 3/26/13 XFinity
2 TiVo Mini's on Ethernet
80 HR Series 2 Lifetime 4/11/04 DEAD as of 11/2010
Bigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Forum Jump

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:18 AM.
Page generated in 0.12131500 seconds (49.95% PHP - 50.05% MySQL) with 16 queries