TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-28-2013, 07:31 AM   #1
JavaJoe_2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 35
UltraDMA CRC Errors??? What??

My "new" WD AV-GP 2t was makings some weird noises. When I took it out and ran HDDScan it came up with UltraDMA CRC Errors with an exclamation point next to it. Anyone know whats going on with this drive? I'm selling the box and want to make sure everything is fine with it.
It's a Premier XL with Lifetime.
JavaJoe_2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 05:41 PM   #2
HomeUser
Registered User
 
HomeUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: A2 Michigan
Posts: 2,304
Bad news... most likely the drive has failed or is failing.

If you can use a SATA connection to your PC then run the WD Data Lifeguard Diagnostics CD use the boot from CD or DOS version to protect the TiVo data. If the drive fails copy the error code then go to the WD web page and file for a warranty exchange.
__________________
VicW, Ex-Comcast customer ... And loving it!.
HomeUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 12:23 AM   #3
Worf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 1,607
Usually an UltraDMA CRC error means that the drive cabling is bad - the commands are heading across the cable and getting corrupted along the way.

The funny noises could be because the mechanism is waiting for data from the host that's continually getting corrupted, or the other way in that the mechanism is waiting for the buffers to clear so it could perform the next read. If it gets bad enough the SATA connection may reset which can force a full drive reset to happen.

But still run the test anyways - besides cabling, it could be the electrical part that's damaged.
Worf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 07:22 AM   #4
JavaJoe_2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 35
So, if I redo the Premier Upgrade image, will it erase this error?
Possibly, the cables for upgrading the drive had issues?
JavaJoe_2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 12:30 AM   #5
Worf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 1,607
No, the error should stick around - it's a permanent log item - it only increases in value.

It's worth running the full disk test just in case it's the electronics on the drive that are faulty.
Worf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |