TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-16-2014, 09:33 PM   #1
rassi
Registered User
 
rassi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 112
PC recommendation to run pyTiVo?

I've been running pyTivo as a program on my main PC for quite a few years. When our TiVos were connected via wireless, that was fine. Didn't seem to affect network speed. However, a few months ago we had the living room hard wired so we could connect our Roamio Plus via ethernet cable. Now when I do a transfer to that TiVo, most of the network bandwidth on my main PC is used up and things slow to a crawl. If we transfer to our old TiVoHD (which is still wireless) this doesn't happen. So I'm wondering if I set up a dedicated pyTivo PC, would that solve this bottleneck? If so, that is the "minimum" PC I'd need to have to run pyTivo? All the files for transferring to our TiVos are kept on a NAS on the network, so it wouldn't really need much HD space. Just need whatever processor (and video?) power it takes...

Any suggestions are appreciated!

Thanks!
rassi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2014, 10:15 PM   #2
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 5,004
Do you have the Roamio set to use or even create a MoCa network?
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!
OTA! OTA! OTA!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2014, 12:24 AM   #3
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,175
If you're not transcoding, run pyTivo directly on the NAS. That halves the bandwidth. A typical low-power ARM processor is plenty for pyTivo, except for transcoding (which will happily consume all the processor power you can throw at it).

Consider pre-transcoding files (if necessary) to store on the NAS, if you expect to transfer them to TiVos more than a few times.

Use ts=on (more on this soon).
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2014, 08:26 AM   #4
rassi
Registered User
 
rassi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 112
I don't think my NAS will run pyTivo - it's a D-Link DNS-321....

And to the other question, no I don't have a moca network as my router doesn't have a moca connection.
rassi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2014, 08:46 AM   #5
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,664
Your Roamio Plus can create that network.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2014, 09:25 AM   #6
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,603
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThAbtO View Post
Do you have the Roamio set to use or even create a MoCa network?
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrtroo View Post
Your Roamio Plus can create that network.
What MoCA "network"? Unless he buys and installs some MoCA adapters, there is no MoCA "network" as the Plus is the only piece of equipment he has that has built-in MoCA.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2014, 08:08 PM   #7
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,175
Quote:
Originally Posted by rassi View Post
I don't think my NAS will run pyTivo - it's a D-Link DNS-321....
I can't see why not. Why do you say that?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2014, 09:49 PM   #8
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 5,004
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcbrine View Post
I can't see why not. Why do you say that?
I tried to put PyTivo on my WD MyCloud EX2 but I got stuck trying to figure what to do after activating SSH.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!
OTA! OTA! OTA!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2014, 09:55 PM   #9
rassi
Registered User
 
rassi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcbrine View Post
I can't see why not. Why do you say that?
How the heck do I do it???
rassi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2014, 10:13 PM   #10
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,175
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThAbtO View Post
I tried to put PyTivo on my WD MyCloud EX2 but I got stuck trying to figure what to do after activating SSH.
Did you see this? http://pytivo.sourceforge.net/forum/...oud-t2755.html

Quote:
Originally Posted by rassi View Post
How the heck do I do it???
I can't really answer that without getting my hands on one, but it shouldn't be that hard to figure out. The first step is to get access to the device in a way that lets you add software to it. Let's Google "D-Link DNS-321" and see what comes up... Ah yes, the ninth result looks relevant:

http://www.digitalhobbit.com/2008/11...k-dns-321-nas/
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2014, 11:56 PM   #11
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 5,004
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcbrine View Post
Yes, only up to Step 2 and don't know how to do the rest from the browser.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!
OTA! OTA! OTA!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2014, 03:12 AM   #12
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,175
Well, you don't do it from the browser. You need an ssh client. ssh and scp are standard command-line tools on a Unix system (Mac, Linux). On Windows, personally I installed them as part of Msys (MinGW), but you can do whatever.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2014, 11:01 AM   #13
davidblackledge
Registered lÜser
 
davidblackledge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NM
Posts: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcbrine View Post
Well, you don't do it from the browser. You need an ssh client. ssh and scp are standard command-line tools on a Unix system (Mac, Linux). On Windows, personally I installed them as part of Msys (MinGW), but you can do whatever.
http://www.putty.org/
Putty is an excellent free Windows ssh client (and includes PSCP for secure copying of files) that I use regularly. Just unpack it and run it from anywhere.

For the pyTivo instructions you'll use a command line and use "pscp" instead of "scp" on step 3.
You'll probably want to double-click "putty.exe" and open its interface for step 4... "root" is the username and "mycloud" is the server name.
The rest of the steps are run in putty after you've logged in.
__________________
EnterWebz.tv
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
+ air qual / lightning maps, minesweeper, 1p/2p card games...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
David.Blackledge.com Solitaire/FreeCell, Calendar, Map...
hmedev.wikidot.com
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
davidblackledge is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |