TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-17-2014, 06:28 PM   #1
videobruce
OTA is still alive
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 229
652 w/ 2TB drive only reports 47 hrs.

I picked up a 652 with a WD 2TB drive. I looked for the details of the drive and it reports only 47 HD hours capacity.
I opened the unit up thinking it was the original 160 GB drive, but it was the advertised 2TB. The drive is dated 5/09.

I haven't done anything further yet. Whats' up with this?
videobruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2014, 06:43 PM   #2
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,449
sounds like someone upgraded it poorly.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2014, 06:44 PM   #3
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,682
The 160GB original drive would only yield 20 HD hrs. If the 2 TB drive was properly copied and expanded, it would have yield 315 hrs.

Its hard to tell if the drive/software was properly done or if the drive is bad, or otherwise.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2014, 06:46 PM   #4
videobruce
OTA is still alive
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 229
If I pull the drive and run a diagnostic on the drive will that prove one way or the other if that drive itself has a problem? I sent a message to the seller and waiting for a reply.
videobruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2014, 07:09 PM   #5
cannonz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 901
Looking at it info in Winmfs will tell you what it is, and maybe able to expand it if needed.
cannonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2014, 08:15 PM   #6
jmbach
Registered User
 
jmbach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 769
More than likely it was not expanded correctly. If you can share the output of MFSInfo when running WinMFS as an administrator that would help.
__________________
"Delay is preferable to error" - Thomas Jefferson
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of Giants" - Sir Isaac Newton
jmbach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2014, 10:27 PM   #7
videobruce
OTA is still alive
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 229
The seller got back to me.
Question; does the "clear & delete everything" have any effect on this?
There is also a problem with the CC slot, the encrypted channels keep on disappearing, but that is another problem for a new thread.

BTW, the caps on the PS look good. Close inspection nothing bulging. The MB looks good It appears to be well taken care of (unlike others I have seen).
videobruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2014, 10:46 PM   #8
cannonz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 901
If you don't have already download this http://www.mfslive.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=976 look under info if not expanded go to mfsadd see if it will expand. http://www.mfslive.org/winmfs/quickstart.htm
cannonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 05:18 AM   #9
videobruce
OTA is still alive
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 229
I did a "mfsadd" and it apparently solved the problem. Capacity went from 47 to 313 HD hours.

Has anyone heard of doing a 'clear & delete everything" doing this?? What is this "Apple_Free Extra" partition?

Before:
Quote:
Partition Maps
#: type name length base ( size )
1 Apple_partition_map Apple 63@1 ( 31.5K)
2 Image Bootstrap 1 1@309550766 ( 512.0 )
3 Image Kernel 1 8192@309550767 ( 4.0M)
4 Ext2 Root 1 524288@309558959 ( 256.0M)
5 Image Bootstrap 2 1@310083247 ( 512.0 )
6 Image Kernel 2 8192@310083248 ( 4.0M)
7 Ext2 Root 2 524288@310091440 ( 256.0M)
8 Swap Linux swap 262144@310615728 ( 128.0M)
9 Ext2 /var 524288@310877872 ( 256.0M)
10 MFS MFS application region 589824@311402160 ( 288.0M)
11 MFS MFS media region 137630712@171920054 ( 65.6G)
12 MFS MFS application region 2 589824@311991984 ( 288.0M)
13 MFS MFS media region 2 171919990@64 ( 82.0G)
14 MFS MFS App by Winmfs 2048@312581808 ( 1.0M)
15 MFS MFS Media by Winmfs 312545280@312583856 ( 149.0G)
16 Apple_Free Extra 3281900031@625129136 ( 1.5T)

Total SA SD Hours: 331 Total DTV SD Hours: 289 96 % Free
Software: 11.0m-01-2-652 Tivo Model: TCD652160
.
After;
Quote:
Partition Maps
#: type name length base ( size )
1 Apple_partition_map Apple 63@1 ( 31.5K)
2 Image Bootstrap 1 1@309550766 ( 512.0 )
3 Image Kernel 1 8192@309550767 ( 4.0M)
4 Ext2 Root 1 524288@309558959 ( 256.0M)
5 Image Bootstrap 2 1@310083247 ( 512.0 )
6 Image Kernel 2 8192@310083248 ( 4.0M)
7 Ext2 Root 2 524288@310091440 ( 256.0M)
8 Swap Linux swap 262144@310615728 ( 128.0M)
9 Ext2 /var 524288@310877872 ( 256.0M)
10 MFS MFS application region 589824@311402160 ( 288.0M)
11 MFS MFS media region 137630712@171920054 ( 65.6G)
12 MFS MFS application region 2 589824@311991984 ( 288.0M)
13 MFS MFS media region 2 171919990@64 ( 82.0G)
14 MFS MFS App by Winmfs 2048@312581808 ( 1.0M)
15 MFS MFS Expanded by Winmfs 3594444800@312583856 ( 1.7T)

Total SA SD Hours: 2083 Total DTV SD Hours: 1818 99 % Free
Software: 11.0m-01-2-652 Tivo Model: TCD652160

videobruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 06:17 AM   #10
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,682
CD&E does not do that.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 06:50 AM   #11
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,427
It looks like someone used WinMFS to copy the original 160GB drive to a 320GB drive, and expanded (which is how you got partitions 14 and 15 added to the original 13 from the 160GB drive), and then later someone copied the 320 to the 2TB and didn't expand.

(perhaps they misunderstood my advice to do the expansion later as a separate operation, and never got around to doing it)

The Apple Partition Map is, if one is accustomed to the PC/DOS/MBR style drives, weird.

You know that slogan "think different"? I'm pretty sure it was in full force when they came up with the APM.

The actual place on the drive that stores the list of all the partitions and where they are and how big they are is the first partition.

The map of the partition map is a partition.

In a case like yours where someone copied or restored onto a larger drive and didn't (or hasn't yet) expand(ed), the unused, unpartitioned space at the end is listed in the APM as a partition--an Apple Free Partition.

Yep, the part that ain't partitioned is listed as a partition.

When you expand with WinMFS, it can take that free space and make it part of the MFS Media partition that comes just before it if the limit of 3 MFS pairs has already been reached.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 12:54 PM   #12
cannonz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 901
Did you get this on ebay? You would think he would have checked it out before selling.
cannonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 01:08 PM   #13
squint
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 733
What's even more puzzling is that someone upgraded to a 2 tb drive for the TiVo, didn't see any increase in recording capacity, and left it at that.
squint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 04:29 PM   #14
videobruce
OTA is still alive
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 229
Quote:
Did you get this on ebay? You would think he would have checked it out before selling.
Yes, but when he did the C&D, he would of had to gone through that ridiculous, so called (mis)guided setup to do that wouldn't he which would of defeated (sort of) the purpose?

I asked some additional questions and will report back when I hear from him. he doesn't give the impression he didn't know what he was doing or didn't care.

.

Last edited by videobruce : Yesterday at 04:38 PM.
videobruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |