TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Mini
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 09-12-2013, 12:32 AM   #1
bobfrank
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 139
Two Roamios with one Mini?

I know I can use 2 Minis with one Roamio. But is it possible to use 2 Roamios with 1 Mini?
bobfrank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 12:43 AM   #2
supasta
Registered User
 
supasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,902
Yes.
__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro Lifetime ∙ TiVo Mini Lifetime

XBOX LIVE: fiftyfootfang
supasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 02:59 AM   #3
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 23,649
You will pair the Mini to one of the Roamios. Then when you go to My Shows all other Roamio and Premiere units will be at the bottom of the list, just like on the TiVo itself. From there you can pick one and play any show from it.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 10:58 AM   #4
bobfrank
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 139
Thanks for the info.

Unfortunately this complicates my decision whether to go with 2 Roamios and one Mini or with 2 Minis and one Roamio.
bobfrank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 11:22 AM   #5
jmpage2
Registered User
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,862
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobfrank View Post
Thanks for the info.

Unfortunately this complicates my decision whether to go with 2 Roamios and one Mini or with 2 Minis and one Roamio.
I can't see of any reason to go with two Roamios vs two Minis unless you believe 3TB of storage and 6 tuners is not enough in your environment (or you have one of those weird situations where you must have a separate his and her TiVo to keep marital bliss). Certainly it's the less expensive way to go. A lot less expensive.
jmpage2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 01:15 PM   #6
bobfrank
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 139
If there were no cost difference I think most people would go with 2 Roamios. The additional benefits of more tuners, disk space and managing recordings would be an advantage.

The cost difference swings the advantage to one Roamio for most people. But there are reports of some irritations with the Minis that wouldn't occur with an additional Roamio.

I suspect that the one Roamio plan will win out, but I needed to know my options before deciding.
bobfrank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 01:40 PM   #7
jmpage2
Registered User
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,862
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobfrank View Post
If there were no cost difference I think most people would go with 2 Roamios. The additional benefits of more tuners, disk space and managing recordings would be an advantage.

The cost difference swings the advantage to one Roamio for most people. But there are reports of some irritations with the Minis that wouldn't occur with an additional Roamio.

I suspect that the one Roamio plan will win out, but I needed to know my options before deciding.
Sorry, I still don't bite. Managing two sets of recordings on two TiVos and knowing what is on which TiVo is more of a headache than it is worth for me personally (and a lot of other people I imagine). The one advantage I see is that if one of your TiVos fail, you have another one.

To put things in perspective, for a brief amount of time I had two TiVo HD boxes, each with two tuners. I would record some things with one box and other things with the other box. Remembering which box something was on was a pain and I'm not the only one who thinks so.... people had been asking for the ability for TiVo to do tuner management and conflict resolution ... basically merging multiple Tivos together.

The Roamio + Minis will sort this out for 99% of users. One big fat monster TiVo with six tuners and a monster hard drive and then various Roamios sprinkled around to view stuff on when you aren't at the main TV.
jmpage2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 04:11 PM   #8
Scooby Doo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobfrank View Post
If there were no cost difference I think most people would go with 2 Roamios.
I know I wouldn't. Six tuners and 1TB are plenty for me. And the Mini is in my bedroom so small form factor and silent operation are big plusses. I'm also more or less exclusive on the iPad for managing recordings.
Scooby Doo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 05:19 PM   #9
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 23,649
I have to agree. Having all your recordings and SPs consolidated onto a single TiVo is a MUCH better solution then having multiple TiVos. The only reason to get multiple TiVos is if you need more then 6 tuners (4 if you're OTA) or if you have some special situation where you need a separate TiVo for your wife, kids, porn, etc...
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 05:44 PM   #10
bobfrank
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 139
Ok, you all have me convinced. We are used to managing programs spread over 2 Tivos, so that wouldn't add any troubles. Certainly having everything on 1 Tivo would have its advantages.

I was just a little concerned with the minor short comings a few people were reporting with the Mini. I thought they might cause my wife more problems than were solved by having one Tivo.

Thanks for the advice. One Tivo with two Minis will make it easier to $ell my wife on the new purchases.
bobfrank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 05:58 PM   #11
jmpage2
Registered User
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,862
I have one Roamio and two Minis that are connected over MoCA and it's working very well for the most part. I wouldn't anticipate wife problems. My wife is quite happy with the Mini we have in the bedroom.
jmpage2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 06:24 PM   #12
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 12,587
Just be aware that if you normally download Amazon content to the TiVo, that it can't be viewed on the Mini.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x2
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:28 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |