TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > DirecTV TiVo Powered PVRs & Receivers
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-28-2013, 02:48 AM   #1
tomc585
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 58
HR21-200 No Satellite Signal 771

Couldn't sleep so I turned on the TV and my HR21 was displaying "No Satellite Signal 771" Both tuners have lost signal. I did a reset via red button but I get the same thing on all sats. Clear sky and my 2 other TVs are working fine with 98% on 101 off the same slimline 5 lnb.
For some reason the unit is slow to respond and i cant playback recorded shows either, they play for a second then stop then play then stop. 40% left on HDD.
last update was 12/12, connected via Ethernet, no phone line.

EDit: since I still couldn't sleep I searched some more and discovered a tip to "tune to channel 480 & 481 to reset the b-band converters" and that fixed it.
I know what the converters do and why we need them but why does this happen? Should I get new ones? thanks.
__________________
Love thy neighbor,.... but don't get caught.

HR21-200
SD-DVR320
D11-100

Last edited by tomc585 : 03-28-2013 at 08:43 AM. Reason: found a fix
tomc585 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 09:44 PM   #2
texasbrit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 81
Tuning to those channels does NOT reset the B-Band converters. Your problem is almost certainly low signal on one/all of the HD satellites - 99c/103ca/103cb should all be in the very high 80s to mid 90s. Check both tuners, you might have a cable issue on just one tuner. And you can't play your recordings because they are not "there", when the DVR started to record there was no signal to record.
texasbrit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 01:45 PM   #3
tomc585
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 58
All signals are strong but were all at 0 when i had the issue, even on 101. MY 2 other tvs were working fine. The recordings were recorded fine because i had previously viewed them and they play fine now. I'm guessing the receivers CPU was being maxed out because it was trying to continue the setup in the back ground.
This has happened before but I just forgot what I did to fix it, maybe its the distribution switch failing.
__________________
Love thy neighbor,.... but don't get caught.

HR21-200
SD-DVR320
D11-100

Last edited by tomc585 : 04-02-2013 at 05:30 PM.
tomc585 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:43 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |