TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Mini
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 08-28-2015, 09:01 PM   #1
IronChefSakai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 3
Mini as moca to ethernet bridge

Hello,

Can you use the mini as a moca to ethernet bridge? Specifically to connect an old Xbox 360 to. This review says you can't, but it seems to be referring to the old model,

http://www.engadget.com/2013/03/11/tivo-mini-review/

IronChefSakai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2015, 09:03 PM   #2
krkaufman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 896
Quote:
Originally Posted by IronChefSakai View Post
Hello,

Can you use the mini as a moca to ethernet bridge? Specifically to connect an old Xbox 360 to. This review says you can't, but it seems to be referring to the old model,

http://www.engadget.com/2013/03/11/tivo-mini-review/
No.

Don't have to read the article.

edit: p.s. Assuming your needs, it sounds like you'd need an Ethernet switch connected to a MoCA adapter, or possibly a combo MoCA adapter/switch, to which you could connect both your Mini and Xbox 360.

krkaufman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2015, 09:22 PM   #3
IronChefSakai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 3
Ugh ok. How about splitting the coax and getting one of those deca adapters to go to the Xbox?

http://www.amazon.com/DIRECTV-Broadb...r&tag=rnwff-20

And thanks for the turbo quick response!

IronChefSakai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2015, 10:07 PM   #4
snerd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by IronChefSakai View Post
Ugh ok. How about splitting the coax and getting one of those deca adapters to go to the Xbox?

http://www.amazon.com/DIRECTV-Broadb...r&tag=rnwff-20

And thanks for the turbo quick response!
If there are no other signals on the coax, then DECA is a good alternative to MoCA. However, DECA and MoCA are different beasts which are not interchangeable. What other devices are connected to the coax?

snerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2015, 10:27 PM   #5
krkaufman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 896
Quote:
Originally Posted by IronChefSakai View Post
Ugh ok. How about splitting the coax and getting one of those deca adapters to go to the Xbox?

http://www.amazon.com/DIRECTV-Broadb...r&tag=rnwff-20
You could certainly split the coax and use a separate MoCA adapter for the Xbox 360, rather than the MoCA adapter/switch setup I proposed.

I'm not saying you can't use DECA, as you suggest. You'd need a second DECA adapter to bridge the DECA segment back to Ethernet on your router* -- but your main roadblock would be ensuring that the DECA network doesn't step on your TV signals feeding your DVR(s).

Hopefully HarperVision will step-in and offer you some hands-on advice, as he's running DECA w/ his TiVos, I believe.

More info on DECA & MoCA:
MoCA and DECA – What’s the Difference? Or Is There One At All?
* p.s. You haven't mentioned how you're creating your MoCA network, to which you plan on connecting the Mini & Xbox 360.

krkaufman is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanks For This Post:
Old 08-28-2015, 10:41 PM   #6
krkaufman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 896
Short of direct input from HarperVision (Dave), here's a thread from over on AVSforum, ironically posted by another one of TCF's own...
DECA, the cheap alternative to MoCA for HTPCs and Extenders
(Posted as an FYI, not an endorsement)

krkaufman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2015, 09:13 AM   #7
IronChefSakai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 3
Thanks for all the input.

I 'cut the cord' from Uverse and went internet only. I wanted to leverage the existing coax setup and use a Tivo Roamio as a moca bridge. What I think I'll do is buy a hpna adapter (as the modem/router has this built in) for the Xbox.

Hope this isn't too off topic, but it seems that moca and hpna can coexist on the same coax. Can anyone confirm?

IronChefSakai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2015, 11:15 AM   #8
snerd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7
This article http://www.audioholics.com/audio-vid...-moca-homeplug claims that MoCA and HPNA are incompatible. They use different frequency bands, so I don't know what causes the conflict. Perhaps one does not guarantee good isolation at the frequencies used by the other.

I've seen other articles claiming to use MoCA adapters on a Uverse cable, so I'm not sure what to believe. Of course, the MoCA adapters can't talk to the HPNA/Uverse adapters, but maybe they can coexist.


Last edited by snerd; 08-29-2015 at 12:23 PM.
snerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanks For This Post:
Old Yesterday, 10:52 PM   #9
HarperVision
Registered User
 
HarperVision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3,004
Yes, you're going to have to separate the coax cables if you're going to use deca with OTA or cable. It's really pretty simple, but people tend to over complicate it and get confused for some reason unbeknownst to me.

OP, It sounds like you're all set tho, right?

__________________
Dave Harper
Director, Event Technology
ISF, CTS
HarperVision is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58 AM.
Page generated in 0.05583501 seconds (76.22% PHP - 23.78% MySQL) with 18 queries