TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-12-2013, 02:40 PM   #1
Elgato54
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 38
Premiere drive

I have searched but not sure about definitive answers.

1. I have a Premiere with the JMFS 2T upgrade.
What is the best way to make a copy of this drive for backup?


2. The original hard drive has died in a friends Premiere. If he uses my original 1T as the source and creates a new 2T using JMFS will it work?

Thank You
Elgato54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 05:24 PM   #2
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,790
No one has yet been able to make a backup of a Premiere drive.

You can use your original to copy to a new drive for them as long as the Tivo model is exactly the same, ie: TCD746500 to another TCD746500.

After installing the drive, you would need to run Clear & Delete Everything to marry the new drive to the Tivo.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 07:47 PM   #3
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elgato54 View Post
I have searched but not sure about definitive answers.

1. I have a Premiere with the JMFS 2T upgrade.
What is the best way to make a copy of this drive for backup?


2. The original hard drive has died in a friends Premiere. If he uses my original 1T as the source and creates a new 2T using JMFS will it work?

Thank You
If the original drive has died how are you going to use it to copy to a new 2TB drive? The bottom line is that you need a working drive and must copy to an equal or larger size drive directly. If the factory drive was 320GB, then you can probably find an unsub box on Craigslist or eBay for pretty cheap. I bought a new one for $51 with free shipping just to use for spare parts. If the original factory drive was 1TB, then it gets more expensive to go that route unless you get lucky.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 07:50 PM   #4
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,790
Quote:
Originally Posted by lillevig View Post
If the original drive has died how are you going to use it to copy to a new 2TB drive? The bottom line is that you need a working drive and must copy to an equal or larger size drive directly. If the factory drive was 320GB, then you can probably find an unsub box on Craigslist or eBay for pretty cheap. I bought a new one for $51 with free shipping just to use for spare parts. If the original factory drive was 1TB, then it gets more expensive to go that route unless you get lucky.
If you will re-read #2 in his post, it says "drive in a friend's premiere".
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 07:06 PM   #5
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThAbtO View Post
If you will re-read #2 in his post, it says "drive in a friend's premiere".
Yes, I read that as his original drive was in a friends Tivo and died.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 03:21 PM   #6
ajwees41
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Omaha,NE
Posts: 1,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by lillevig View Post
Yes, I read that as his original drive was in a friends Tivo and died.
no not his original drive died a friend's drive in their Tivo died he want to use his Tivo drive to make the friend's drive work.
ajwees41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 03:58 PM   #7
jmbach
Registered User
 
jmbach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 800
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elgato54 View Post
I have searched but not sure about definitive answers.

1. I have a Premiere with the JMFS 2T upgrade.
What is the best way to make a copy of this drive for backup?
Currently via a low level copy program to another 2TB drive. (dd or dd_rescue in Linux or HDD Raw Copy in Windows) Ggieseke is working on a program that makes a truncated backup of TiVo drives. It will not backup shows at this time. Hopefully initial release will be ready soon. The core part of the program is done, the gui is holding up the release at this time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elgato54 View Post
2. The original hard drive has died in a friends Premiere. If he uses my original 1T as the source and creates a new 2T using JMFS will it work?

Thank You
Yes. He will have to do a clear and delete everything after the first boot in order for the drive and the Tivo be working together properly. Ideally the first three digits of the model number should be the same. On the other hand, I have personally tested a 746 and a 758 image in a 748 and have had no problems. Someone else tried a 746 image in a 748 and had problems getting guide updates after the first two weeks. I have not been able to reproduce that issue. Before that issue is put to rest, more individual testing will have to be done with more units.
__________________
"Delay is preferable to error" - Thomas Jefferson
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of Giants" - Sir Isaac Newton
jmbach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 07:34 AM   #8
Leon WIlkinson
TiVo Gone Wild
 
Leon WIlkinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: TiVo Town
Posts: 1,271
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajwees41 View Post
no not his original drive died a friend's drive in their Tivo died he want to use his Tivo drive to make the friend's drive work.
I read it has he wants to use his original 1Tb drive from his PremiereXL, to fix his friends Premiere.
__________________
After 20 attempts, I can do almost anything? ;)
Leon WIlkinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |