TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-27-2015, 12:43 PM   #1
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,688
Plex update today

Plex updated the app for Tivo today. Version 2.4.19

Adds channels, filters and sorting and a bunch of other updates.

Alas still supports only 720p and 4mbit bit rate.

__________________
Bolt with 2TB drive along with a Roamio, a Premiere and a mini. OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a 78TB Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2015, 01:27 PM   #2
Thunderclap
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Chicago area
Posts: 253
How is the speed? Has it improved at all, or is the interface still a little sluggish?

__________________
Marc B.
Thunderclap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2015, 06:39 AM   #3
saeba
Registered User
 
saeba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcthorne View Post
Alas still supports only 720p and 4mbit bit rate.
Plex team member posted this on their forums:

The current platform is capped at 720p. We can't change this at the moment as the TiVo playback stack we use too easily runs out of memory while streaming videos.

__________________
TiVo Premiere XL
TiVo Roamio Pro
TiVo Bolt+
saeba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2015, 07:31 AM   #4
Thunderclap
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Chicago area
Posts: 253
The GUI is still a bit slugglish for my tastes. If Netflix and Amazon can produce a pretty responsive interface on Tivo I would think Plex could. Maybe cut some of the background images and whatnot? We don't need all the flashy design.

__________________
Marc B.
Thunderclap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2015, 04:15 PM   #5
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,688
The trouble with plex is the Tivo opera browser limitations. Limited memory, 720p etc. Plex is not a native app on tivo. Its running nearly the same opera based version running on many smart tvs. Many of those outperform the tivo implementation.

__________________
Bolt with 2TB drive along with a Roamio, a Premiere and a mini. OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a 78TB Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2015, 05:11 PM   #6
waynomo
My One Time
 
waynomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Seven Devils, NC
Posts: 11,431
Quote:
Originally Posted by saeba View Post
Plex team member posted this on their forums:

The current platform is capped at 720p. We can't change this at the moment as the TiVo playback stack we use too easily runs out of memory while streaming videos.
Anybody care to clarify the bold part? I assume they're talking about system RAM. Is this limitation on the Roamio platform that Plex will never be able to overcome?

waynomo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2015, 07:06 AM   #7
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,688
Quote:
Originally Posted by waynomo View Post
Anybody care to clarify the bold part? I assume they're talking about system RAM. Is this limitation on the Roamio platform that Plex will never be able to overcome?
Plex also posted this:

Technically they need to be able to handle larger HLS segment sizes and/or generally support a larger memory buffer for caching video segments.

__________________
Bolt with 2TB drive along with a Roamio, a Premiere and a mini. OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a 78TB Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2015, 08:40 AM   #8
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 11,007
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcthorne View Post
Plex also posted this:

Technically they need to be able to handle larger HLS segment sizes and/or generally support a larger memory buffer for caching video segments.
My guess is the reason HLS segment size is limited is because of TiVo Mini which doesn't have any hard drive and only has userDiskSize=0.11 GB. TiVo has to support the least common denominator of all devices supporting Plex when setting Opera build limits.

__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2015, 06:01 PM   #9
HDRyder9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 191
Once I rebooted my Plex server the speed picked up noticeably. I like the pause toggle, too.

HDRyder9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2015, 07:00 PM   #10
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,552
I can't find any filtering or sorting options. Are those new features only available if you have a pay account (i.e., Plex Pass)?

__________________
849~Bolt (TA); 848~Roamio Plus (TA, MoCA); 2xA92~Mini
S/old: 840~S5, 748~XL4, 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2015, 06:31 AM   #11
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,688
Quote:
Originally Posted by windracer View Post
I can't find any filtering or sorting options. Are those new features only available if you have a pay account (i.e., Plex Pass)?
They are available to me and I do not have plex pass. On the left, select movies or tv, then all movies, then at the top of the screen there is a tab labeled all movies. select that and a selection of filters shows up. Same for the sort order tab.

The menus and selections are decidedly not tivo like.

__________________
Bolt with 2TB drive along with a Roamio, a Premiere and a mini. OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a 78TB Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2015, 06:25 PM   #12
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,552
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcthorne View Post
They are available to me and I do not have plex pass. On the left, select movies or tv, then all movies, then at the top of the screen there is a tab labeled all movies. select that and a selection of filters shows up. Same for the sort order tab.
Thanks!

I'm an idiot ... I didn't realize the "All Movies" text after selecting Movies from the home screen was a button. That's so much better ...

__________________
849~Bolt (TA); 848~Roamio Plus (TA, MoCA); 2xA92~Mini
S/old: 840~S5, 748~XL4, 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2015, 07:15 AM   #13
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,688
2.4.30 Released today

A new version of Plex released today 2.4.30 which is reported to fix signin issues for non plex pass users. I never had a problem with that so cannot report fixed or not. It does seem to load and run faster on my Bolt.

__________________
Bolt with 2TB drive along with a Roamio, a Premiere and a mini. OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a 78TB Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2015, 01:56 AM   #14
siratfus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 223
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcthorne View Post
A new version of Plex released today 2.4.30 which is reported to fix signin issues for non plex pass users. I never had a problem with that so cannot report fixed or not. It does seem to load and run faster on my Bolt.
During playback if you pause the movie, you can scroll to the settings, and now you can choose 1080p. However, in the main setting, you can sill only choose 720p.

But I tested a few movies, and I don't think its really 1080p. Or, the tivo does not have enough muscle for Plex? There are pixelations in certain scenes that do not show up if I use the xbox or fire tv.

I hope this isn't the 1080p they were talking about, and that there will be more improvements. But yeah, 2.4.30 is zippier on my Roamio.

siratfus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2015, 02:29 AM   #15
waynomo
My One Time
 
waynomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Seven Devils, NC
Posts: 11,431
Quote:
Originally Posted by siratfus View Post
Or, the tivo does not have enough muscle for Plex?
I don't think it takes much muscle on the TiVo end to play Plex. I believe transcoding is done on the server

waynomo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2015, 04:57 AM   #16
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,688
Quote:
Originally Posted by siratfus View Post
During playback if you pause the movie, you can scroll to the settings, and now you can choose 1080p. However, in the main setting, you can sill only choose 720p.

But I tested a few movies, and I don't think its really 1080p. Or, the tivo does not have enough muscle for Plex? There are pixelations in certain scenes that do not show up if I use the xbox or fire tv.

I hope this isn't the 1080p they were talking about, and that there will be more improvements. But yeah, 2.4.30 is zippier on my Roamio.
1080p is not supported by Plex on Roamio. Does not have sufficient memory to do so in the opera browser. It works great on the Bolt at full original bitrate and resolution.

__________________
Bolt with 2TB drive along with a Roamio, a Premiere and a mini. OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a 78TB Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2015, 09:06 PM   #17
Kirkjowers@yahoo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 6
Wouldn't it be a miracle if you could use navigate Plex menus and then pull the movie with pytivo from a single button. And it could all work great from a mini. We can only dream.

Kirkjowers@yahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2015, 06:43 AM   #18
siratfus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 223
BTW, even without 1080p, I'm loving the Plex integration because our Tivo has truly turned into THE ONE for my family. If you have children, and you keep all their cartoons and animations with plex, this tivo integration is awesome. Grandma, grandpa, wife and kids only know how to use the tivo, and teaching them to access the plex is simple as well. They don't care about av systems, harmony remotes, rokus, fire tvs, 1080p, 4k etc. LOL!

When I'm watching, I turn on the AV system, I switch to the Fire Tv or the Xbox for Plex, etc. But I'm loving that the tivo alone and its remote takes care of the rest of the family.

siratfus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2015, 06:47 AM   #19
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,688
Updated requirements to stream 4k video to Bolt (and other Plex devices that support 4K). Perhaps this might lend some hints on what the tivo can accept....



Some 4K (ultra high definition) devices are recognized by the Plex app. We're working to bring 4K playback support to other devices, too. 4K/UHD content matching the following will Direct Play on supported devices:
Container: MP4
Resolution: 3840x2160 or smaller
Video Encoding: HEVC (H.265)
Video Frame Rate: 30fps
Video Bit Depth: 8

__________________
Bolt with 2TB drive along with a Roamio, a Premiere and a mini. OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a 78TB Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2015, 08:14 AM   #20
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,688
It was just confirmed (and tested by me) that the latest Plex client version now includes folder view so you can display items according to the folder architecture on your server. Many have been asking for this.

__________________
Bolt with 2TB drive along with a Roamio, a Premiere and a mini. OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a 78TB Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2016, 07:32 AM   #21
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,688
New plex update today with several items of interest to Tivo users:

May 5, 2016, 2.6.3
We've added and improved several features while adding some device specific changes and fixes.
NEW:
Mobile server support. Access videos and photos stored on your iOS, Android, and Windows Phone mobile devices on your Smart TV.
Cloud Sync support. Access media hosted on a variety of cloud hosting providers.
At long last, video and photo playlists are playable.
An optional 12-hour or 24-hour clock can be enabled in the Settings > Main dialog.
Reworked search integration for easier navigation into and out of Search.
Users with only Watch Later and Recommended online content can use the application without a server of their own.
FIXES:
General: Improved handling of marking movies/shows/seasons/episodes watched or unwatched
General: Fixed empty screens displaying when viewing movie extras
General: TV devices will show up as available for casting from more mobile devices.
LG/General: We think squashed a bug which wreaked performance havoc on some devices.
PSX/General: Users with non-video-transcoding servers (NAS) can play transcoded music tracks.
PSX: Prevent application crashes viewing some premium music content.
PS4: Updated reaction to app being backgrounded.
TiVo: Remove the web optimized requirement for MP4 files. User feedback overwhelmingly suggests the change was - problematic for many users.
TiVo: Limit Series 5 Roamio and Mini running Opera SDK 4 TiVo devices to 720p.
Vizio: CNP safely accesses IP directly from Vizio system info.
KNOWN ISSUES:
TiVo: We're working with TiVo on several playback issues on Series 5 and 6 boxes. Including:

Series 5/6: out of sync audio after seeking a transcode or direct stream.
Series 5/6: inability to direct play all MKV videos.
Series 6: inability to play UHD content.
Vizio: Some televisions have trouble playing videos hosted on Google Drive.
While many mobile device videos play well we have run into issues with portrait videos played landscape and some videos recordings which aren't compatible with some televisions.

May 5, 2016, 2.6.4
FIXES:
TiVo: Series 5 and 6 boxes running system software version 20.5.9 are presented a constrained video direct play profile. This system software is expected to support MKV direct playback although it is not. Additionally this system software is not supporting UHD video playback on Series 6 Bolt boxes. The Plex app now detects this system software and will avoid direct playing MKV and UHD videos. MKV videos which would have Direct Played on Series 5 and 6 will now Direct Stream. UHD videos which would have direct played on a Series 6 Bolt will now Transcode to 1080p. We've confirmed the next TiVo system software update addresses these playback issues. The Plex app automatically detects newer system softwares and re-enables MKV and UHD playback.

__________________
Bolt with 2TB drive along with a Roamio, a Premiere and a mini. OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a 78TB Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2016, 04:31 PM   #22
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 11,007
These Plex updates made things worse on Roamio IMO. Direct play of 1080p H.264 which was working fine before no longer does now. Looks like anything above 720p resolution now transcodes to 720p, regardless if it's compatible codec or not. As it was before I could limit local resolution to 720p for mpeg2 and still direct play H.264, but now that's no longer possible. Pretty much cements streambaby as the better option for local streaming to TiVo at least for series 5 and below.

But net, net, for the average user it's probably better as it gets closer to the goal of playing anything without having to tweak client settings, though transcodes way more than it needs to.

__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2016, 06:22 AM   #23
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,688
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post
These Plex updates made things worse on Roamio IMO. Direct play of 1080p H.264 which was working fine before no longer does now. Looks like anything above 720p resolution now transcodes to 720p, regardless if it's compatible codec or not. As it was before I could limit local resolution to 720p for mpeg2 and still direct play H.264, but now that's no longer possible. Pretty much cements streambaby as the better option for local streaming to TiVo at least for series 5 and below.

But net, net, for the average user it's probably better as it gets closer to the goal of playing anything without having to tweak client settings, though transcodes way more than it needs to.
Its unfortunate that they took away the 1080p streaming that actually did work on Roamio.

__________________
Bolt with 2TB drive along with a Roamio, a Premiere and a mini. OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a 78TB Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2016, 02:53 PM   #24
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,688
Update 2.6.5 released

June 2, 2016, 2.6.5
NEW:
Music browsing got easier with the ability to view your music by Artist, Album, and Track.
Our new season view shows episodes in a vertical list format.
FIXES:
TiVo: Allow Direct Play of HTTPS hosted MP4 on system software 20.6.1 and higher.
TiVo: Change our Direct Stream and Transcode protocol to work around extreme A/V desync issues when seeking Direct Stream and Transcode streams.
General: Continuous play of video to video no longer sometimes results in audio but no video.
General: Restore section filters when navigating back to section browsing screen.
General: Performance improvements in our section browsing screens
General: Multiple fixes to our Plex Companion support to better handle communication errors with your media server.

__________________
Bolt with 2TB drive along with a Roamio, a Premiere and a mini. OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a 78TB Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2016 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29 AM.
Page generated in 0.23858309 seconds (70.50% PHP - 29.50% MySQL) with 18 queries