TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-22-2015, 03:48 PM   #1
McCaffertee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 3
Pictures & Music on TIVO ROAMIO from External Drive

All i want to do is access/play my personal music and view my personal pictures thru the TIVO Roamio if possible.

I have a TIVO Roamio. Apple TV. Apple Time Capsule. Apple Airport. External Drive. Denon AVR. Mac Mini. And/or will buy whatever is needed to make this "just work".

Obviously, i don't want to use all devices, so what is the absolute simplest way to play my personal music and view my pictures? Can i connect an external HD or plug in a network cable?

Any advice would be appreciated

Last edited by McCaffertee : 02-22-2015 at 05:19 PM.
McCaffertee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2015, 08:41 PM   #2
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,314
Check out pyTivo. I'm not a Mac user, but pyTivo runs on Macs and should take care of everything you're looking for.
__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA) + two A92~Minis, 758~Premiere XL4 (TA, MoCA)
S/old: 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2015, 10:41 AM   #3
McCaffertee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by windracer View Post
Check out [ I'm not a Mac user, but pyTivo runs on Macs and should take care of everything you're looking for.
Thanks...but that is part of what i DON'T WANT, is to rely on my Mac... i am trying to make a stand-alone media center that anybody in my house can use.
McCaffertee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2015, 10:53 AM   #4
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,314
Ok, well to answer the "Can i connect an external HD or plug in a network cable?" ... no.

I assume your Roamio is already on your home network? That would obviously be the first requirement. pyTivo will run on some NAS devices, but it sounds like you have just an external drive, so that won't work. If you don't want to rely on the Mac, you'll need some sort of "server" that's running all the time.

Personally, I run Linux on a cheap mini PC. It runs pyTivo for sharing videos (from a connected NAS) to the TiVos in the house (and does music and photos too, although with the Pandora and other apps we don't use those as much).
__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA) + two A92~Minis, 758~Premiere XL4 (TA, MoCA)
S/old: 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2015, 10:56 AM   #5
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,268
I've served music and photos directly from a WD My Cloud, using pyTivo. The music has to be in MP3 format, and the pictures are kind of slow to come up, but it works.

In principle it could probably run on the Time Capsule, but I'm not sure that's been cracked.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by wmcbrine : 02-23-2015 at 11:06 AM.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2015, 12:47 PM   #6
McCaffertee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 3
Thanks guys, i appreciate the time to answer my questions.

I think TIVO is missing out here. If i could access my music and pictures simply by adding a link to their folders, it would make life so simple.

BUT, this means i have to get another "thing" to add to my stuff. So, i guess i need a Mac Mini or PC, then the TIVO interface will connect with this pity setup?

Again, thanks
McCaffertee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2015, 01:05 PM   #7
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,314
Yeah if TiVo supported DLNA this would probably be easier, but as it stands now you need to run third-party software (pyTivo, streambaby, etc.) to serve up your own media to the DVR.
__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA) + two A92~Minis, 758~Premiere XL4 (TA, MoCA)
S/old: 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:21 PM.