TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-06-2013, 01:27 PM   #1
nmiller855
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: East of Houston, Texas, USA
Posts: 5,288
New remote, light won't stay on

After many years of use several of the buttons on my Sat-t60 rm-y809 quit working so I bought a replacement. I was able to program the correct remote address but cannot program it to control my TV because the light won't stay lit after pushing & holding the TV & TiVo buttons. I tried to hold the TV & select buttons to do a factory reset but the light won't stay on. I also tried to use the learning function but again the light won't stay on. Can anyone help?
nmiller855 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 01:50 PM   #2
Edmund
Remote Czar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ca
Posts: 5,157
Sounds like the TV power button stopped working, or lost conductivity.
Edmund is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 02:30 PM   #3
bshrock
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 263
Witch remote did you buy?
Is the volume up/down working?

I assume you are following the TiVo's on-screen instructions.
bshrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 02:37 PM   #4
nmiller855
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: East of Houston, Texas, USA
Posts: 5,288
I bought the same model. I am following the instructions. I put new batteries in. The TiVo functions work but the light won't remain on so I can program it to control the TV or reset it.
nmiller855 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 06:46 PM   #5
Edmund
Remote Czar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ca
Posts: 5,157
You need the Tivo & TV Power keys to program the remote for anything, so if you can't get the tv power working, you won't be able to enter a code, or put the remote into learning mode. And nor can you reset the remote without tv power key.

What keys are not working on the old remote, you can take each remote apart, cut the rubber membrane to frankenstein a working remote? But not cut a single key by itself, it has to be at least two together, more keys are better. A single key will could be pulled out of the remote too easily.
Edmund is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 07:36 AM   #6
bshrock
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 263
Does the led flash when only the TV Power key is pressed? If it does not then the remote is bad. Is the remote new?
bshrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 11:17 AM   #7
nmiller855
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: East of Houston, Texas, USA
Posts: 5,288
No the light doesn't flash when the TV power button is pressed.
It was used from Ebay.
I guess I will just use it as an extra & put it on top of the TiVo for safe keeping.
Thanks.
nmiller855 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |