TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-26-2013, 06:28 PM   #1
howards
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 69
Diabolical video

I have one video (out of thousands) transferred to my PC, that when I try to transfer it back to my Premiere the Premiere always reboots itself somewhere during the transfer. Makes no difference if I use Tivo Desktop or pyTivo to create the share from which the video is downloaded - the Premiere still reboots. It doesn't reboot at the same spot each time either.

All other videos transfer fine.

I got around this one by using a video converter to change the original file to a different format and had pyTivo transcode it back while sending it to the Premiere. At least I got to watch it.

Anyone seen anything as bizarre as this? (I'm not expecting to find a solution, nor do I particularly care because it's only one file that causes the problem, but it would be nice to know if this is an issue anyone else encounters.
howards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 07:06 PM   #2
dlfl
Cranky old novice
 
dlfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 5,843
Sure that's been reported before.
__________________

"It must be swell to be so perfect and odor-free" -- Del Griffith


VideoReDo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pyTivo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dlfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 07:32 PM   #3
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 8,926
I would love to see this video.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 12:11 AM   #4
howards
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcbrine View Post
I would love to see this video.
How should I get it to you?

It's an episode of Antiques Roadshow in HD. Nearly 5GB.
howards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 12:11 AM   #5
howards
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfl View Post
Sure that's been reported before.
Nice to know I'm not the only one. Did anyone figure out why this happened?
howards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 12:59 AM   #6
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 8,926
Quote:
Originally Posted by howards View Post
How should I get it to you?
Anonymous FTP to wmcbrine.com.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 02:07 AM   #7
howards
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcbrine View Post
Anonymous FTP to wmcbrine.com.
Okay, it's transferring. Gonna take about 15 hours - I don't have the fastest internet connection.
howards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 09:36 AM   #8
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,130
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcbrine View Post
I would love to see this video.
So would he, but it keeps crashing his TiVo.


__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 11:54 PM   #9
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 8,926
Quote:
Originally Posted by howards View Post
Okay, it's transferring. Gonna take about 15 hours - I don't have the fastest internet connection.
Only at 658 MB now... seems like it must've restarted (a few times?), since at one point I saw it at ~500 MB, then later below that.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 02:33 AM   #10
howards
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcbrine View Post
Only at 658 MB now... seems like it must've restarted (a few times?), since at one point I saw it at ~500 MB, then later below that.
Yes, it keeps restarting when the connection drops. My ftp client (FileZilla) is configured to auto-retry after a connection, and also to resume the transfer from the point where it stopped. I don't know why, but the resume is not working - it's restarting from the beginning each time.

Does your ftp server allow resume? If not, then I don't think the transfer is going to work this way. Might have to use some intermediary web storage server.
howards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 03:17 AM   #11
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 8,926
Heck if I know. I guess you could always try cutting it into pieces with RAR or something.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 03:41 AM   #12
Allanon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 509
You should try So Share, it's a new BitTorrent file transfer site. It easily allows files of any size to be sent privately using BitTorrent. Both of you signup and then howards sends the file to wmcbrine using his email address. Wmcbrine will see the file almost instantly and then can download it. It will be transferred using BitTorrent.
Allanon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 02:31 PM   #13
lrhorer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Posts: 6,858
Quote:
Originally Posted by howards View Post
Yes, it keeps restarting when the connection drops.
Well, hold on. Does he need the entire video? At what point in the video does the system hang? It might be sufficient to edit the video and only send the offending area, plus and minus a few MB.

Quote:
Originally Posted by howards View Post
Does your ftp server allow resume? If not, then I don't think the transfer is going to work this way. Might have to use some intermediary web storage server.
I can volunteer mine. IM me if you want an ftp login and password to my website.
lrhorer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 02:32 PM   #14
lrhorer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Posts: 6,858
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
So would he, but it keeps crashing his TiVo.

There's one in every crowd.


lrhorer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 06:06 PM   #15
howards
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrhorer View Post
Well, hold on. Does he need the entire video? At what point in the video does the system hang? It might be sufficient to edit the video and only send the offending area, plus and minus a few MB.


I can volunteer mine. IM me if you want an ftp login and password to my website.
Yes, he needs the entire video. The point at which the Premiere reboots is variable.

I'll let you know if need ftp space. Thanks for the offer.
howards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 01:58 AM   #16
howards
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcbrine View Post
Heck if I know. I guess you could always try cutting it into pieces with RAR or something.
I kept having problems with the transfer, so I split the video into pretty small pieces (50K each). Seems to be transferring okay now. I'll let it run overnight.
howards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 10:17 AM   #17
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 8,926
Can you resend part 62? I deleted it by mistake. Thanks.

Edit: Oh, and 81. I seem to be having a bad day.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by wmcbrine : 03-01-2013 at 01:08 PM.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 06:17 PM   #18
howards
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcbrine View Post
Can you resend part 62? I deleted it by mistake. Thanks.

Edit: Oh, and 81. I seem to be having a bad day.
Parts 62 and 81 are transferring now.
howards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 10:23 PM   #19
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 8,926
Hmm, I have all the parts now, but it's not working for me. I have 001 through 096, and each part is 52428800 bytes, except the last, which is 9000139. Is that right? The parts join up but the zip doesn't verify or extract.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 05:08 PM   #20
howards
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcbrine View Post
Hmm, I have all the parts now, but it's not working for me. I have 001 through 096, and each part is 52428800 bytes, except the last, which is 9000139. Is that right? The parts join up but the zip doesn't verify or extract.
Sounds like you got all the parts correctly.

As a test, I glued it back together here. I see that if I double-click the file, whatever Windows is using as a default ZIP viewer does have some issue with the file (maybe due to its size?)

However, I used IZarc to do the compression, and if you open the file in IZarc it will open fine. Maybe some other compression programs besides Windows default will work as well.

MD5 of the zip file after you glue it back together should be:

1f18ef2253effceee42ce52c0d9c4911

I also tried unzipping the file and comparing the result against the original video and it was perfect.
howards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 12:51 AM   #21
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 8,926
Quote:
Originally Posted by howards View Post
MD5 of the zip file after you glue it back together should be:

1f18ef2253effceee42ce52c0d9c4911
Yeah, that's what I get.

I don't normally use Windows. I tried it in Info-Zip's Unzip ("cannot find zipfile directory"), and when that didn't work, 7zip ("Can not open file as archive").
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 01:33 AM   #22
howards
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 69
I guess IZarc is doing something incompatible with other compressors.

Luckily IZarc is free: http://www.izarc.org/
howards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 02:20 AM   #23
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 8,926
Yeah, but... "Recent versions of IZArc installer are known for installing malware and adware, and altering the user's system environment, even disregarding of the visually presented options during installation procedure." -- http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IZArc
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 04:07 PM   #24
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,358
That's what VMs are for.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 04:36 PM   #25
howards
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 69
My version of IZarc is old, and I was unaware of any issues with it. Thanks for the pointer.
howards is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:42 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |