TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Mini
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 10-24-2014, 05:12 PM   #1
scottfll954
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 39
mini questions..?

I will be ordering a Mini to hook up with my Roamio Plus

1... any deals out there..?

2.. which is better connection ethernet or MOCA ..

3.. I am a channel surfer will there be a lag in the UP/DOWN channel surfing

thanks for any info
scottfll954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2014, 06:34 PM   #2
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,987
Ethernet is always the best connection,Moca is like a substitute for when you cannot run ethernet cables and have existing coax.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!
OTA! OTA! OTA!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2014, 07:12 PM   #3
tarheelblue32
Registered User
 
tarheelblue32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,697
There are 2 main reason to use MoCA over ethernet. The main one is that most people already have coax wiring going to where they want to use the Mini, and they don't want to have to run an ethernet cable there. The second is if your ethernet network is older and only 100Mbps, and you don't want Mini video streams clogging up your network, you can offload those streams to a MoCA network instead.
tarheelblue32 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2014, 07:22 PM   #4
scottfll954
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 39
I am wired for both... so no issue`s which one I use...

I have comcast 50MPS ..so I do not think there is an issue there...

Will I see a delay in channel surfing...???
scottfll954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2014, 07:29 PM   #5
tarheelblue32
Registered User
 
tarheelblue32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,697
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottfll954 View Post
Will I see a delay in channel surfing...???
Yes, at least I do. It takes my Mini about 1 second longer to change the channel than it does my Roamio.
tarheelblue32 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2014, 08:58 PM   #6
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,487
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThAbtO View Post
Ethernet is always the best connection,Moca is like a substitute for when you cannot run ethernet cables and have existing coax.
For a mini it makes no difference. A user will see zero difference between using MoCA or Ethernet. And in my setup I can also use wireless bridges with the Minis. All three connections give me identical performance with the Minis. The Mini doesn't stream anything that is taxing on a properly setup wifi network.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2014, 04:16 AM   #7
HarperVision
Registered User
 
HarperVision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,576
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottfll954 View Post
..... I have comcast 50MPS ..so I do not think there is an issue there... ....
Your comcast internet speed has nothing to do with your internal LAN network speed that he's talking about, btw.
__________________
Dave Harper
Director, Event Technology
ISF, CTS
HarperVision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2014, 12:02 AM   #8
tkolarik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4
Hey Scott,
Just installed a Roamio Plus with 3 minis. I wanted to use MoCA because my house lacked the Ethernet wiring to two bedrooms but I initially hooked all them up with Ethernet and they worked great. The MoCA system was a pain because you have to make sure you have MoCA splitter, not all splitters will work. But when I finally got the right splitter the setup was easy and I can tell no difference in MoCA or Ethernet or ever on the Roamio itself. Glad I went with Tivo!
tkolarik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2014, 10:43 AM   #9
scottfll954
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 39
Thanks for your reply..

I am wired for Internet ...

I think that will be the easiest ....

thanks again
scottfll954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2014, 11:15 AM   #10
sydnius
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 12
Try to have the mini on the same switch as your Roamio. With a quality switch this will greatly limit the impact of streaming on your network.
sydnius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2014, 01:24 PM   #11
Welshdog
Tivo this, punk!
 
Welshdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 274
Another Mini question. I have a Roamio Pro and an old Tivo HD. We use the HD primarily for broadcast recordings and the Roamio for all the cable shows and broadcast overflow from Tivo HD conflicts.

Naturally the Roamio can access the HD over the network and transfer shows over if we wish. If I have a Mini up in the bedroom, connected with the Roamio, will I still be able to finds shows on the HD and watch them via the Mini?
__________________
"Nobody looks good in high-def" - Doug Wilson-Weeds
Welshdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 04:31 PM   #12
JWhites
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welshdog View Post
Another Mini question. I have a Roamio Pro and an old Tivo HD. We use the HD primarily for broadcast recordings and the Roamio for all the cable shows and broadcast overflow from Tivo HD conflicts.

Naturally the Roamio can access the HD over the network and transfer shows over if we wish. If I have a Mini up in the bedroom, connected with the Roamio, will I still be able to finds shows on the HD and watch them via the Mini?
I feel like the answer is no because the HD does not support multi room streaming which is how the Mini works.

Last edited by JWhites : Yesterday at 04:47 PM.
JWhites is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 04:34 PM   #13
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by JWhites View Post
I feel like the answer is no because the HD does not support multi room streaming which is how the Mini works.
But, you can still get a transfer/copy going from the S3HD to the Roamio and then stream to the Mini. As long as its not copy protected.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!
OTA! OTA! OTA!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!

Last edited by ThAbtO : Yesterday at 04:45 PM.
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 04:55 PM   #14
JWhites
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThAbtO View Post
But, you can still get a transfer/copy going from the S3HD to the Roamio and then stream to the Mini. As long as its not copy protected.
Yes, but that would require many additional steps of having to plan ahead what shows they want to watch, walk into the room, turn on the TV the Roamio is connected to, transfer the shows to the Roamio from the HD, wait for the shows to transfer, and then finally be able to watch the shows via the Mini. It just seems like too many steps when it simply be one step by replacing HD with the Romeo basic.
JWhites is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 04:58 PM   #15
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,987
You would not need to wait for the transfer to complete, only to start and have enough of the video to stream.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!
OTA! OTA! OTA!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |