TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Mini
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 03-22-2015, 09:49 AM   #1
bedlamx
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6
Using Several Mini's

I have 2 Mini's both connected to the R-Plus using Moca. On the R-Plus, TiVo support had me set it up using both Ethernet and Moca. My question: I want to add a 3rd Mini, the room where I would like to put the new Mini does not have an RG-6 cable. Can I use Ethernet on that 1 mini to make the connection to the R-Plus?

Thanks

bedlamx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2015, 10:12 AM   #2
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,874
Yep you can run ethernet from the router to the Mini no problem.

BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 08:19 AM   #3
dave13077
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigJimOutlaw View Post
Yep you can run ethernet from the router to the Mini no problem.
Can you connect one Mini with ethernet and another using MOCA? I thought it was one or the other?


Last edited by dave13077; 03-23-2015 at 08:25 AM..
dave13077 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 09:33 AM   #4
h2oskierc
I'm a 2-Tuner
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Minnesnowta
Posts: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave13077 View Post
Can you connect one Mini with ethernet and another using MOCA? I thought it was one or the other?
No, the two can be used together. The only stipulation is that the Host DVR and the Mini must be on the same network (the minis can be mixed). Doesn't matter if that network is Ethernet or MoCA.

__________________
Roamio Plus
2x Mini 2 via MoCA (PLS)
2-Tuner Premiere (PLS)
h2oskierc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 10:51 AM   #5
dave13077
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by h2oskierc View Post
No, the two can be used together. The only stipulation is that the Host DVR and the Mini must be on the same network (the minis can be mixed). Doesn't matter if that network is Ethernet or MoCA.
Great thanks!! I am glad I asked.

dave13077 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 10:08 PM   #6
bedlamx
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6
Thankyou for the help. I was able to connect my 3rd mini using Ethernet.

bedlamx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2015, 08:03 PM   #7
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,459
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave13077 View Post
Can you connect one Mini with ethernet and another using MOCA? I thought it was one or the other?
If the MoCA and the Ethernet are on the same network you can use them both, I am doing that without problems, some Minis are on the MoCA another is directly connected to the router Ethernet via RJU45, no difference in operation.

__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:51 PM.
Page generated in 0.05008888 seconds (72.78% PHP - 27.22% MySQL) with 18 queries