TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Stream
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-30-2014, 06:05 AM   #1
waynomo
My One Time
 
waynomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 5,556
Updated TiVo app version 2.0.0 with Android Streaming

It's finally here.

Anyone notice that we're all beta testers?

I wonder if that's intentional (ala Google) or just an artifact that they forgot to remove.

It looks nice and so far runs well.
waynomo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 12:38 PM   #2
mr_smits
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by waynomo View Post
It's finally here.

Anyone notice that we're all beta testers?
I saw that release note as well.
mr_smits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 12:53 PM   #3
waynomo
My One Time
 
waynomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 5,556
On my home network I had 3 devices working with no problem. I connected a fourth device and it stuttered as it played a program. The other 3 devices still played fine.

Devices used:
Nexus 10
Galaxy Tab 7
Samsung S3
Samsung S4 (this was the last one connected)

Do we know what the limit is for number of devices that we can connect with?

ETA: This was with a Roamio Pro.

Last edited by waynomo : 09-30-2014 at 01:05 PM.
waynomo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 01:01 PM   #4
Gadfly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by waynomo View Post
On my home network I had 3 devices working with no problem. I connected a fourth device and it stuttered as it played a program. The other 3 devices still played fine.

Devices used:
Nexus 10
Galaxy Tab 7
Samsung S3
Samsung S4 (this was the last one connected)

Do we know what the limit is for number of devices that we can connect with?
This could be more a limitation of your home network (or any home network for that matter) than the program or your Tivo box.

Not saying it is not a limitation of your Tivo box.
Gadfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 01:05 PM   #5
waynomo
My One Time
 
waynomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 5,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gadfly View Post
This could be more a limitation of your home network (or any home network for that matter) than the program or your Tivo box.

Not saying it is not a limitation of your Tivo box.
Agreed.

I'm not complaining. The odds of even having 2 devices streaming here are pretty slim.

I know there us a limit of either 10 or 12 TiVo devices on an account. That includes TiVo boxes and minis.

I'm assuming devices like tablets and phones don't count towards that limit, but I'm wondering if there is a limit to how devices have the ability to stream at any time, not at the same time. Could I have 20 Android devices with the TiVo app installed and would be able to stream if they wanted to?

Last edited by waynomo : 09-30-2014 at 01:10 PM.
waynomo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 04:03 PM   #6
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,258
The Stream hardware can only transcode 4 streams simultaneously, so that's the limit. Phones, Tablets, etc... do not count toward your 12 device limit, that only applies to TiVos and Minis.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 08:10 AM   #7
PCurry57
Liberal Hippie Chick
 
PCurry57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
The Stream hardware can only transcode 4 streams simultaneously, so that's the limit. Phones, Tablets, etc... do not count toward your 12 device limit, that only applies to TiVos and Minis.
Why would a mini count? It doesn't have any content to stream!
__________________
{DirecTiVo}
HNS SD-DVR40{retired}
HNS SD-DVR80{retired}
----
TiVo Premiere [746320]+WD1TB w/slide remote(original)
TiVo Premiere [746500]+WD1TB
TiVo Stream (happily streaming to Android)
PCurry57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 03:03 PM   #8
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,258
The limit has to do with the key system they use for protecting content. It's a public/private key system and they only allow so many devices to have access to the public key. I think the Stream itself might count toward the total too.

It use to be 10 devices max, but recently it was discovered that they increased the limit to 12.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 06:01 AM   #9
waynomo
My One Time
 
waynomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 5,556
So there is a max limit of streaming to 4 devices at one time. Is there a limit to how many devices can be setup to potentially stream to? Could I potentially have 20 or 30 devices with the app installed, etc. that have the potential to stream from my Roamio Pro?
waynomo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 07:55 AM   #10
tatergator1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 873
Quote:
Originally Posted by waynomo View Post
So there is a max limit of streaming to 4 devices at one time. Is there a limit to how many devices can be setup to potentially stream to? Could I potentially have 20 or 30 devices with the app installed, etc. that have the potential to stream from my Roamio Pro?
I believe the device limit for stream clients is 12.
tatergator1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 03:44 PM   #11
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,258
Quote:
Originally Posted by tatergator1 View Post
I believe the device limit for stream clients is 12.
That's the limit for the number of TiVos/Minis you can have on your account. AFAIK there is no limit to the number of mobile devices you can have linked to the Stream, but with the way the Android app only works when logged into your account and doesn't support the MAK option like iOS they may be moving toward a limit of some sort. Perhaps in preparation of the release of apps for settop boxes like Roku?
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 03:49 PM   #12
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,599
If you go into the Stream's System Information page in the Tivo app, there will be a line that reads "Streaming Clients: x/12" (x being the number of streaming devices.) Presumably that's where the 12-limit is coming from.

Unrelated to the account limit of 12 Tivo boxes. Both are apparently 12.

Last edited by BigJimOutlaw : 10-02-2014 at 03:55 PM.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 03:52 PM   #13
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,258
I thought that was a limit of concurrent connections. Also I think it use to say "x/30".
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 03:57 PM   #14
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,599
I recall it being higher too, but not sure what it was. I always assumed it was a device limit.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 04:03 PM   #15
tatergator1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 873
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
I thought that was a limit of concurrent connections. Also I think it use to say "x/30".
I don't have the time to search for them right now, but I'm confident there have been past threads from users who had hit the Stream Client max and were unable to stream to a particular iDevice. Once they used the reset button on that sysinfo page for the Stream, they were back in business.
tatergator1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 04:10 PM   #16
chelman
Registered User
 
chelman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Southern California
Posts: 50
I don't mind being beta tester. I'm happy that It's finally here. Unfortunately, my Motorola Xyboard doesn't neither have the hardware, nor the software to stream. So, I may have to get a Samsung Galaxy S.
__________________
Sincerely,

Manny
Premiere XL4 w/Ethernet connection
Premiere w Ethernet connection
Stream with Android devices
HomeRun HD Prime
Chromecast
chelman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 04:19 PM   #17
CharlesH
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas (San Francisco Bay Area)
Posts: 957
Quote:
Originally Posted by tatergator1 View Post
I don't have the time to search for them right now, but I'm confident there have been past threads from users who had hit the Stream Client max and were unable to stream to a particular iDevice. Once they used the reset button on that sysinfo page for the Stream, they were back in business.
How do you reset that number when your "Stream" is a Roamio Plus?

(Answering my own question) The "Restart streaming device" button in the "Stream Info" screen of the app's Settings screen? I was afraid to hit this, for fear that it meant to reboot my Roamio. Now I have figured out that the only UI to the Stream is via the App, and that one can think of it as if there were a separate Stream device embedded in the Roamio. That button is just resetting the Stream part, not the whole Roamio.

Last edited by CharlesH : 10-02-2014 at 04:35 PM.
CharlesH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 05:30 PM   #18
waynomo
My One Time
 
waynomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 5,556
Being able to delete a program on the TiVo from your phone using the app is a nice plus. That wasn't there before, was it?
waynomo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 06:05 PM   #19
humbb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Northern CA
Posts: 70
Another nice feature of the streaming app: Unlike the slingbox player, you can watch a different live program on your phone/tablet than what is playing on your tv. So, for example, you can watch two NFL games simultaneously using your phone as a substitute picture-in-picture.
humbb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2014, 12:22 AM   #20
waynomo
My One Time
 
waynomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 5,556
For that matter I could use 2 tablets to stream 2 different games and watch a third on the TV.
waynomo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2014, 01:10 AM   #21
JWhites
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 934
Quote:
Originally Posted by tatergator1 View Post
I believe the device limit for stream clients is 12.
Correct.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CharlesH View Post
How do you reset that number when your "Stream" is a Roamio Plus?

(Answering my own question) The "Restart streaming device" button in the "Stream Info" screen of the app's Settings screen? I was afraid to hit this, for fear that it meant to reboot my Roamio. Now I have figured out that the only UI to the Stream is via the App, and that one can think of it as if there were a separate Stream device embedded in the Roamio. That button is just resetting the Stream part, not the whole Roamio.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tatergator1 View Post
I don't have the time to search for them right now, but I'm confident there have been past threads from users who had hit the Stream Client max and were unable to stream to a particular iDevice. Once they used the reset button on that sysinfo page for the Stream, they were back in business.
Been mentioned across the forum the "reset client list" button doesn't work, even tech support admitted it. Their response was that it should reset automatically every 30 days from the activation date, though I've never had that happen nor heard reports of it happening.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigJimOutlaw View Post
I recall it being higher too, but not sure what it was. I always assumed it was a device limit.
It used to be a 50 streaming client limit before the OOH update last November. When a 13th client is connected a message pops up saying the limit was reached and allows you to reset the count. This was discussed on the past threads when the OOH update rolled out by users who had alot clients connected before the update and received the message after it.

Last edited by JWhites : 10-13-2014 at 01:23 AM.
JWhites is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2014, 10:12 AM   #22
Anchorman
Registered User
 
Anchorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by waynomo View Post
On my home network I had 3 devices working with no problem. I connected a fourth device and it stuttered as it played a program. The other 3 devices still played fine.

Devices used:
Nexus 10
Galaxy Tab 7
Samsung S3
Samsung S4 (this was the last one connected)

Do we know what the limit is for number of devices that we can connect with?
ETA: This was with a Roamio Pro.
It should be able to stream to 4 devices on your home network, but only 1 device out-of-home.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gadfly View Post
This could be more a limitation of your home network (or any home network for that matter) than the program or your Tivo box.

Not saying it is not a limitation of your Tivo box.
I would think that if it was a limitation of the home network it would affect the first three devices as much as the fourth. Wouldn't the available bandwidth be equally shared among all the devices?

I have a Galaxy S5 and my wife has a Galaxy S3. Both devices have at times worked very well and at other times been subject to the stuttering and pausing you are talking about.
__________________
Roamio Plus + Mini
Tivo S3 (Retired)
Tivo HD (Retired)
Tivo S2 (Retired)
DirecTivo (Retired)
Tivo Humax w/DVD Recorder (Retired)
Tivo Sony S1 (Retired)
Anchorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |