TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-18-2013, 09:59 AM   #1
jroofjr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
Sync problems

Since early December I've had problems with my audio/video sync. Technical support acknowledges the problem and says there are others with the same problem. I don't understand why it's taking so long to fix the problem. Any thoughts?
jroofjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 12:22 PM   #2
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by jroofjr View Post
Since early December I've had problems with my audio/video sync. Technical support acknowledges the problem and says there are others with the same problem. I don't understand why it's taking so long to fix the problem. Any thoughts?
On a TiVo? Which model?

Analog cable? Digital cable? SDV? OTA?
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 01:52 PM   #3
nov1942
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 8
audio and picture sync

i too have been having problems. i rewind a few seconds and then go forward again and it seems to sync up. anyone with any ideas on what is issue and how to cure please post.
nov1942 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 04:05 PM   #4
jroofjr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
Sync Problems

I've got a Premier XL with analog cable. Don't know what SDV or OTA are.
Thanks
jroofjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 03:10 PM   #5
tivosupport_kaitlyn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 113
Audio and Video Sync

jroofjr and nov1942,

Can you answer the following questions? Also, could you please send me a Private Message with your TiVo Service Number in it so I can open a case for you, please?

- Does a powercycle resolve? (If so, how long?)
- What cable are you using, i.e. HDMI? (Have you tried more than one?)
- Are you using an A/V receiver? (y/n, what model?)
- Does changing the audio settings resolve? (Dolby Audio or PCM?) To choose Dolby Digital output on these DVRs, go to TiVo Central and select Messages & Settings > Settings > Audio > Dolby Digital. Follow the instructions on the screen

Thank you,

Kaitlyn
TiVo Customer Support representative
tivosupport_kaitlyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 09:17 PM   #6
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by jroofjr View Post
I've got a Premier XL with analog cable. Don't know what SDV or OTA are.
Thanks
Switched Digital Video

They don't put the channel (by which I mean the actual content source, like CNN or Lifetime Movie Network or Speed) on the cable on a channel (by which I mean a frequency band 6MHz wide) until a customer asks for it.

The way the customer asks for it is to try to tune their cable box to that "content" and the cable box sends a request back up the cable to something at the cable company which is supposed to put the "content" on the cable and tell the cable box what the center frequency of that 6MHz band is so that it can tune to it. It isn't necessarily going to be at the same frequency it was yesterday or last week.

With a TiVo, not only does this require a cable card or two, it also requires a Tuning Adapter, which connects to the coaxial cable so that it can send the request back up the line to the cable company and connects to one of the USB ports on the TiVo so that the TiVo and it can communicate about what "channel" the TiVo wants to tune to in order to receive particular content.

If it had been designed by Rube Goldberg, it would have been more simple.

If you're using analog cable you don't have to worry about any of that yet.



Over The Air

Television station broadcasts, which are now digital and no longer analog, which your Premiere XL is capable of receiving with a good enough antenna feed.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 09:27 PM   #7
jroofjr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
video sync

I do not have a cable box or cable cards. I am feeding the cable straight into the Tivo, or TV as appropriate. The Tivo worked properly until the latest software update in early December. I dodn't have any external audio either. Just the Tivo box and the TV.
jroofjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |