TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-04-2013, 04:46 PM   #1
dammad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 18
New Premiere 4 can't see Tivo Desktop, but old Tivo HD can?

I've a Tivo HD and a new Premiere. I've transferred some shows from my THD to my PC with Tivo Desktop Plus (2.8.3), but Premiere does not show the PC at the bottom of the Now Playing List? It only shows the THD. The THD shows the PC in the Now Playing list without problems.

Does the Premiere work with Tivo Desktop Plus?

Ideally I'm looking for the easiest way to transfer content from the old THD to the Premiere. I've over 180 items on the THD so manual will be very painful. Need an automated means to move them from one to another.
dammad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 06:06 PM   #2
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,987
When you get a new Tivo, and after you subscribe/add it to your Tivo.com account, Go to DVR Preferences and check (or make sure) the boxes for TRANSFERS and DOWNLOADS for all your Tivos. New Tivos need up to 24 hours to get the Media Access Key and get transfers enabled.

You can only make manual transfers, one at a time, but if you use PyTivo with KMTTG, you can "push" videos from the computer to Tivo without having to get to the Tivo and "pull".
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!
OTA! OTA! OTA!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 08:06 PM   #3
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,760
In addition to the good info above, if you change the Tivo name on the website, it will get updated in the Tivo at the next data download but it will not be available to other devices on your network until the Tivo is restarted. That can keep the new Tivo from being seen by the other Tivo and by your computer. Not sure if that would keep the PC Movies folder from showing up in the new Tivo.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 09:00 PM   #4
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,550
If you use kmttg & pyTivo to push to the premiere, it will take more than twice as long since everything has to go through the computer and you are dependent on the TiVo Mind server. You Also lose most of the metadata. Any new recordings of a series will not group with pushed episodes.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"

Last edited by lpwcomp : 02-07-2013 at 02:34 PM. Reason: Fix the HTC One X "corrections"
lpwcomp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 01:59 PM   #5
dammad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by lillevig View Post
In addition to the good info above, if you change the Tivo name on the website, it will get updated in the Tivo at the next data download but it will not be available to other devices on your network until the Tivo is restarted. That can keep the new Tivo from being seen by the other Tivo and by your computer. Not sure if that would keep the PC Movies folder from showing up in the new Tivo.
I had them checked already, so I deselected them last night and will reselect them now.. Perhaps it got messed as when the new premiere got commissioned.
dammad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 02:00 PM   #6
dammad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
If you use kmttg & pyTivo to bush to thé première, it will take more than twice as long since everything bas to go through thé computer and you are dépendent on thé TiVo Mind server. You Also lose most of thé metadata. Any new recordings of a series will not group with pushed episodes.
yes I feared as much. Want to keep the groups and metadata.

Are there any filesystem tools that could copy the .tivo files between drives if I connect them to the same PC?
dammad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 03:00 PM   #7
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by dammad View Post
yes I feared as much. Want to keep the groups and metadata.

Are there any filesystem tools that could copy the .tivo files between drives if I connect them to the same PC?
I take it what you are really asking is if there is any to use a PC to directly copy recordings from one TiVo drive to another and put the copy in a different TiVo and have access to those recordings, the answer is no, it can't be done.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 01:12 AM   #8
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
If you use kmttg & pyTivo to bush to thé première, it will take more than twice as long since everything bas to go through thé computer and you are dépendent on thé TiVo Mind server. You Also lose most of thé metadata. Any new recordings of a series will not group with pushed episodes.
Sent from a mobile device?
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 01:28 AM   #9
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve614 View Post
Sent from a mobile device?
Looks foreign to me.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!
OTA! OTA! OTA!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 01:22 PM   #10
malayphred
Underpowered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 142
See this thread: http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=500649

FWIW, I had the same problem.

Now I don't.

Can't explain it.

Go figure.
malayphred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 02:30 PM   #11
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve614 View Post
Sent from a mobile device?
Yes. While I was playing poker.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 03:06 PM   #12
malayphred
Underpowered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
Yes. While I was playing poker.
HaHa

What is "TivoAxe"?
malayphred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 05:23 PM   #13
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by malayphred View Post
HaHa

What is "TivoAxe"?
My sig line is a "modified" quote of a line spoken by thé character "Sam Axe" in the "Burn Notice" opening.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 02:07 AM   #14
malayphred
Underpowered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
My sig line is a "modified" quote of a line spoken by thé character "Sam Axe" in the "Burn Notice" opening.
Oh - LOL

I thought it might be a cool app that I was missing out on
malayphred is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:55 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |