TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Suggestion Avenue
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-17-2014, 02:41 PM   #1
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,946
Set up a recording from a commercial

Not sure if this is possible, but it sure would be cool.

If I see a commercial for a show that I might want to explore / record, This feature would allow me to "thumbs up" during the commercial and a dialog would be presented offering to set a recording, season pass or wish list.

I remember we used to have some indicator during product commercials that allowed you to explore the product. Similar function.
__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (Sold)
TiVo HD (Sold)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo
bradleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 03:32 PM   #2
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,523
Thumbs Up to Record still happens today from time to time. Just saw one last night. pretty sure it is a revenue thing.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 01:54 PM   #3
tim1724
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Temple City, CA
Posts: 101
Yeah, I've seen a few Thumps Up to Record messages during ads recently. It's funny; I hadn't seen any at all in the fall. I'd started to think the Roamio didn't have the feature.

Back in the days of the Series 3 they were a lot more common.
__________________
Happy owner of a TiVo Roamio Pro
tim1724 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 09:09 PM   #4
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,076
Yeah, the feature exists, but the show's advertiser has to opt in, unfortunately.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2014, 02:15 PM   #5
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,946
I actually saw it during an ABC broadcast last night - such a great feature, I wish it were more broadly used.
__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (Sold)
TiVo HD (Sold)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo
bradleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2014, 07:55 PM   #6
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,262
It requires the broadcaster to stick a special code into the closed caption stream to work. I believe that TiVo charges the broadcaster a license fee to use this technology, or at least use to. That coupled with TiVo's relatively low install base is probably why it's not more widely used.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |