TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-17-2013, 12:25 PM   #1
kevreh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Fairfax, Va
Posts: 31
Do I have to power down when removing/addding FIOS m-card?

Title says it all, need to move it to new box, just wondering.
kevreh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 12:28 PM   #2
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,906
No.
__________________
Roamio Pro
Premiere Elite
TiVo Mini X 3
Slingbox M1

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 12:38 PM   #3
kevreh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Fairfax, Va
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arcady View Post
No.
Thanks!
kevreh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 04:49 PM   #4
mae
member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 190
It may have to be paired

Quote:
Originally Posted by kevreh View Post
Thanks!
Remember that HBO, CINEMAX and channel 131 require the card to be paired, which will be have to be done if the card is moved. If you don't care about those channels, it isn't a priority. You should probably do it at some point in case they begin to apply copy protection to other channels.

Your choices for doing it are on line, on the phone, or by a DM to @VZSUPPORT on Twitter.
mae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 06:19 PM   #5
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by mae View Post
Remember that HBO, CINEMAX and channel 131 require the card to be paired, which will be have to be done if the card is moved. If you don't care about those channels, it isn't a priority. You should probably do it at some point in case they begin to apply copy protection to other channels.

Your choices for doing it are on line, on the phone, or by a DM to @VZSUPPORT on Twitter.
I was told by a high level Comcast tech (could be bull I know ) that after 30 or so days a non paired cable card will shut down, the reason for this is because Comcast (or other cable co.s) does not want someone to order a full boat of service, than put in a frequency block so that the head end can't talk back to the cable card, then you could cancel all your premium channels (after inserting the block) and the cable card would not know about it. Comcast can't talk to a non paired cable card as the head end does not know the pairing information.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 12:10 AM   #6
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,906
Comcast can't talk to a CableCard at all. They are one way. The CableCard gets authorization from the headend. If it can't talk to the headend, it won't work.
__________________
Roamio Pro
Premiere Elite
TiVo Mini X 3
Slingbox M1

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 12:06 PM   #7
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arcady View Post
Comcast can't talk to a CableCard at all. They are one way. The CableCard gets authorization from the headend. If it can't talk to the headend, it won't work.
If the cable card is only one way and not talking back to the headend I would like to know how the headend knows what I want to watch using On Demand, and how the headend knows when I press the pause/play button.
Also when the pairing starts I see, for example, the VAL code go from a ? to a V, so something came back to the cable card.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,

Last edited by lessd : 01-22-2013 at 12:12 PM.
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 03:27 PM   #8
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,906
Try disconnecting the internet from the TiVo and see if that still works.

I don't have on demand through TiVo, so I don't know if they actually wrote in two-way code for that feature, but since the TiVo has no cable modem in it, I don't see how that can possibly work. The xfinity stuff is probably using the internet connection or at the very least the tuning adapter (which does have a cable modem in it) to talk to the headend.

Any reason you bolded every instance of headend?
__________________
Roamio Pro
Premiere Elite
TiVo Mini X 3
Slingbox M1

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 11:49 PM   #9
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arcady View Post
Try disconnecting the internet from the TiVo and see if that still works.

I don't have on demand through TiVo, so I don't know if they actually wrote in two-way code for that feature, but since the TiVo has no cable modem in it, I don't see how that can possibly work. The xfinity stuff is probably using the internet connection or at the very least the tuning adapter (which does have a cable modem in it) to talk to the headend.

Any reason you bolded every instance of headend?
The internet has nothing to do with ON Demand (That the first thing I did) but you do need a free tuner, if you have a TP and are recording on both tuners you can't use On Demand. I don't think that TiVos have a full cable modem built in for the back channel using the cable itself..
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 12:08 AM   #10
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,906
Ok, but on a regular Premiere for the 99% of us that don't live someplace that TiVo made a deal for On Demand stuff, the cablecard is a one-way device. Whatever modifications they made for xfinity or whatever don't apply to most users.
__________________
Roamio Pro
Premiere Elite
TiVo Mini X 3
Slingbox M1

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 02:33 AM   #11
Larry M
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Central Michigan
Posts: 21
The request for a movie goes over the internet connection, the movie comes in over the cable.
Larry M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 12:02 AM   #12
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry M View Post
The request for a movie goes over the internet connection, the movie comes in over the cable.
That not true on my Comcast system in CT, at least not on the RJ45 connection to the Internet as I can pull that connection off and still get On Demand.
The cable cards have some two way capabilities as incoming signal can set the card up and the cable co will know if the card is in your TiVo, as I had a problem once and pulled the card as I was on the phone with the Comcast CSR, he knew when I pulled the card out of the TiVo and when I put it back in. I do know the card does say one way but I don't know what that means. I never tried to order a movie from Comcast so that may take the Internet to do, but On Demand does not.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 12:22 AM   #13
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,906
Do you use a tuning adapter? If so, what happens if you unplug that and try to use On Demand?
__________________
Roamio Pro
Premiere Elite
TiVo Mini X 3
Slingbox M1

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 01:45 AM   #14
Larry M
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Central Michigan
Posts: 21
Cable cards are 2 way capable, but TiVo's are not. Any request has to be over the internet.
Larry M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 05:25 PM   #15
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arcady View Post
Do you use a tuning adapter? If so, what happens if you unplug that and try to use On Demand?
I do not have or need the tuning adapter..yet.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 07:34 PM   #16
steverm2
Registered User
 
steverm2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: cape cod,ma
Posts: 100
Speaking of cable cards.I have two premieres with comcast cable cards.one of the cards according to my local office,which called me(if you can believe it.benefit of small town liife).one of my cards is
Being pirated for ppv movies.$40+woorth so far.it it happening on one card only.i was told it was a national problem and it was being worked on.i am being credited for the charges.i swapped for a new card today so we'll see.has anyone experienced this?check your bills .
I
T
steverm2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 07:41 PM   #17
steverm2
Registered User
 
steverm2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: cape cod,ma
Posts: 100
And no,i did not have to power down to switch cards.
steverm2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:53 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |