TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-18-2013, 10:25 AM   #1
Bierboy
Seasoned gas passer
 
Bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Quad Sillies
Posts: 11,517
Sloooow Web site

I'm having a real problem accessing any TCF page with any speed at all. This is NOT happening with any other Web site I access. When I try to go to a TCF page, the browser says its waiting on idgtechnetwork.com and it waits and waits and waits to connect....sometimes taking a minute or more to get to the TCF page. I'm using the latest release of Firefox. It doesn't seem to be as bad with Safari. I'm on a Mac using OS 10.7.5. Any thoughts? This just started this morning...
Bierboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 11:27 AM   #2
atmuscarella
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 3,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bierboy View Post
I'm having a real problem accessing any TCF page with any speed at all. This is NOT happening with any other Web site I access. When I try to go to a TCF page, the browser says its waiting on idgtechnetwork.com and it waits and waits and waits to connect....sometimes taking a minute or more to get to the TCF page. I'm using the latest release of Firefox. It doesn't seem to be as bad with Safari. I'm on a Mac using OS 10.7.5. Any thoughts? This just started this morning...
Working fine for me at this moment. Firefox 18 &Win8. I have had times when pages take forever to load at the same time that other sites are working fine. I am running allot of blockers on this computer so perhaps I am blocking what ever is the problem.
__________________
atmuscarella
R.I.P. - 04/04 - Dish 510
09/05 - Humax T-800
R.I.P. - 08/06 - TiVo
05/08 - TiVo HD
06/08 - Panasonic 50PZ800U 50" Plazma!!
03/10 - Series 3
11/10 - Premiere
09/13 - Roamio
atmuscarella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 11:31 AM   #3
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,261
It's fine for me, but I see a similar report here:

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=499823
__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA) + two A92~Minis, 758~Premiere XL4 (TA, MoCA)
S/old: 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 11:35 AM   #4
dlfl
Cranky old novice
 
dlfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 6,068
Time for a virus scan and malware removal tool!
__________________

"It must be swell to be so perfect and odor-free" -- Del Griffith


VideoReDo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pyTivo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dlfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 11:50 AM   #5
reubanks
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 262
Same here!

I'm glad it's not just me.

No virus or malware.

Win3.11 P2 12MHz 512k RAM 30Mb RLL HDD

Randy
__________________
1 Series2 ST w/500GB Lifetime
1 THD w/WD20EVDS
1 THD w/2TB Hitachi where the noise doesn't matter so much. Lifetime
1 HDXL w/WD20EADS and Lifetime
1 THD stock Lifetime. Smouldering wreckage...
reubanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 11:52 AM   #6
BrettStah
Registered User
 
BrettStah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 15,400
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=499826
__________________
Brett

Give me ambiguity or give me something else.
BrettStah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 04:25 PM   #7
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,894
It was super-slow for me this morning. Works fine now.
__________________
Roamio Pro (3TB)
Premiere Elite (2TB)
Premiere (320GB)
Two TiVo Minis

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 07:42 AM   #8
brewman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 139
I wonder if they use Word-Press to manage their site. There's been a recent update to Word-Press that has caused this kind of slow-downs for some sites.
brewman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 09:43 AM   #9
Bierboy
Seasoned gas passer
 
Bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Quad Sillies
Posts: 11,517
Update: Using adblock, I was able to block the URL I listed in my original post and it's now back to normal...
Bierboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 10:22 AM   #10
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,707
Quote:
Originally Posted by brewman View Post
I wonder if they use Word-Press to manage their site. There's been a recent update to Word-Press that has caused this kind of slow-downs for some sites.
Are you talking WordPress.com or WordPress.org?

Apparently they forked some time back.

I don't know if I've ever encountered a site using the .org version, but I have encountered the .com version on several sites and what TCF uses must be something different because WordPress.com's blog/comment-handling software is absolutely atrocious.

It would make TCF unusable for me.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 10:25 AM   #11
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,707
Quote:
Originally Posted by reubanks View Post
I'm glad it's not just me.

No virus or malware.

Win3.11 P2 12MHz 512k RAM 30Mb RLL HDD

Randy
How are you running a Pentium II on a 12MHz board?

The slowest one made was 233 MHz.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 10:38 AM   #12
brewman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
Are you talking WordPress.com or WordPress.org?

Apparently they forked some time back.

I don't know if I've ever encountered a site using the .org version, but I have encountered the .com version on several sites and what TCF uses must be something different because WordPress.com's blog/comment-handling software is absolutely atrocious.

It would make TCF unusable for me.
I really know very little about WordPress, and have no idea whether org or com. I was just offering up that I knew of another site that was definitely WordPress-based (not sure of version) that was experiencing very slow response times following an upgrade.
brewman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:17 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |