TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-25-2014, 07:40 PM   #1
mp11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 246
Tivo Premier at Walmart

My local WM has the Tivo Premiers discounted to $98. Been a while since I've purchased a Tivo. If I do get one of these, what are the procedures to go through as far as setup? Is it just a matter of calling Tivo with the particulars of the new unit? My Tivo HD was setup by the cable guy a few years ago. Is this something I can do, or will the cable guy have to do it again? Also, am I able to keep paying the $12.xx monthly fee I've been paying or a new price?
__________________
TiVoHD
mp11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2014, 08:57 PM   #2
Coolgrnmen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 11
I'm also interested in this answer.
Coolgrnmen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 04:21 AM   #3
CoxInPHX
COX Communications
 
CoxInPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,401
A Roamio would be a smarter choice, $98 for a Premiere with no service is not a good deal. I believe $99 was the retail price.

If you are really sold on a Premiere the following Member/Moderator has one with Lifetime and Extended Warranty For Sale for $350 OBO
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=514067
__________________
Roamio Pro, XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, & Mini, 20.4.2, w/ Cisco SDV TA, FW F.2001, Cisco CC FW PKEY1.5.3_F.p.1301

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

CoxInPHX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 06:41 AM   #4
mp11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoxInPHX View Post
A Roamio would be a smarter choice, $98 for a Premiere with no service is not a good deal. I believe $99 was the retail price.

If you are really sold on a Premiere the following Member/Moderator has one with Lifetime and Extended Warranty For Sale for $350 OBO
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=514067
No service? Not sure what that means. My main reason for wanting the Premier is for OTA capability.
__________________
TiVoHD
mp11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 07:10 AM   #5
WVZR1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The WV Eastern Panhandle
Posts: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by mp11 View Post
No service? Not sure what that means. My main reason for wanting the Premier is for OTA capability.
Your HD should do OTA also and if you're paying $12 you need to call TiVo - I don't believe you would have any trouble getting a $99 lifetime. How long have you been paying $12?

The comment "no service" means there is no subscription to TiVo services included. The $98 Walmart isn't a deal.
WVZR1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 12:50 PM   #6
mp11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by WVZR1 View Post
Your HD should do OTA also and if you're paying $12 you need to call TiVo - I don't believe you would have any trouble getting a $99 lifetime. How long have you been paying $12?

The comment "no service" means there is no subscription to TiVo services included. The $98 Walmart isn't a deal.
Yes my TivoHD is connected to OTA, but it's starting to show it's age, and my understanding is Premier is the only OTA capable Tivo available. I've been paying $12/mo since I got the TivoHD(about 5 years now).
I know nothing about this $99 lifetime. What is it and how does it work, and would I be able to get it with this WM Premier? Thanks.
__________________
TiVoHD
mp11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 02:19 PM   #7
atmuscarella
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 3,848
Quote:
Originally Posted by mp11 View Post
Yes my TivoHD is connected to OTA, but it's starting to show it's age, and my understanding is Premier is the only OTA capable Tivo available. I've been paying $12/mo since I got the TivoHD(about 5 years now).
I know nothing about this $99 lifetime. What is it and how does it work, and would I be able to get it with this WM Premier? Thanks.
I would not buy a new Premiere that didn't come with lifetime- if you did I would return it. The Base Roamio is a 4 tuner unit that does OTA OR cable. Regarding the $99 lifetime, TiVo many times offers this to owners of older units who upgrade and transfer/cancel their service on the older unit.
__________________
atmuscarella
R.I.P. - 04/04 - Dish 510
09/05 - Humax T-800
R.I.P. - 08/06 - TiVo
05/08 - TiVo HD
06/08 - Panasonic 50PZ800U 50" Plazma!!
03/10 - Series 3
11/10 - Premiere
09/13 - Roamio
atmuscarella is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 04:13 PM   #8
mp11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by atmuscarella View Post
I would not buy a new Premiere that didn't come with lifetime- if you did I would return it. The Base Roamio is a 4 tuner unit that does OTA OR cable. Regarding the $99 lifetime, TiVo many times offers this to owners of older units who upgrade and transfer/cancel their service on the older unit.
OK I didn't know the Roamio had OTA input. And with 4 tuners...nice! However the Roamio price of $200 vs $98? Maybe the better deal comes with Roamio with a $99 lifetime? Can someone explain the lifetime? I'm assuming it to mean $99 per year?
__________________
TiVoHD

Last edited by mp11 : 02-26-2014 at 04:24 PM.
mp11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 08:56 PM   #9
moonscape
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by mp11 View Post
I've been paying $12/mo since I got the TivoHD(about 5 years now).
You've then paid $600 in monthly fees, and 'lifetime' means for the lifetime of the unit. If you should get a Roamio, you would likely be offered a $99 lifetime deal on the HD since you have made payments for >3 years, meaning for a $99 fee you'd pay no more monthly ever on that unit. It is not transferable to a Roamio. Lifetime on a new unit is $500, but can often be had for $400.
moonscape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 09:36 PM   #10
mp11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by moonscape View Post
You've then paid $600 in monthly fees, and 'lifetime' means for the lifetime of the unit. If you should get a Roamio, you would likely be offered a $99 lifetime deal on the HD since you have made payments for >3 years, meaning for a $99 fee you'd pay no more monthly ever on that unit. It is not transferable to a Roamio. Lifetime on a new unit is $500, but can often be had for $400.
1- I've noticed in photos that the roamio only shows 1 RF coax input. How will it accept a cable and antenna coax together? Or am I missing something?
2- Let me get this straight...they wouldn't give me the $99 lifetime on the new Roamio? My idea was to ditch the HD and use the Roamio(don't need 2 units). Is the $99 offered only on the near extinct units? Sorry this is sounding a bit confusing.
__________________
TiVoHD

Last edited by mp11 : 02-26-2014 at 09:41 PM.
mp11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 11:03 PM   #11
Joe01880
I love my TiVo
 
Joe01880's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 526
Throw a few more dollars at it and get a Roamio. The Roamio is the nicest, fastest and smoothest TiVo yet. The Premiere is much slower in every regard, still better than a cable box DVR but not that much better than a TiVo HD. IMHO
The Roamio, or in my case the Roamio Pro is the Rock Star of the DVR world.
__________________

Roamio Pro- $99 yearly grandfathered MSD
Premiere- 2TB w/PLS
TiVo HD- 2TB w/ PLS For Sale $350
Series 2- Just sittin around
DVR40- yours if you want it
Connected via Ethernet
FiOS

Joe01880 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 11:41 PM   #12
eboydog
Just TiVo'ing.....
 
eboydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 904
Quote:
Originally Posted by mp11 View Post
1- I've noticed in photos that the roamio only shows 1 RF coax input. How will it accept a cable and antenna coax together? Or am I missing something?
2- Let me get this straight...they wouldn't give me the $99 lifetime on the new Roamio? My idea was to ditch the HD and use the Roamio(don't need 2 units). Is the $99 offered only on the near extinct units? Sorry this is sounding a bit confusing.
The Roamio basic model has a single coax connector, it can do either Ota or digital cable, just not both. Unlike the older models when you do the guided setup you must choose between OTA or digital cable, the higher end Roamio Plus and Pro don't permit OTA and are only digital cable.

The $99 lifetime offer is to upgrade your existing HD and add the new Roamio, you can then either keep both TiVo's or sell the HD that has lifetime to recoup some of your expense from buying the Roamio. The Tivo HD typically sell for around $200 if it has lifetime otherwise it's not worth much.
__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro
TiVo Roamio Plus (3tb)
TiVo Mini (three)
TiVo Premiere

eboydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 07:02 AM   #13
mp11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by eboydog View Post
The Roamio basic model has a single coax connector, it can do either Ota or digital cable, just not both.
THAT I don't get. I mean, who would go through the trouble of disconnecting and reconnecting coax cables to switch between the two? Not me. At least with the Premier, with both coaxes coming in, the EPG has realtime programming info for both. Tivo missed the boat on this one IMO.

Quote:
Originally Posted by eboydog View Post
The $99 lifetime offer is to upgrade your existing HD and add the new Roamio, you can then either keep both TiVo's or sell the HD that has lifetime to recoup some of your expense from buying the Roamio. The Tivo HD typically sell for around $200 if it has lifetime otherwise it's not worth much.
so it sounds like I can only get the $99 lifetime on my TivoHD IF I also purchase another Tivo?
From what I'm hearing guys, it sounds like the best choice for me, is to go with the Premier. If I had the spare cash, I'd probably go with the $400 lifetime on a Roamio. I have to admit...my hopes were up for a minute I appreciate everyone's input.
__________________
TiVoHD
mp11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 07:33 AM   #14
eboydog
Just TiVo'ing.....
 
eboydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 904
I agree, I suspect it was a marketing move were they crunched the numbers of subscribers who used both and decided they could afford to ($%# them off as I might suspect Ota only users are a small base who aren't upgrading to the Roamio.

You will have to call Tivo and see if f you can get the $99 deal, common practice seems to be calling and requesting your HD canceled. Then if they give you lifetime, then go out and buy a Roamio BUT if you are going monthly with the Roamio you will pay full price.

If I was you I would just call, ask for the best deal in upgrading and go from there as you might be able to get a new Roamio in at a better monthly as rate if you have been a long term customer with your hd.
__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro
TiVo Roamio Plus (3tb)
TiVo Mini (three)
TiVo Premiere

eboydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 08:05 AM   #15
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by mp11 View Post
so it sounds like I can only get the $99 lifetime on my TivoHD IF I also purchase another Tivo?
From what I'm hearing guys, it sounds like the best choice for me, is to go with the Premier. If I had the spare cash, I'd probably go with the $400 lifetime on a Roamio. I have to admit...my hopes were up for a minute I appreciate everyone's input.
Another purchase is not necessarily required. Call TiVo when you go to activate that Premiere. Once the Premiere is activated, tell the CSR that you are considering cancelling the service on the TivoHD, unless they are willing to give you the $99 Lifetime deal.

If you plan to just do a service swap, call TiVo. You still may be able to lifetime the TivoHD for $99 if you get the right CSR (you may have to play CSR roulette).

Quote:
Originally Posted by mp11 View Post
THAT I don't get. I mean, who would go through the trouble of disconnecting and reconnecting coax cables to switch between the two? Not me. At least with the Premier, with both coaxes coming in, the EPG has realtime programming info for both. Tivo missed the boat on this one IMO.
Yep, if you are using both cable and OTA, the Roamio is worthless.
I can understand you wanting to stick with the Premiere.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!

Last edited by steve614 : 02-27-2014 at 08:16 AM.
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 08:45 AM   #16
CrispyCritter
Purple Ribbon Wearer
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: North Potomac, MD
Posts: 3,637
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve614 View Post
Yep, if you are using both cable and OTA, the Roamio is worthless.
Not worthless, but expensive. There are several people using 2 Roamios for this setup, and reporting that it works quite well because of all the streaming capabilities.
__________________
CrispyCritter
TiVo Roamio:Felix TiVo Premiere:Bob TiVo XL4:Fred TiVo HDXL:Sharon TiVoHD:Susan
CrispyCritter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 11:18 AM   #17
mp11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 246
Another thought here...would anyone know if a diplexer would work? I.E. come into the diplexer with both coaxes and out to Tivo Roamio with another single coax?
__________________
TiVoHD
mp11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 11:24 AM   #18
eboydog
Just TiVo'ing.....
 
eboydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 904
Quote:
Originally Posted by mp11 View Post
Another thought here...would anyone know if a diplexer would work? I.E. come into the diplexer with both coaxes and out to Tivo Roamio with another single coax?
No, the guided setup forces you to choose OTA or digital cable, it's not that the box can't physically do both, the problem it that the Tivo software that Tivo Inc. run on it won't permit both at the same time like the Premiere and HD do.

The only way to to due both is run the guided setup for digital cable and when you want OTA, you run the guided setup again and pick OTA.
__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro
TiVo Roamio Plus (3tb)
TiVo Mini (three)
TiVo Premiere

eboydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 12:43 PM   #19
mp11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 246
Well OK then, looks like I'll try my best to get the $99 lifetime with a new Premier. If it doesn't happen...it doesn't happen.
__________________
TiVoHD
mp11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 03:00 PM   #20
ncfoster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 153
Actually, in all likelihood, your best bet is to find someone (like me, or someone on eBay), who has replaced their Premiere, and already got the lifetime on it. I think it would be a 1-in-a-million shot to get $99 lifetime on a new Premiere. That is simply not how it is supposed to work.
ncfoster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 03:38 PM   #21
PCurry57
Liberal Hippie Chick
 
PCurry57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 262
That's nearly the new price when it was new. I recently saw a Premiere XL (the two tuner model) at Fry's and was strict with sticker shock. They were asking $248 for it wish was the full new pride two years ago. I think there are better deals on eBay.
__________________
{DirecTiVo}
HNS SD-DVR40{retired}
HNS SD-DVR80{retired}
----
TiVo Premiere [746320]+WD1TB w/slide remote(original)
TiVo Premiere [746500]+WD1TB
TiVo Stream (happily streaming to Android)
PCurry57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 12:20 AM   #22
tarheelblue32
Registered User
 
tarheelblue32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,403
Quote:
Originally Posted by PCurry57 View Post
That's nearly the new price when it was new. I recently saw a Premiere XL (the two tuner model) at Fry's and was strict with sticker shock. They were asking $248 for it wish was the full new pride two years ago. I think there are better deals on eBay.
TiVo still sells the Premiere 4 and XL 4 on their website for $249.99 and $399.99 respectively, which seems completely ridiculous to me since the base Roamio is only $199.99.

https://www.tivo.com/shop/outlet
tarheelblue32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 07:17 PM   #23
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,591
Quote:
Originally Posted by mp11 View Post
My local WM has the Tivo Premiers discounted to $98. Been a while since I've purchased a Tivo. If I do get one of these, what are the procedures to go through as far as setup? Is it just a matter of calling Tivo with the particulars of the new unit? My Tivo HD was setup by the cable guy a few years ago. Is this something I can do, or will the cable guy have to do it again? Also, am I able to keep paying the $12.xx monthly fee I've been paying or a new price?
Check Craigslist and see if you can't find someone selling a used one for $50.

If you do, find out how long they've had it in service--maybe they can get the $99 lifetime on it and sell it to you for $150, but don't plan on getting it and then trying to get the deal yourself, you probably need the leverage of being the person who's threatening to not pay them anything on it at all to get them to decide that $99 is $99 more than $0.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2014, 11:08 AM   #24
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,544
I got one from cr for $25 and since they only had it on service for two years I was offered lifetime for $199. They noted if it had three years I would have been able to get the $99 offer, as its just a parts box otherwise.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |