TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-02-2013, 10:47 PM   #1
RusRus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 164
500GB vs 1TB HDD?????

What is the physical difference between these two HDDs? More discs? Larger discs? What? Would the 500GB run cooler and quieter and longer? Thanks.
RusRus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 12:25 AM   #2
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 5,811
Quote:
Originally Posted by RusRus View Post
What is the physical difference between these two HDDs? More discs? Larger discs? What? Would the 500GB run cooler and quieter and longer? Thanks.
The drives from one co may not be the same as one from another. Most people go directly to the 2Tb drive as the price difference is small and when the 2Tb are on sale the price could be less

Why do you care about the number of platters, what do you want to do with the drive, for a TiVo the heat difference from 500Gb to 2Tb is almost unmeasurable if you are using the green WD drives.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis, Also 1 not used Humax Series 2 with a DVD burner
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 12:49 AM   #3
RusRus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by lessd View Post
The drives from one co may not be the same as one from another. Most people go directly to the 2Tb drive as the price difference is small and when the 2Tb are on sale the price could be less

Why do you care about the number of platters, what do you want to do with the drive, for a TiVo the heat difference from 500Gb to 2Tb is almost unmeasurable if you are using the green WD drives.
My recording needs are so small that if my 1TB HDD goes South I thought I would go with a 500GB HDD.
RusRus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 07:58 AM   #4
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,354
Your question remains a bit broad. Are you talking about the WD external drives, or an internal drive (either a XL unit or one you upgraded yourself)?
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 09:52 AM   #5
worachj
Registered User
 
worachj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Eagan, MN
Posts: 776
Here's explanation on what the model number means.
http://www.wdc.com/wdproducts/librar...579-001028.pdf

Spec's on WD green drives for details:
http://www.wdc.com/wdproducts/librar...879-701229.pdf
__________________
S2, S3, TiVo Hd, Premiere, Roamio Basic all with lifetime service.
worachj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 11:01 PM   #6
RusRus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrtroo View Post
Your question remains a bit broad. Are you talking about the WD external drives, or an internal drive (either a XL unit or one you upgraded yourself)?
I now have an internal 1TB HDD but my storage needs for HD shows is only about 40 HD hours; not 142.
RusRus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 11:09 PM   #7
RusRus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by worachj View Post
Here's explanation on what the model number means.
http://www.wdc.com/wdproducts/librar...579-001028.pdf

Spec's on WD green drives for details:
http://www.wdc.com/wdproducts/librar...879-701229.pdf
Thanks. I printed out the page on the description of model numbers. Very informative.
RusRus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 02:03 PM   #8
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 5,811
Quote:
Originally Posted by RusRus View Post
I now have an internal 1TB HDD but my storage needs for HD shows is only about 40 HD hours; not 142.
What TiVo model do you have, is the internal 1Tb an original TiVo drive ? if it is you can't make it smaller, the cost difference between 500Gb and 1Tb can be as low as $15, I don't know what you are trying to accomplish.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis, Also 1 not used Humax Series 2 with a DVD burner
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 06:13 PM   #9
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,753
For most Tivos you can go to a 500GB drive if you get an image that is smaller than the 1TB you currently have. As for cooler and quieter, for the same generation from the same maker, probably about the same on both counts. You can go to the drive maker's website and check out differences in current requirements. It's hard to go wrong with a Western Digital Green AV drive no matter what size. I'm in the same boat as you because we tend to delete after watching. I've gone with 1TB upgrade drives in my two Premieres anyway.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 10:46 PM   #10
RusRus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by lillevig View Post
For most Tivos you can go to a 500GB drive if you get an image that is smaller than the 1TB you currently have. As for cooler and quieter, for the same generation from the same maker, probably about the same on both counts. You can go to the drive maker's website and check out differences in current requirements. It's hard to go wrong with a Western Digital Green AV drive no matter what size. I'm in the same boat as you because we tend to delete after watching. I've gone with 1TB upgrade drives in my two Premieres anyway.
My curiosity sometimes gets the better of me. LOL. Since I currently have a WD10EURX it may be years (hopefully) before I have to make a decision. Thanks for all the input though.
RusRus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 11:20 PM   #11
MeInDallas
Registered User
 
MeInDallas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 831
Quote:
Originally Posted by RusRus View Post
My curiosity sometimes gets the better of me. LOL. Since I currently have a WD10EURX it may be years (hopefully) before I have to make a decision. Thanks for all the input though.
Thats a fairly new model, you should have a good warranty left on it. New it comes with 3 years. How long have you had it and where did you get it?
MeInDallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 11:18 PM   #12
RusRus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeInDallas View Post
Thats a fairly new model, you should have a good warranty left on it. New it comes with 3 years. How long have you had it and where did you get it?
Three months and Amazon.
RusRus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 11:28 PM   #13
MeInDallas
Registered User
 
MeInDallas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 831
You should have a lot left on the warranty then. Make sure you register it on the Western Digital website, just in case.
MeInDallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |