TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-31-2012, 12:33 PM   #1
srcohen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 44
Find Folder on NAS Drive

Have Premium XL4 and Seagate Goflex_Home (divided into "x", "y", "Z" folders).
Want to put video files (or jpgs) on NAS for TIVO to play
The TIVO can see the NAS, but I cannot find the "folder" it sees.
Read other threads but they involve TIVO To Go.
Can the TIVO play videos or jpgs directly from the NAS? and where is the "folder" it sees.
Thanks
srcohen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 08:01 AM   #2
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,934
No, tivo will not play video files directly from a nas unless the nas has a Tivo media server ap such as pytivo running on it.
__________________
Current : Roamio Base with 2TB drive and 2 Premieres and a mini. OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a 78TB Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 04:31 PM   #3
HockeyFan
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 110
My nas is setup to use Iscsi .
Each drive on the nas shows up as local
disk on my computer.
Pytivo & streambaby is easier to config
using local disk paths.
Before I did this TiVo could see the NAS,
but not the folders.

There may be other solutions but this
works for me.
HockeyFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 10:09 AM   #4
mlippert
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 55
It's going to depend on what NAS you have (and what you've got running on it).

I have a Netgear ReadyNAS which has a DLNA and rudimentary TiVo support so I see it at the bottom of the My Shows list. When I select it, it shows a list of folders which I have identified to the ReadyNAS's DLNA server. This initially made me think that the TiVo would "see" any DLNA server, but that isn't true (at least as of today, supposedly it's a feature that's been mentioned before), it is only working because of the ReadyNAS's additional TiVo support.

So what NAS do you have? (edit: oops, missed that your NAS is a Seagate Goflex_Home, I can't tell what cpu it uses or if you can install other utilities for it to run such as pyTivo.)

Last edited by mlippert : 01-06-2013 at 10:15 AM. Reason: missed info from original post, so fleshed out reply
mlippert is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:10 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |