TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-11-2012, 06:27 PM   #1
UCLABB
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 253
Tivo designations aggravating me

I'm looking for either an Premiere xl4 or a Premiere 4. But the regular premieres are called "series 4". So when I look on EBay I have to investigate which model it is as people often call the regular Premiere, Premiere 4. Sometimes you can tell right away by the picture, but not always. TiVo should have been more careful in naming the models, imo.
UCLABB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 06:30 PM   #2
CoxInPHX
COX Communications
 
CoxInPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,414
Try searching using the model #

TiVo TCD750500 = Premiere 4, 500GB HDD

TiVo TCD758250 = Premiere XL4, 2TB, THX
__________________
Roamio Pro, XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, & Mini, 20.4.5c, w/ Cisco SDV TA, FW F.2001, Cisco CC FW PKEY1.5.3_F.p.1301

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

CoxInPHX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 06:43 PM   #3
UCLABB
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoxInPHX View Post
Try searching using the model #

TiVo TCD750500 = Premiere 4, 500GB HDD

TiVo TCD758250 = Premiere XL4, 2TB, THX
I don't think they always include the model number. Check out this one on EBay. Look down the page at the description. Calls it a Premiere 4, but it is not. My main point is that TiVo invited this confusion by first having products called "series 4 Premiere" and then coming out with a product called Premiere 4 which is different.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/TiVo-Premier...item19d76ea7d1
UCLABB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 07:09 PM   #4
dianebrat
Uncontrolled Force
 
dianebrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: boston'ish
Posts: 7,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by UCLABB View Post
I don't think they always include the model number. Check out this one on EBay. Look down the page at the description. Calls it a Premiere 4, but it is not. My main point is that TiVo invited this confusion by first having products called "series 4 Premiere" and then coming out with a product called Premiere 4 which is different.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/TiVo-Premier...item19d76ea7d1
Sorry but the issue isn't Tivo who were very good about giving them unique model numbers that tell you EVERYTHING you need to know, but with the poor ebay sellers who aren't properly describing the product.
__________________
"There is a distinct difference between having an open mind and having a hole in your head from which your brain leaks out."
dianebrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 07:47 PM   #5
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,324
Quote:
Originally Posted by UCLABB View Post
I don't think they always include the model number. Check out this one on EBay. Look down the page at the description. Calls it a Premiere 4, but it is not. My main point is that TiVo invited this confusion by first having products called "series 4 Premiere" and then coming out with a product called Premiere 4 which is different.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/TiVo-Premier...item19d76ea7d1
Isn't that ebay sale for the original Premiere with a 320GB drive? They mention 45 hours of record time. That corresponds to the original Premieres that had 320GB hard drives.
Of course you need to send a question to thr seller to verify.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 07:49 PM   #6
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,760
Always ask for the TCD number and double check it on something like Tivopedia. I suspect that part of your irritation is due to the poor play of the UCLA BB team. I've been a fan since before they won their first title but the past few years have been hard to watch.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 08:10 PM   #7
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,901
The main differences are:

Premiere and XL = 2 tuner, use on antenna and cable, note 2 LED on front
Premiere 4, XL4 = 4 tuner, use only on digital cable, note 4 red LED on front

Regular Premiere has either 320GB (TCD746320) or 500 GB (TCD746500)
The XL (TCD748000) has a 1 TB drive of recording space.
The 4 has 500 GB.
The XL4 has a 2 TB drive of recording space.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!
OTA! OTA! OTA!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 10:45 PM   #8
UCLABB
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by lillevig View Post
Always ask for the TCD number and double check it on something like Tivopedia. I suspect that part of your irritation is due to the poor play of the UCLA BB team. I've been a fan since before they won their first title but the past few years have been hard to watch.
Yes I'm in a very bad mood!
UCLABB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 10:50 PM   #9
UCLABB
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Isn't that ebay sale for the original Premiere with a 320GB drive? They mention 45 hours of record time. That corresponds to the original Premieres that had 320GB hard drives.
Of course you need to send a question to thr seller to verify.
Yes, indeed it is an original Premiere and that's my point. TiVo has contributed to the confusion by calling their first premieres "series 4" and then coming out with a "4".

To others that responded, yes, I know the difference between them all, I was just commenting on the way TiVo has named them.
UCLABB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 11:08 PM   #10
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,895
It could be worse. They could follow Apple's example and have 27 different computers in six years that are all called "MacBook Pro."

Maybe instead of calling the next one a Series 5, they can just name it "the new TiVo" and sell 4 versions of it.
__________________
Roamio Pro (3TB)
Premiere Elite (2TB)
Premiere (320GB)
Two TiVo Minis

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 11:59 PM   #11
cherry ghost
Registered User
 
cherry ghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,196
Did TiVo actually ever label it a "Series 4" or just "Premiere"?
cherry ghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 12:11 AM   #12
CoxInPHX
COX Communications
 
CoxInPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,414
Quote:
Originally Posted by cherry ghost View Post
Did TiVo actually ever label it a "Series 4" or just "Premiere"?
It says Series 4 right on the name plate right hand side bottom.


__________________
Roamio Pro, XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, & Mini, 20.4.5c, w/ Cisco SDV TA, FW F.2001, Cisco CC FW PKEY1.5.3_F.p.1301

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

CoxInPHX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 12:15 AM   #13
CoxInPHX
COX Communications
 
CoxInPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,414
When it comes to purchasing from ebay, I never purchase from anyone who does not appear to know what they are doing. Missing key info like a model number and proper description says to me STAY AWAY...
Often I will ask them a question and if they are rude or haven't a clue I stay away.

On the other hand you might get the best price from someone not knowing the actual value, but to me it is not worth the risk.
__________________
Roamio Pro, XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, & Mini, 20.4.5c, w/ Cisco SDV TA, FW F.2001, Cisco CC FW PKEY1.5.3_F.p.1301

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

CoxInPHX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 12:17 AM   #14
cherry ghost
Registered User
 
cherry ghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,196
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoxInPHX View Post
It says Series 4 right on the name plate right hand side bottom.

Huh, never noticed that. Thanks!
cherry ghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 02:45 AM   #15
mrsean
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by UCLABB View Post
My main point is that TiVo invited this confusion by first having products called "series 4 Premiere" and then coming out with a product called Premiere 4 which is different.
True, but a TP4 is also a series 4 Tivo just like regular TP.
__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro/Lifetime/Verizon FIOS
TiVo Roamio Basic/Lifetime/Comcast
TiVo Mini/Lifetime/Comcast

Retired: DirecTiVo, Series 2 DT, TiVo HD, Premiere, Premiere 4, TiVo Stream
mrsean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 05:08 PM   #16
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,760
Now that we have the Series 4 stuff settled, anyone want to take on sorting out the Series 2?
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 05:14 PM   #17
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,895
Series 2? Easy!


Standalone Models:
TiVo/AT&T TCD130040, TCD230040
TiVo TCD230040, TCD240040, TCD24004A, TCD540040, TCD140060, TCD240080, TCD24008A, TCD540080, TCD542080, TCD240140, TCD540140, TCD649080, TCD649180
Pioneer DVR-810H, DVR-57H
Toshiba SD-H400, RS-TX20, RS-TX60
Humax T800, T2500, DRT400, DRT800
Sony SVR3000

DirecTV Models:
Hughes HDVR2, HDVR3, SD-DVR40, SD-DVR80, SD-DVR120
Philips DSR7000, DSR704, DSR708
RCA DVR39, DVR40, DVR80
Samsung SIR-S4040R, SIR-S4080R, SIR-S4120R
DirecTV R10, HR10-250


Of the standalone non-DVD units, there are about 6 variations. Of the DirecTV boxes, there are really only three variations (and two software versions.)
__________________
Roamio Pro (3TB)
Premiere Elite (2TB)
Premiere (320GB)
Two TiVo Minis

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 10:46 PM   #18
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,113
Yes, TiVo's model naming is a mess. Series 3 is even worse than Series 4, IMHO. You've got two basic models (ignoring the XL variants) -- this should be easy, right? But no. When the second Series 3 model came out, they tried to distinguish it by referring to it as a "TiVo HD". Only problem? The first Series 3 model had come in a box that looked like this:



I kid you not. So clearly, that box... wasn't a "TiVo HD"? And you couldn't just call that old model a "Series 3" anymore, either (although they often did), because the new model was still a Series 3, too. So people have taken to calling it "the original Series 3", or "the OLED Series 3".
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 09:02 AM   #19
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,324
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcbrine View Post
Yes, TiVo's model naming is a mess. Series 3 is even worse than Series 4, IMHO. You've got two basic models (ignoring the XL variants) -- this should be easy, right? But no. When the second Series 3 model came out, they tried to distinguish it by referring to it as a "TiVo HD". Only problem? The first Series 3 model had come in a box that looked like this:



I kid you not. So clearly, that box... wasn't a "TiVo HD"? And you couldn't just call that old model a "Series 3" anymore, either (although they often did), because the new model was still a Series 3, too. So people have taken to calling it "the original Series 3", or "the OLED Series 3".

That threw me for a loop one day. I couldn't figure out why I still had a TiVoHD box left even though I had sold those a long time ago. Until I realized it was the OLED S3 box. I guess I really need to throw the box out since my GF has my last two S3 OLED TiVos.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 02:46 PM   #20
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,895
You can sell the box on ebay. People actually buy empty boxes there.
__________________
Roamio Pro (3TB)
Premiere Elite (2TB)
Premiere (320GB)
Two TiVo Minis

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:19 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |