TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-12-2012, 05:13 PM   #1
tyrocker
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Centerville, Utah
Posts: 31
Premiere update- shows now all say 2.05 GB no matter the length

Now that I have received the 20.2.2 update, all of my shows are showing that the size is 2.05 GB. It doesn't matter if it is 30 minutes or an hour. Doesn't seem to plausible. So I have transferred a show from the Premiere to a series 2 and the GB shows as way smaller. Anybody else having this problem?
Also, I show that I have 3 or 4 HD hours available, but 0 in my deleted folder and when I record new shows, they usually get deleted and say that they expired.
tyrocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 05:56 PM   #2
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by tyrocker View Post
Now that I have received the 20.2.2 update, all of my shows are showing that the size is 2.05 GB. It doesn't matter if it is 30 minutes or an hour. Doesn't seem to plausible. So I have transferred a show from the Premiere to a series 2 and the GB shows as way smaller. Anybody else having this problem?
Also, I show that I have 3 or 4 HD hours available, but 0 in my deleted folder and when I record new shows, they usually get deleted and say that they expired.
Not seeing that. Actually, I saw something just the opposite a few days ago - said I was at 100% but still had entries in "Recently Deleted".
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 09:18 PM   #3
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 17,211
I've *definitely* seen shows seem to be 2.05 GB from kmttg before.. Maybe this is why the pause point is messed up (in the display) too, often.. I mean from kmttg, but it actually transfers from the right place.

Have you called Tivo to report this?
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 10:19 PM   #4
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattack View Post
I've *definitely* seen shows seem to be 2.05 GB from kmttg before.. Maybe this is why the pause point is messed up (in the display) too, often.. I mean from kmttg, but it actually transfers from the right place.

Have you called Tivo to report this?
Seeing it within kmttg and seeing it on the TiVo are two different things.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 01:57 AM   #5
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,894
My shows on a random Premiere are anywhere from 2.1 to 10.4 GB in size.
__________________
Roamio Pro (3TB)
Premiere Elite (2TB)
Premiere (320GB)
Two TiVo Minis

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 02:01 AM   #6
tyrocker
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Centerville, Utah
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattack View Post

Have you called Tivo to report this?
Yes, I have called to report this.
tyrocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 08:39 PM   #7
tivosupport_jacob
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by tyrocker View Post
Yes, I have called to report this.
tyrocker,

Would you mind sending me your TSN phone number and email on the account please? I would like to verify we have added it to our list of affected TiVo boxes. This ensures we accurately record customer impact, and that your box downloads the fix as soon as when it becomes available.

Thanks!
__________________
Sincerely,

-Jake
TiVo Support

<img src="http://www.tivo.com/assets/images/shared/icon/app_launch_icon_100x100.png">
tivosupport_jacob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 10:03 PM   #8
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 17,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
Seeing it within kmttg and seeing it on the TiVo are two different things.
???

kmttg seems to report the same size that the INFO button on a Tivo itself does… which are both overestimates of what the 'real' (tivodecoded) size is.
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 10:47 AM   #9
danineg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Arrow Shows now all 2.05gb and deleting things

Not only has the TiVo started showing all shows as 2.05gb no matter the length of the show, it deletes shows when there should be enough space to leave them. The morning of Dec 7th (I think that was the day) the TiVo said it had updated when I turned on the tv and hit the TiVo button. The previous night we had 256 recently deleted and about 40 TiVo suggestions, those were gone. Now we do not get up past about 50 recently deleted and the suggestions is always less than 5 (I routinely delete shows from suggestions that I know we will not watch, leaving the ones that we might want to watch if they aren't deleted by the unit). This is very frustrating as we used to be able to record about 300 hours, and are now only getting about 100. That may sound like a lot to some, but we have many people with different interests and they don't always get to sit and watch their shows on a regular basis. I hope a fix is in the works and is done quickly. Transferring a show to a computer and back lowers the size to .76gb for a one hour show, but who has the time, or patience, to transfer all the shows back and forth?
danineg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 09:29 PM   #10
Dante101
...in between dreams
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Fullerton, CA
Posts: 169
I just noticed this, too, and found this thread looking for answers. I'm recording a lot of SD content (which should be around 500 MB) and they are all showing up as 2.05 GB. When I download them onto my computer they turn out to be around 500 MB.

I do get larger files sizes, though. Jimmy Kimmel is showing up around 5 GB (which seems normal).

All the SD shows I have before the update seem to show the proper sizes (around 400 MB or so). It's like 2.05 GB is the default low file size.

Or when exactly was the update? I have an episode of Dobie Gillis that I recorded on Nov 25th with a file size of 570 MB (normal). Then an episode of Father Knows Best that was recorded on Dec 3rd which has a large file size of 1.01 GB... Hmmm...
__________________
Tivo Premiere (OTA only + Internet)
DirecTivo Hughes SD DVR80 (collecting dust, no longer a DTV customer)
DirecTivo Sony SAT-T60 (collecting dust, no longer a DTV customer)
Dante101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 10:15 PM   #11
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,213
I am now seeing this problem on my Premieres as well. It's more than just 2.05 is the minimum, one of them has a 6 minute recording that the TiVo reports as as 1.44GB. When x-fered to my computer, it is only 137,699KB.

The reason I said above that seeing it in kmttg and seeing it on the TiVo are not the same is that when you are trying to troubleshoot a problem such as this, it is always a good idea to eliminate as many possible sources of the problem as you can.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 10:24 PM   #12
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 17,211
Can someone call up TiVo and report this? Or I guess at least email/tweet it to Margret?
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 10:48 PM   #13
Dante101
...in between dreams
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Fullerton, CA
Posts: 169
I don't have kmttg. I just download the programs from Tivo's web browser feature.

A recent episode of Ozzie & Harriet showed up in the web browser as being 2.05 GB, and also said 2.05 GB on the Tivo, itself (under "get info" on the show's description page). But when transferred to my computer, the program file was a normal 505 MB.

Older shows on my Tivo, before the update, (also standard definition and same 30 min length) show as 570 on my Tivo and are around 525 when transferred to my computer. Still a discrepancy, but much smaller.

A 2-hour SD movie I recorded in October is only 1.68 GB on my Tivo. So makes no sense that a 30 min SD program is showing up as 2.05 GB.
__________________
Tivo Premiere (OTA only + Internet)
DirecTivo Hughes SD DVR80 (collecting dust, no longer a DTV customer)
DirecTivo Sony SAT-T60 (collecting dust, no longer a DTV customer)
Dante101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 07:53 AM   #14
danineg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
My box got the update around Dec 7th. At the same time there is now a folder called HD recording in My Shows. I "chatted" with customer support on Dec 21st, they said they will have the engineers "look into it". Hope they will get it fixed before the next season of new shows starts.
danineg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 08:45 AM   #15
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,213
The "HD Recordings" group is there on any HD capable TiVo.

Additional datum on the problem. When I did a direct Premiere-to-Premiere transfer of the 6 minute, 1.44GB recording, the resultant copy was .16GB.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 12:41 PM   #16
morac
Cat God
 
morac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,497
I'm not sure this is an entirely new problem. Ever since the 20.0 software, I've seen 30 minute SD recordings reported at at least 1 GB which is wrong. They were about 500 MB or less in reality.

That said, there does appear to be a new problem:
1. All my 15 minute Robot Chicken recordings since installing 20.2.2 report a size of 2.05 GB (one is 2.01 GB though). Recordings prior to upgrading were 1.63 GB in length and that's what the size my S3 is reporting for the current recordings.
2. My American Dad recordings (30 min) are now all 4.1 GB. Previously they were 3.3 GB or less. The same recording on my S3 is 3.29 GB.

The Premiere is reporting those sizes in both the SD and HD menus, so the Premiere is over-reporting sizes on those shows.

There are some counter-point arguments:
1. My Arrow recordings (1 hr) are now all 7.74 GB. Previously they were 7.55 GB, about the same.
2. Newer Revolution (1 hr) 6.77 GB, older one 6.72 GB.
2 . A 4 1/2 hour recording I recently made is reporting 32.17 GB, when the actual size when I transferred it to my PC was 31.23 GB, which is nearly the same. (*)

Some more data points (all HD unless otherwise stated), which hint at a problem (**):
1. Recent 2 hour 54 minute recording - 19.86 GB.
2. Recent 2 hour recording - 14.29 GB
3. Recent 2 hour 20 minute (SD) recording - 4.1 GB
4. Old 3 hour recording (old software) - 15.49 GB.
5. Old 2 hour recording -9.96 GB
6. Old 3 hour recording - 14.34 GB
7. Another old 3 hour recording - 14.92 GB
8. Old 1 hour (SD) recording - 1.42 GB
9. Old 3 1/2 hour recording transferred to PC (PC size) - 12.89 GB


So it does appear some recordings are taking up more room than they used to and there does appear to be a 2.05 GB minimum.

My (original model) Premiere is reporting a capacity of 48 HD hours. I don't know what it used to be or if it changed, but it was originally marketed as being able to hold 46 hours of HD.


(*) The TiVo has never accurately calculated GB. I'm not sure how they do so, all I know is that transfers to my PC are a bit normally smaller than what the TiVo reports.
(**) Different channels encode at different rates so they won't all be the same size for the same length program.

Last edited by morac : 12-24-2012 at 01:07 PM.
morac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |