TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-10-2012, 07:55 PM   #1
sterski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6
OTA Antenna AND Timewarner Basic Cable

I ended my cable TV contract with TimeWarner and returned the DVR. Just for curiosity, I plugged the left over coax cable direct into my TV and noticed I get clear reception of their "NY1" channel and TBS. How do I add these channels to my TiVo Premiere that's currently working with an OTA Antenna?
sterski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 08:33 PM   #2
tatergator1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,001
The short answer is you don't. Since you cancelled cable, that would classified as theft of service.
tatergator1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 08:34 PM   #3
Teeps
Registered User
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Torrance,Cal. 90503
Posts: 1,033
Connect the cable to the TiVo, then do the guided setup for the basic cable service.
That should work until TW puts a filter on the cable at the local source.
Teeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 09:13 PM   #4
sterski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6
tatergator1 > you're the kind of person I can't stand, responding to posts with NOTHING to add but just spewing your moral judgements out. Who are you to say that? Grow up and stop judging people. You're probably doing it because you feel guilty about something you've done yourself in the past.

Teeps > will give it a try - thanks.
sterski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 11:24 PM   #5
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by tatergator1 View Post
Since you cancelled cable, that would classified as theft of service.
Not the OPs problem. It is the cable co's resposibility to disconnect the service if they no longer want the OP to receive a signal of any kind.

Now if the OP had come in here and said "I went outside and removed a filter..."
THAT, I would consider theft of service.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 11:36 PM   #6
mgbarton
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Littleton, CO, USA
Posts: 3
This a major reason that the Cable Companies enthusiastically embraced digital cable transmission. There is no longer a filter. No need to roll a truck.

The channels that they are willing to let everyone access for free are broadcast un-encrypted. All the rest you need some form of decoder - either a Cable Settop box or a CableCARD. Both are under complete control from the headend - they can send a message to the decoder at any time and enable or disable any channel within moments.

So, feel free to plug the cable into your TiVo and direct it to do a channel scan off Cable. It will find everything being broadcast (encrypted and un-encrypted) - but most will be black screens. Just uncheck them in the Channels screen. Those that you can see - you should free to enjoy.
mgbarton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 09:25 AM   #7
tatergator1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by sterski View Post
tatergator1 > you're the kind of person I can't stand, responding to posts with NOTHING to add but just spewing your moral judgements out. Who are you to say that? Grow up and stop judging people. You're probably doing it because you feel guilty about something you've done yourself in the past.
You are the one casting judgement.

I'm sorry that the truth is so bothersome to you. To be clear, I never cast any judgement on you. I stated a simple fact, receiving Cable television without paying for it is technically theft of service. Sure, Time Warner should have physically disconnected service by now, and may still eventually do so.

I never questioned your morality for taking advantage of the situation. Perhaps you are the one who feels guilty? My focus was on the legality of the action, not morality. Illegal does not always equal immoral.
tatergator1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 11:17 AM   #8
sterski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6
Done! It works - thanks for the tip Teeps and mgbarton. The channels are in SD, but nice addition all the same ;-)
sterski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 11:21 AM   #9
sterski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by tatergator1 View Post
You are the one casting judgement.

I'm sorry that the truth is so bothersome to you. To be clear, I never cast any judgement on you. I stated a simple fact, receiving Cable television without paying for it is technically theft of service. Sure, Time Warner should have physically disconnected service by now, and may still eventually do so.

I never questioned your morality for taking advantage of the situation. Perhaps you are the one who feels guilty? My focus was on the legality of the action, not morality. Illegal does not always equal immoral.
All well and good, but the bottom line is that you replied to a post with absolutely ZERO to add. I'm not saying you can't do that, because you're entitled to your opinion, but then so am I.
sterski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 12:44 PM   #10
Teeps
Registered User
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Torrance,Cal. 90503
Posts: 1,033
Can't we all get along?
Teeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 02:11 PM   #11
WO312
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 1,259
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teeps View Post
Can't we all get along?
Nope.
WO312 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 02:25 PM   #12
spaldingclan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 262
I've always wondered if I ran a coax line from the box in my garage for my Frontier FIOS (I only subscribe to their Internet and phone, no TV service) would I get any unencrypted channels?

has anyone tried this?
spaldingclan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |