TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-26-2013, 03:00 PM   #1
colin1497
Registered User
 
colin1497's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 95
New XL4, Tuners 3 and 4 not working

OK, just got an XL4 to replace my well used 1TB S3, installed and paired the cable card, installed the tuning adapter, thought everything was OK and let the TWC cablecard guy off the phone. A few hours later I realized that only tuners 1 and 2 are working, not tuners 3 and 4. I didn't see anything obvious searching tivocommunity -- is this a problem anyone else has seen?

And no, I don't have it set to allow 2 of the tuners to be used by other devices, it's set to have all 4 tuners devoted locally.

I can tune SDV (or non-SDV stations) stations on the first 2 tuners, and when I try to tune the exact same stations on the other 2 tuners I get a blank screen and the message telling me that the station isn't available. This is easily visible with a restart, where all 4 tuners will tune the same station...
colin1497 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 03:02 PM   #2
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,847
Reboot both the TiVo and the tuning adapter. I had the same problem when I got mine and it took rebooting both to get all 4 tuners working.

Dan
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 06:23 PM   #3
colin1497
Registered User
 
colin1497's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 95
OK, I've tried that once so far, but I'll go through it again. I've previously had issues where I had to reboot my S3 and tuning adapter to make things happy, so if that eventually works, I won't be surprised.
colin1497 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 06:45 PM   #4
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,060
Had similar problems with my Elite when I first got it. Eventually I had to move it to a different room with more direct cable drop as it wouldn't tune for all 4 tuners at the intended location. The 4 tuner units apparently require pristine conditions to function properly. Remember internally it's doing a 4 way split of incoming cable signal so it takes a good signal coming in for all 4 tuners to function properly.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 07:02 PM   #5
compnurd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 951
Someone else mentioned with there new XL4 the MRS setting for the Tivo Mini was enabled locking out two of there tuners.
compnurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 07:03 PM   #6
Bierboy
Seasoned gas passer
 
Bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Quad Sillies
Posts: 11,422
Wasn't there a thread or post somewhere about this problem stating that, when you've got Multi-Room Streaming enabled, it locks out two tuners for that purpose? Maybe I'm hallucinating...
Bierboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 07:53 PM   #7
rainwater
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 6,040
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bierboy View Post
Wasn't there a thread or post somewhere about this problem stating that, when you've got Multi-Room Streaming enabled, it locks out two tuners for that purpose? Maybe I'm hallucinating...
MRS doesn't use any tuners.
rainwater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 08:25 PM   #8
compnurd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 951
Yeh MRS may be the wrong word I am using but it whatever the Tuner allocation setting is that was enabled in the last update for the "4's"
compnurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 02:00 AM   #9
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,894
Someone had tuners enabled for remote devices (for the unreleased mini) and it kept two of the tuners from working.

Check this:
Settings & Messages> Settings > Remote, CableCARD, & Devices > Allow Live TV on Other Devices
__________________
Roamio Pro (3TB)
Premiere Elite (2TB)
Premiere (320GB)
Two TiVo Minis

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 04:25 AM   #10
WVZR1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The WV Eastern Panhandle
Posts: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arcady View Post
Someone had tuners enabled for remote devices (for the unreleased mini) and it kept two of the tuners from working.

Check this:
Settings & Messages> Settings > Remote, CableCARD, & Devices > Allow Live TV on Other Devices
The OP commented in his original post he had already eliminated that possible situation! Did he? I'd think so!
WVZR1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 07:53 AM   #11
colin1497
Registered User
 
colin1497's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by WVZR1 View Post
The OP commented in his original post he had already eliminated that possible situation! Did he? I'd think so!
Correct.

Turns out I got it working with another reboot. I'm not sure that I powered down the tuning adapter the first time. With the S3 I always had to disconnect the tuning adapter's USB connection if I rebooted, then reconnect it afterwards, otherwise I'd lose all my SDV stations. The first reboot I think I just disconnected the USB like I had learned to do with the S3. The time that fixed the problem I unplugged the power from the tuning adapter, rebooted the XL4, powered up the tuning adapter, and connected the USB. Voila: 4 tuners.
colin1497 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 11:23 AM   #12
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,847
I had the same trouble when I got mine. And like you after a few attempts landed on some combination of reboots that finally worked. Since then I've never had that problem again, so this appears to be a one time struggle.

Dan
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 05:09 PM   #13
rainwater
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 6,040
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
I had the same trouble when I got mine. And like you after a few attempts landed on some combination of reboots that finally worked. Since then I've never had that problem again, so this appears to be a one time struggle.

Dan
It's possible the tuning adapter didn't have the new firmware that activated it for more than 2 tuners when the TiVo initially connected to it. So rebooting all the devices probably got the TiVo to see the updated tuner support from the TA.
rainwater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 06:33 PM   #14
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,121
Another user had the same problem and it turned out that two of the tuners were dedicated to live streaming. This is to support the as yet unavailable TiVo-mini.

Quote:
How do I setup a TiVo host?

Your TiVo Mini will need to use a tuner on your Premiere 4, Premiere XL4/Elite, or Premiere Q to allow you to watch LiveTV. To dedicate a tuner to your TiVo Mini, do the following:

1. From TiVo Central, select Settings & Messages> Settings > Remote, CableCARD, & Devices > Allow Live TV on Other Devices.

2. Select how many tuners you would like to use.

If you will be using only one TiVo Mini, select Allow 1 tuner to be used by network devices.
If you will be using two or more TiVo Minis, select Allow 2 tuners to be used by network devices.
Note: The other user had not changed this. He didn't even know about it. It arrived like that. Caused no end of aggravation.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |