TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-23-2012, 10:14 AM   #1
jafo1000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toluca Lake, CA
Posts: 4
Noise out of speakers while changing channels with Premiere

I just bought a new Premiere and am already having some weird issue. When I change the channel, I get a loud noise out of my speakers, almost like a high pitched squeal. I can make it go away when I turn off Dolby Digital in the Tivo and turn it to PCM, but that just gives me 2-channel stereo to my receiver, and what's the point in that? I'm using optical cable for sound, and I've also tried changing the input select on the receiver from auto-detect to digital, thinking the noise was from the reciever trying to detect what audio signal was being fed, but this didnt' work, either. Has anyone else had this issue, and is there a fix?

Last edited by jafo1000 : 02-24-2012 at 09:51 AM.
jafo1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 10:00 AM   #2
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,004
Quote:
Originally Posted by jafo1000 View Post
I just bought a new Premiere and am already having some weird issues. When I change the channel, I get loud audio pops out of my speakers, and every so often while changing channels, I get a glimpse of the Tivo's menu for a split second, then it tunes into the channel. I think the audio pops may somehow be related to this. Has anyone else experienced this, and is there a fix for it?
Using the audio optical TiVo output this problem was much worse on the TiVo HD than on the TP but it depends on your amp. more that anything else. The original Series 3 with the OEL front panel did not have this problem. People have put threads together for different amps and the problems they had with the audio pops. One solution is to change the audio on the TiVo from Dolby to the other choice, that will fix the problem but you will not have surround sound anymore.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 10:21 AM   #3
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by jafo1000 View Post
I just bought a new Premiere and am already having some weird issue. When I change the channel, I get a loud noise out of my speakers, almost like a high pitched squeal. I can make it go away when I turn off Dolby Digital in the Tivo and turn it to PCM, but that just gives me 2-channel stereo to my receiver, and what's the point in that? I'm using optical cable for sound, and I've also tried changing the input select on the receiver from auto-detect to digital, thinking the noise was from the reciever trying to detect what audio signal was being fed, but this didnt' work, either. Has anyone else had this issue, and is there a fix?
Unfortunatly the only fix is to use a different decoder. The problem is in the un uniform data stream. Each time the program or menu changes, the data stream is interrrupted and a new stream starts. Often in a different format, IE DD5.1 vs 2.0 or PCM. Some decoders/amps do not deal with this well. Most newer ones do fine.

Tivo has done some work to help, the recent Premier updates to v20 are better on my older Integra amp but there are still anomolies due to the data stream hickups.
__________________
Current : Roamio Base with 2TB drive and 2 Premieres and a mini. OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a 78TB Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 12:03 PM   #4
jafo1000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toluca Lake, CA
Posts: 4
I have been using a HD Tivo for over 3 years on the same receiver with the same audio hook-up - a 3-year-old Denon - and never had any issues. Tivo is exchanging the unit. Hopefully it was just a glitch in that one box.
jafo1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 10:08 AM   #5
jafo1000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toluca Lake, CA
Posts: 4
I just received a replacement Premiere, and it's doing the same thing. Is there any possibility that this could be a tuning adaptor issue? I'm kind of grasping at straws here...
jafo1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 12:18 AM   #6
JZ1276
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by jafo1000 View Post
I just received a replacement Premiere, and it's doing the same thing. Is there any possibility that this could be a tuning adaptor issue? I'm kind of grasping at straws here...
No. It's definitely a compatibility issue between the tivo and the type of receiver. I've used my TivoHD with 3 different (Pioneer) receivers. I just upgraded to a 2012 Pioneer receiver and am now having this problem. It's unacceptable. I've had guests over since the upgrade that actually jump when I change the channel.
JZ1276 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 06:55 AM   #7
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,933
My new Yamaha works fine with the Tivo. Replaced my previous Onkyo that worked fine other than these glitches. I finally got tired of them and replaced the reciever. If your new Pioneer glitches the audio output like that, I would suggest you take it back and get a different brand.
__________________
Current : Roamio Base with 2TB drive and 2 Premieres and a mini. OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a 78TB Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |