TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-08-2012, 06:45 PM   #1
dg1972
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6
tivo 1 with ota converter box via serial?

I know there was some discussion about using a Tivax's serial port, but beyond that, has there been any updates?
dg1972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 07:08 PM   #2
replaytv
LovesPanda licorice
 
replaytv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Denver ish Colorado
Posts: 3,742
I have never heard of using the serial port, but you use the IR port and connect it to a DTV Pal digital converter box. I have used it that way.
replaytv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 07:18 PM   #3
dg1972
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6
I am looking to avoid IR at all costs.
dg1972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 02:11 PM   #4
poppagene
User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 672
one of the first directv hd receivers like the Hughes HTL-HD can function as an ota converter box without the need for a directv subscription. As an added bonus, this was one of the last directv boxes that a series one TIVO could control with the serial connection. It may be difficult to find these days, but they used to be easily available on Ebay. The LG LSS-3200A and the Sony HD300 are basically the same hardware and can be controlled via serial connection.
poppagene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 02:23 PM   #5
shwru980r
Registered User
 
shwru980r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,308
You'll probably just have to do trial and error to see if you can get a satellite box setting to work with the Tivax. On the Tivax box I have the serial port was the wrong gender for the tivo serial cable. I think you will need a gender changer.

For the S2 I never tried the satellite settings with the Tivax and the OTA settings don't support a serial connection. Even if I could get it to work with Satellite, I wouldn't be able to tune the sub-channels. The Tivax seems to work fine with an IR blaster.
__________________
HD-Lifetime-OTA
S3-Lifetime-OTA
Series 2-Lifetime-OTA
Humax DRT800-Lifetime-OTA
Series 2-Lifetime-Cable
Series 2-Lifetime-Cable
Toshiba SD-H400-Basic-Cable
shwru980r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 08:31 PM   #6
dg1972
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6
Hey, I appreciate the answers. However, I'm trying to figure out how the discussion got steered towards DirecTV. Oh, now I see. Use the old DirecTV box as just an OTA digital converter. Wow. I have a series 1 Tivo, and want to control an OTA digital converter box. Or find some sort of go-between.
I have a Hauppauge PC card that can receive ATSC, and be tuned via a small program. If I have to go that far, I'll have to find someone to write a program to capture serial commands and move that over the tuning program.
I know this seems a bit extreme, but I got the Tivo before the digital transition for my mother who only understands how to program a vcr. Even a direct cable connection between Tivo's IR out and Comcast's IR in failed so badly it wasn't worth it. And Comcast shut off all their serial to force Tivo users out.

Last edited by dg1972 : 11-09-2012 at 08:39 PM.
dg1972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 06:17 PM   #7
shwru980r
Registered User
 
shwru980r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,308
My Tivax box works fine with an IR cable. Try a new IR cable to see if there is a problem with your existing cable. You're still not going to be able to tune the sub-channels, even if you get it to work with an IR cable.
__________________
HD-Lifetime-OTA
S3-Lifetime-OTA
Series 2-Lifetime-OTA
Humax DRT800-Lifetime-OTA
Series 2-Lifetime-Cable
Series 2-Lifetime-Cable
Toshiba SD-H400-Basic-Cable
shwru980r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 01:22 PM   #8
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,118
Quote:
Originally Posted by poppagene View Post
one of the first directv hd receivers like the Hughes HTL-HD can function as an ota converter box without the need for a directv subscription. As an added bonus, this was one of the last directv boxes that a series one TIVO could control with the serial connection. It may be difficult to find these days, but they used to be easily available on Ebay. The LG LSS-3200A and the Sony HD300 are basically the same hardware and can be controlled via serial connection.
Is it new enough that it did ATSC OTA (digital) rather than NTSC OTA (the now defunct analog)?
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 01:40 PM   #9
poppagene
User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
Is it new enough that it did ATSC OTA (digital) rather than NTSC OTA (the now defunct analog)?
Yes these boxes have an ATSC tuner.

Here's a link to someone who connected it to a stand alone tivo without subscribing to directv.

http://www.oreillynet.com/pub/a/orei...igital_tv.html
poppagene is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |