TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > DirecTV TiVo Powered PVRs & Receivers
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-20-2012, 08:23 AM   #661
69800
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Nowhere Idaho
Posts: 55
I recorded Weather Channel last nite for 8 hours.. Rebooted every half hour all nite long on both my r-10 and hr10-250
__________________
R-10 250GB 215hrs
Hr-10 250
DTV standard definition

keep it simple
69800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 08:29 AM   #662
bstrohl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 17
Right now I think it would be nice if my units were rebooting on a schedule. They aren't I don't know about the 5s or 8s.

This morning we seem to be at 3 reboots per hour.
Sometimes the units reboot in sync sometimes only one reboots.
I have times like 8:13, 8:19, 8:35, 8:44, 9:42, 9:54, 9:56, 10:24, 10:27, 10:48, 11:41, 12:29, 12:56, 3:57, 7:12. 7:56, 8:26...
That's only a partial list but I don't see a time pattern even in the longer list.

It is better when only one unit reboots because then I can still watch the whole show, even if I am running stairs.
bstrohl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 08:29 AM   #663
ronsch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Tallahassee, FL, USA
Posts: 1,996
Here's my uninformed take on it although it doesn't explain how I went through most of Sunday without a reboot.

We know the change in guide data took place late on the 8th or early on the 9th. DTiVos keep about 10 days worth of guide data. Do the math and you'll see that Monday/Tuesday was when the last of the old data was gone.
__________________
Celebrating thirteen years on the TiVo Forum
dd_rescue evangelist & scuba diver
ronsch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 08:31 AM   #664
69800
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Nowhere Idaho
Posts: 55
21000 views on this thread. Lets get a poll on how many here have problems. We need to build our case with data to send to the CEO of Directv.
__________________
R-10 250GB 215hrs
Hr-10 250
DTV standard definition

keep it simple
69800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 08:32 AM   #665
warnmar10
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gibbsinc View Post
I had to record American Chopper 3 times tonight and still did not get enough to watch the whole show! Am going to sleep now, lol.........
Sort of a blessing in disguise for you then.
warnmar10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 08:39 AM   #666
jmy1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
Angry Rebooted twice since 7:30

Once abt 7:55, and again at 8:28 while I was on the phone with DTV. The rep said they were aware of the issue and were working on it. I asked how long it was going to take, since it had been going on for over a month. Didn't get a good answer for that. I have 3 dvrs all rebooting at same time. All 1st gens.
jmy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 08:41 AM   #667
bstrohl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by notanonymus View Post
It seems now that DirecTV can no longer keep this quiet on their own forum.

http://forums.directv.com/pe/action/...ostID=11148599

Posts are pouring in....

Jen
Sorry,
I started that message thread on 11/13. It has nothing to do with official DirecTV. It's community like this one.
bstrohl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 08:42 AM   #668
Mitch85
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronsch View Post
We know the change in guide data took place late on the 8th or early on the 9th. DTiVos keep about 10 days worth of guide data. Do the math and you'll see that Monday/Tuesday was when the last of the old data was gone.
This has been on my mind as well. Moreover, if the problem is in the data we already received, once they fix the problem we might need to wait another 10 days for the reboots to stop.

I'm not saying that's going to happen (I doubt the problem is in the stored guide data), but at this point I don't have much faith in Directv.
Mitch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 09:11 AM   #669
bstrohl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 17
Arrow

So we have a HDTiVo w/ antenna on our main TV recording network shows. I have also taken one of our laptops and connected it to watch streaming. There are still some things that we want to watch that we need to get from our DTV.

We're going away for the holiday so I am trying to juggle the schedule to record these things as often as possible on both units in hopes that we will have something watchable when we get back. This has also prompted a hard drive cleaning to make sure there is room.

This shouldn't be something I have to worry about while I'm busy with everything else.


PS- another reboot 8:56am EST, both units.
bstrohl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 09:13 AM   #670
sarge83
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 11
I have two Hughes Tivo's and one Direct R15 type receiver and the Hughes are doing the same reboot as everyone else. Directv tech is here and first thing he wanted to do was replace them both immediately with the Directv POS DVR's and a two yr. contract, I told him absolutely not. Check the dish first and make sure all was well there then found this thread. He found some minor issues with the dish configuration but it's not going to make a difference with this issue from what I am seeing here and on Direct's forums.

Either they can roll back or correct this software screw up or DISH will take my money.
sarge83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 09:15 AM   #671
allan
I survived the Mayan
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 12,442
It's getting worse! Several shows were chopped into 2 or 3 pieces yesterday. I missed the last 5 minutes of Revolution for the 9:55 reboot. And watching the news before work this morning, it booted at 5:55 & 6:25.
__________________
My Tivo is too small!

BEEP
allan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 09:18 AM   #672
FlashDad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2
Rebooting

I have 2 R!0's. I thought the occasional reboot was because of Hard Disk problems. But when both reset at 7am CST today, it looks like a software problem.
__________________
"They can take my TIVO away from me when they pry it from my dead hands."
FlashDad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 09:25 AM   #673
wbgolfer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NJ
Posts: 32
Check Out Post #592

Note to all members - please look at Post # 592 RUSSG --
notice that 2 week ago these were in fact very random reboots.
I can personnaly attest to that as I posted my issue at that time.
I added in my post that reboot were once or twice a day.
NEXT - look at #592 ---- starting yesterday the reboots began to occur at :28 and :58 !!! In other words exactly 30 minutes apart.
Question - how did this issue that was first reported a few weeks ago as 1 or 2 per day. Go to every 1/2 hour?
ANSWER - Directv must be making changes. How else could the service degrade from what we experienced in the beginng to what we have as of 11/20/2012.
PERHAPS they are attempting to drive the series 2 folks over the brink! JUST SAYING
wbgolfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 09:31 AM   #674
wbgolfer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NJ
Posts: 32
Helpful Tip ???

Here is a helpful tip ?????
I just completed testing this on my 2 series 2 DVR's.
I put one DVR in STANDBY and the other was tuned to FOX CH 360.
The one tuned into live TV rebooted at :28 then :58 then :28 etc etc.
The one in STANDBY - never rebooted - I checked this as the other one was in reboot.
So if you are at all concerned about any possible effect on your DVR caused by these reboots - you can unplug or simply put the DVR in STADBY.

Note as I'm writing this 9:28 AM EST reboot started !!
wbgolfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 09:32 AM   #675
bstrohl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 17
9:29am EST- DSR6000 reset, T60 did not.
bstrohl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 09:40 AM   #676
boring617
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 7
old tivos

Quote:
Originally Posted by bgreen5 View Post
I do too.

(2 of my 3 DTiVo units have working original drives. I upgraded the 3rd unit to a larger capacity years ago.)

At any rate, it seems you're implying that all these Series 2 DirecTiVo units are all on life support or something, held together with bailing wire and duct tape.

Not the case for me anyway. Maybe I'm lucky, but my TiVo hardware have behaved more like the major home appliances of yesteryear (remember when refrigerators would last 30+ years?) than the cheap disposable consumer electronics gear of today that everybody expects to reach obsolescence before the battery needs to be recharged.

YMMV.
Me too. We're probably on our 9th, 10th, & 11th tivos by now, but we don't mess with them--we buy them reconditioned from that site that sells them. And there was nothing wrong with them 3 weeks ago--what's the odds they'd start having nervous breakdowns simultaneously?
boring617 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 09:42 AM   #677
gdeakin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
R10 has hit a new low for me--4:55, 5:25, 5:55, 6:25, 6:55, 7:25, all MST, all trying to watch a local channel with nothing recording and both tuns on the same channel. Have taken to tweeting @DIRECTVservice each time with hashtag #DTVbrokemyTIVO just to make the point to them that I'm PISSED OFF that their CSR's response was to offer to sell me an equipment upgrade.
gdeakin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 09:42 AM   #678
DougF
Registered User
 
DougF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 13,757
I finally gave up and unplugged all of our DVRs last night. Dish install isn't until Saturday. In the meantime, I've disconnected the sat. and ant. cables and turned plugged one back in so my son can watch a couple of pre-recorded programs this morning. Hasn't rebooted since.
DougF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 09:51 AM   #679
boring617
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by newswatcher View Post
I agree, the more that complain or threaten to cancel might result in faster action. I firmly believe that this is a purposed failure to get TiVo lovers off those older units so they have to upgrade and sell newer units and make more money by these forced upgrades. Also, I believe they have purposely done this during the holiday season to create more urgency to upgrade and make that money... IMHO
Yeah, that's worrying me too. We're really, really loyal to our old style tivos & dread the day we can't use them. And offers of new ones, as I'm hearing about them, aren't really enticing. (They soujnd great in many ways, but not for us.) But on the other hand, wouldn't they clue in the service people? Sending techs out with no info must cost them something.
boring617 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 09:52 AM   #680
Smee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 10
Something interesting that I thought I should post. I have 5 DirecTiVos. Four out of the 5 are continually rebooting. I just noticed today. The 5th is in the kids playroom and is hardly used. I just assumed all of them were rebooting since the other four were. As a matter of fact it seems to have gotten worse. They just rebooted again at 8:58 & 9:28.

So I was thinking what the heck makes the 5th unit special considering it is the same as my other 4 and it occurred to me that that unit is on its own dish (Other end of the house and I didn't want to put in a long run of cable) configured as a single LNB. So I set up the bedroom TiVo the same way and see what happens. It still rebooted. Damn. One interesting observation in doing so is that it actually was able to complete the acquiring satellite info which it hasn't been able to since the rebooting started. The one in the play room has been up 7 hours without a reboot. This is so frustrating. The units are rebooting now at almost 30 minute intervals.

Smee
Smee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 09:52 AM   #681
bstrohl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 17
I have a shelved unit (from when Mom lived with us). Can I simply move the card from my DSR6000 to it?

I thought that if I did that we could use the old unit to try to record new stuff while being able to watch recorded stuff, uninterrupted, on the DSR6000.
bstrohl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 09:52 AM   #682
rebooting
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Rebooted 4 times already this morning (every 1/2 hour since 0730).. I'm in Florida and sent message suggesting local news station check it out.
rebooting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 10:06 AM   #683
ayouch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 20
9:58 am (EST) reboot, as expected. I received the standard replies from DTV Customer service on both Facebook and Twitter this morning. Looks like Thanksgiving football watching is going to be painful. May have to break out board games for my guests on Thursday!
ayouch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 10:12 AM   #684
Booman70
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 22
yeah the one in my family room is resetting about every half hour
__________________
2-Hughes SD-DVR40 W/160gb
SD-DVR40 W/120gb
HDVR2 W/120gb
Booman70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 10:15 AM   #685
Iceblade
Hockey is my Life
 
Iceblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 76
Posted about it with links here and to the Directv support forum on the Directv Facebook page. Of course, it was removed within an hour of posting... which ironically, is longer than I can go without reboots.

Regards,
Jeff
Iceblade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 10:17 AM   #686
bstrohl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 17
May be falling in line...

T60 reset 9:55am EST
DSR6000 reset 9:58am EST
bstrohl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 10:21 AM   #687
boring617
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 7
old vs new tivos

Quote:
Originally Posted by Polcamilla View Post
So...we've been considering upgrading to the HD DirecTiVo for the past couple months. Am I correct that the new units are NOT having this problem?
I was told this week by a tech that the new tivo's Now Playing list cannot be watched unless the satellite is on & connected. We save programs a lot: not being able to watch them would be a huge downside for us. But meanwhile, we now can't watch them when the whole system is resetting every 20 minutes. Q: we're pathetically non-tech people. Can anyone tell us what happens if we remove the phone connection? Will we be able to at least watch our saved shows?
boring617 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 10:24 AM   #688
lmv
Registered User
 
lmv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 18
hmmmmmmmmmm?

Well I unplugged last night at 9:45p (yesterday 7 resets)
Plugged in TODAY at 5:15A Tues 11/20
Time now is 9:15a

NO RESET yet

This of course is not a complaint... just wondering

Location Colorado
Directv Tivo R10
Series2
R52180
SW VERSION 6.4a01-2-521
Haven't been hooked up to phone line for 900+ days

Last edited by lmv : 11-20-2012 at 11:13 AM.
lmv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 10:29 AM   #689
DougF
Registered User
 
DougF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 13,757
And I'm out. After 13 years and 10 months, I'm no longer a DirecTV subscriber.

During my cancellation call, they offered me $400 off but I didn't take it. They still wanted close to $200 for the upgrade plus a higher monthly bill. Dish set me up for free plus a lower bill.
DougF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 10:35 AM   #690
mitchgobears
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7
I posted on their Facebook page this morning and my post was up long enough to get a reply from someone having the same problem. Before I could respond with a link to this forum the post was taken down. I also received the courtesy we're sorry and trying to fix it by directv. Maybe if we continually post with links to this forum, we can get some attention. When I called yesterday I was on hold and transferred enough that it almost rebooted during my call.
mitchgobears is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |