TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > DirecTV TiVo Powered PVRs & Receivers
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-19-2012, 10:07 PM   #451
wbgolfer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NJ
Posts: 32
reboots 10:28 PM EST and 10:58 PM EST

two more total reboots both dvr's
10:28 PM EST & 10:58 PM EST

Tht's 3 reboots since 9:58 PM EST

They are coming faster and faster !


OF note -- 28 58 anyone see a pattern ???
wbgolfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:08 PM   #452
mitchgobears
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7
8:58 here in Utah

I was on line with technical help and they denied problems until I stated that this was a known problem. Then he "researched" it and came back stating that they are working on a solution and didn't know when it will be fixed. It doesn't sound like they really care if the technical people didn't seem to know about it. Maybe they just lied about not knowing.
mitchgobears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:08 PM   #453
newswatcher
Registered User
 
newswatcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by satpro View Post
10:58 reboot,

Any one have a real listing for a mr Mike D White in El Segundo?

http://www.linkedin.com/pub/michael-white/10/291/244

Somebody should be fired for all this.

emailing wsj about this,

http://online.wsj.com/article/PR-CO-...tml?mod=crnews

from: http://www.lead411.com/Michael_White_1257079.html

John Norin - Vice President Technology and Communications Architectures Development, phone - 310-964-5000,

Jon Carmichael - Senior Manager IT Operations, phone - 310-964-5000
mike.white@directv.com
__________________
Me and Jerry. Oh, those were the days...

Hughes SD-DVR40 v6.4a (1TB Upgrade) living room)
Hughes SD-DVR40 v6.4a (bedroom)
newswatcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:08 PM   #454
Lucymort
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 39
And BTW, Arcady - this is way, way more than 300 people who are experiencing this issue.
Lucymort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:08 PM   #455
wooh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDUSER View Post
Just called Directv

They are having problems on new HD DVRS, SD DVRS, Series 2....

What ever they are doing, it is effecting everything... Or so I was told...
Good. Maybe they'll start to give a flying rat if someone other than us is included. While on the phone with them, my tivo reset 3 times. For a total of 4 times in 40 minutes (so far).

And of course, they said the only choices were to wait on engineering or upgrade. I asked why I would lock myself into a 2 year contract when there's no guarantee that a year from now they won't jack up their service like they are now without fixing it LIKE THEY ARE NOW.

Screw this. They blamed me for not upgrading. They won't give a time frame. They act like they don't know what's going on. It's a fight to get them to credit your bill. If I want crappy customer service and to be locked into a contract, I'll go elsewhere, because I'm not rewarding DTV for screwing over their customers.
wooh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:09 PM   #456
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,888
Maybe they are inserting things into the stream they think might be causing the reboots to see if they are. Good way to test, if they did it on a private system. Not so good if they doing it on a production system.
__________________
Roamio Pro (3TB)
Premiere Elite (2TB)
Premiere (320GB)
Two TiVo Minis

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:09 PM   #457
satpro
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 58
newswatcher,

That is not his real email address just a vanity one for
upper cs in boise.

might be mdwhite@directv.com

Try these emails: jdhunter@directv.com, ptdoyle@directv.com


from http://www.directvpresscenter.com/contact/

Darris Gringeri
Vice President, DIRECTV Public Relations
(212) 205-0882
dagringeri@directv.com



Robert Mercer
Sr. Director, DIRECTV Public Relations
(310) 964-4683
rgmercer@directv.com



Jade Ekstedt
Senior Manager, DIRECTV Public Relations
(310) 964-3429
jlekstedt@directv.com



Cara Brugnoli
Senior Manager, DIRECTV Public Relations
(212) 205-0887
cmbrugnoli@directv.com



Meghan McLarty
Associate, DIRECTV Public Relations
310-964-5528
mmclarty@directv.com

also more people at

http://investor.directv.com/officers.cfm

corporate carpet these people by calling and leaving voicemail or emailing them.

Contact media outlets and tell these people you are contacting your bank or credit card company to protest the charges for this month unless they issue automatic refunds to all directv tivo users for their programming charges since November 7. This is outrageous!

Last edited by satpro : 11-19-2012 at 10:24 PM.
satpro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:10 PM   #458
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,888
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucymort View Post
And BTW, Arcady - this is way, way more than 300 people who are experiencing this issue.
I don't have numbers. I meant to say that it is a small percentage of users. Most people aren't running old hardware that should have failed years ago. How many people on a Series2 DirecTiVo have a functional original hard drive?
__________________
Roamio Pro (3TB)
Premiere Elite (2TB)
Premiere (320GB)
Two TiVo Minis

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:10 PM   #459
wooh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by mitchgobears View Post
I was on line with technical help and they denied problems until I stated that this was a known problem. Then he "researched" it and came back stating that they are working on a solution and didn't know when it will be fixed. It doesn't sound like they really care if the technical people didn't seem to know about it. Maybe they just lied about not knowing.
I got the EXACT same thing. He says it's not a known issue, then I say it is, and it doesn't make me feel good about a resolution that he doesn't know about it, and he says he did know about it.
Keep your lies straight if you're going to lie.
wooh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:10 PM   #460
methodicjon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7
Question Dumb question

For those who have them rooted / zippered / jailbroken (pick your term here), to patch tivoapp binary, or something similar, to NOT reboot on this error??
methodicjon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:12 PM   #461
lmv
Registered User
 
lmv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 18
DTV or ?

Ok here is a new question:
Since it sounds like many of us stay w/ DTV because we like the TIVO interface and being able to record 2 stations at once (and because we don't like change)
What is our option to get those things without DTV?
Has anyone found something that works as well for a reasonable price?

We don't have premium channels and really only have a few shows we like but we do watch MSNBC and our local channels.

I hate change...
lmv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:14 PM   #462
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,888
Quote:
Originally Posted by lmv View Post
Ok here is a new question:
Since it sounds like many of us stay w/ DTV because we like the TIVO interface and being able to record 2 stations at once (and because we don't like change)
What is our option to get those things without DTV?
I have TiVo on cable and I can record 4 things at one time. It really isn't that hard to change. I did in 2007.
__________________
Roamio Pro (3TB)
Premiere Elite (2TB)
Premiere (320GB)
Two TiVo Minis

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:14 PM   #463
madddmaxxx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by pat4jay View Post
10:48 AM
12:17 PM
4:58
6:58
9:58
10:28
10:58

Worst day so far!
i think your 12:17 must be a mistake. Or it could be called "on the 8's" such as on the weather channel. Oh if you could actually see the weather channel.....
madddmaxxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:14 PM   #464
tas3086
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 9
Thumbs down reboots

I recorded the weather channel all day today almost 23 hours.

The results show that my system has restarted 11 times today.

It's time guys, to backout whatever fix that you installed. Enough is enough.

The way things are going tonight, lets just call it an even 12.

I think I'll record the test channel tomorrow !!
tas3086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:14 PM   #465
newswatcher
Registered User
 
newswatcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 381
Well, I can't get the main LR DVR to get Live TV at all, keeps telling me "Sorry the Recorder must re-aquire information from the satellite, then goes back to Satellite Info Error then to DirecTV Central. Can't get live TV at all!

Edit: Well, got Live TV back. Had to do a System Test in order to get to Live.
__________________
Me and Jerry. Oh, those were the days...

Hughes SD-DVR40 v6.4a (1TB Upgrade) living room)
Hughes SD-DVR40 v6.4a (bedroom)
newswatcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:15 PM   #466
gibbsinc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 8
I started to type a message and was just suddenly at a loss for words......seriously DTV!!!!!! You fricken suk!! I see every day how the service industry just plain sux these days. What is the world coming to? Sad, really sad
gibbsinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:15 PM   #467
SouthTivo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: The South
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by wbgolfer View Post
two more total reboots both dvr's
10:28 PM EST & 10:58 PM EST

Tht's 3 reboots since 9:58 PM EST

They are coming faster and faster !


OF note -- 28 58 anyone see a pattern ???
Yes. That's probably when the guide data updates to stop showing the current half-hour data and moves to show the upcoming half-hour.

Trying a different approach based on that theory: deleted nearly every channel except the ones I actually watch and now wait and see if this helps any -OH LOOK, it rebooted again at 11:14PM.

That's it. Plug pulled.
__________________
After 12 years, left DirecTV for Dish Hopper W/Sling and Joey in 2013.
Former DirecTivo equipment:
SDDVR-40 @ 884+hrs
R10 at 300hrs
R10 at 500hrs
HR10-250 at 300hrs
SouthTivo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:16 PM   #468
Stillhawk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by wooh View Post
Uverse isn't available here. So after 3 reboots in 30 minutes (leaving me with about 9 minutes of service in 30 minutes) I'm choosing between Comcast and Dish. What should I go with.
My friend has DISH. What a joke. Hw said he couldn't watch one show while recording another. i was in disbelief. I checked it out on the internet and apparently it's true. I'd definitely wouldn't bother with DISH.

If you have a good internet connection, there are some great options on line for watching lots of TV and Movies. Project Free-TV has been great.

Just a thought.
Stillhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:17 PM   #469
Lucymort
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 39
Arcady, what cable service do you have now? Comcast?
Lucymort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:17 PM   #470
gilliane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 29
This is beyond ridiculous. Trying to watch a live show at 10pm, I missed the beginning, middle and end due to reboots.
gilliane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:18 PM   #471
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,888
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucymort View Post
Arcady, what cable service do you have now? Comcast?
I have Insight, the local cable company here in Louisville, which was recently bought by Time Warner Cable.
__________________
Roamio Pro (3TB)
Premiere Elite (2TB)
Premiere (320GB)
Two TiVo Minis

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:20 PM   #472
jdrod
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arcady View Post
Yes, because 300 people out of 3 million who haven't updated to new hardware in 10 years will really affect the stock price. </sarcasm>
This right here is the reality of the situation. Look, I'm PO'd about this too, but the fraction of the DTV customers still using DirecTivo's is probably very small. We're a devoted community, but were tiny. Whatever DTV did to cause this, we weren't much more than an afterthought during their roll out meetings. They are too interested in making sure what ever "it" was works with their newer equipment.
jdrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:20 PM   #473
Bigizzaroo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 11
Way to ruin Monday Night Football

Reboots at 6:55, 7:25, and 7:55 pacific time
Bigizzaroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:22 PM   #474
wooh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by gansemer View Post
DTV wont give current customers theIr newest receiver (genie). This is reserved for new customers.
Because new customers are much more important than current customers. Always a great PR move.
The only way I'd stick with this is if they gave me genie without a contract. How likely is that to happen?
wooh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:22 PM   #475
mitchgobears
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7
5 minutes to reboot. Everybody ready?
mitchgobears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:22 PM   #476
cwilkins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5
I'll throw my two cents in with those suggesting DTV changed something that broke the older Tivos and could likely roll back whatever it was.

So... either we've been targeted for a forced upgrade, we're too insubstantial to warrant a resolution, or DTV has simply become too dysfunctional to make it happen? Not sure what else could explain. Trying to keep an open mind, but this is getting way past rediculous.

On the main box, 9 reboots in just in the past 24 hours.

Code:
Nov 19 03:16:04 (none) Thread ApgReader[226]: Tmk Fatal Error: Thread ApgReader <226>: unexpected signal 11
Nov 19 03:50:39 (none) Thread ApgReader[228]: Tmk Fatal Error: Thread ApgReader <228>: unexpected signal 11
Nov 19 09:59:28 (none) Thread ApgReader[226]: Tmk Fatal Error: Thread ApgReader <226>: unexpected signal 11
Nov 19 12:49:44 (none) Thread ApgReader[228]: Tmk Fatal Error: Thread ApgReader <228>: unexpected signal 11
Nov 19 17:14:27 (none) Thread ApgReader[229]: Tmk Fatal Error: Thread ApgReader <229>: unexpected signal 11
Nov 19 21:57:28 (none) Thread ApgReader[228]: Tmk Fatal Error: Thread ApgReader <228>: unexpected signal 11
Nov 20 02:57:56 (none) Thread ApgReader[227]: Tmk Fatal Error: Thread ApgReader <227>: unexpected signal 11
Nov 20 03:16:51 (none) Thread ApgReader[230]: Tmk Fatal Error: Thread ApgReader <230>: unexpected signal 11
Nov 20 03:28:01 (none) Thread ApgReader[227]: Tmk Fatal Error: Thread ApgReader <227>: unexpected signal 11
11 reboots on the rarely-used basement TiVo...

Code:
Nov 19 05:02:11 (none) ApgReader[191]: Tmk Fatal Error: Thread ApgReader <191>: unexpected signal 11
Nov 19 08:45:20 (none) ApgReader[191]: Tmk Fatal Error: Thread ApgReader <191>: unexpected signal 11
Nov 19 08:53:33 (none) ApgReader[191]: Tmk Fatal Error: Thread ApgReader <191>: unexpected signal 11
Nov 19 11:05:46 (none) ApgReader[191]: Tmk Fatal Error: Thread ApgReader <191>: unexpected signal 11
Nov 19 16:41:49 (none) ApgReader[191]: Tmk Fatal Error: Thread ApgReader <191>: unexpected signal 11
Nov 19 17:18:09 (none) ApgReader[191]: Tmk Fatal Error: Thread ApgReader <191>: unexpected signal 11
Nov 19 21:57:28 (none) ApgReader[191]: Tmk Fatal Error: Thread ApgReader <191>: unexpected signal 11
Nov 20 02:57:37 (none) ApgReader[191]: Tmk Fatal Error: Thread ApgReader <191>: unexpected signal 11
Nov 20 03:27:41 (none) ApgReader[191]: Tmk Fatal Error: Thread ApgReader <191>: unexpected signal 11
Nov 20 03:33:30 (none) ApgReader[191]: Tmk Fatal Error: Thread ApgReader <191>: unexpected signal 11
Nov 20 03:57:44 (none) ApgReader[191]: Tmk Fatal Error: Thread ApgReader <191>: unexpected signal 11

cwilkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:22 PM   #477
jdrod
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arcady View Post
I don't have numbers. I meant to say that it is a small percentage of users. Most people aren't running old hardware that should have failed years ago. How many people on a Series2 DirecTiVo have a functional original hard drive?
I do.
jdrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:23 PM   #478
Lucymort
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 39
Thanks, Arcady. Comcast is the only option out here. And, you are right - my series 2 Directv Tivo does not have the original hard drive - I have had it for some time, and the original hard drive died years ago. It functioned perfectly though, before whatever Directv did on November 8th that messed up their series 1 and series 2 Tivos.
Lucymort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:23 PM   #479
Recoush
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
both of My R10 have been doing this for the week

yes me too both of MY R10 and they have teh 6.4 Software
also my wife said hers has rebooted 5 times before Noon and 5 more times before i got so thats 10 and with Direct TV

OK guess i Was wrong she said once every 30 Minutes and i am a witness twice since i have been Home
in the last hour makes watching or recording any thing almost Impossible.

Last edited by Recoush : 11-19-2012 at 10:38 PM. Reason: Updated
Recoush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:27 PM   #480
pat4jay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 11
I love DIRECTV (generally except for the rain blackouts) and now this problem I also have it in my motorhome. FIOS is a good option but their DVR is not as good as DTV's. COMCAST sucked at least when I had it, DISH has fewer stations and fewer HD offerings. Given the paucity of problems I have had with DTV I am staying. But I am pissed. As it works out I had already decided to upgrade to HD and get a new HD TV with a Genie. That should happen in next 3 weeks til then I hope this gets resolved soon
pat4jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:06 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |