TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > DirecTV TiVo Powered PVRs & Receivers
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-06-2013, 08:18 PM   #1
laddanator
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 53
Slimline Point And Peak Help!

Not sure if I posted this in the right place?

Ok, I have a R10 and HR10-250 running on a 18inch 3lnb dish. I have this dish mounted to a 4x4 post in a bad spot to mow around so I decided to relocate the dish. At the PC repair shop that I work at, I install Wildblue Internet and requires a 2inch pole that we keep on the truck so I planted a 2inch pole out of the mowing way to relocate my dish and then realized upon trying to moving the dish that the older Oval 3 lnb dishes are 1 5/8 (forgot) and will not fit a 2inch pole so I called a buddy of mine and he gave me a new slimline 5lnb NON SWM (SWM will not work with older boxes or so I assume) dish. I ran new cable and replaced the ground block and what not but can not for the life of me point this dish. This is my first one and never had an issue with the Oval dishes. I also put a cheap meter in the line that will buzz until I hook the line from the lnb side to the meters lnb side, then the meter dies (but will come back to life if I unplug the lnb wire from the meter) so at this point wasn't sure if the lnb is bad or does this meter not work with this lnb (see link for meter)

http://www.amazon.com/EAGLE-ASPEN-SF.../dp/B0018BQRN4

I have no plans to upgrade to HD so is this dish a pain in the rear to point and peak? Do they make an Oval 3lnb with a 2inch base? I am using my R10 box to preform the point and peak but only gives me an option for the Oval 3lnb dish, is this a problem since I am using the 5lnb dish?
laddanator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 07:18 PM   #2
laddanator
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 53
So I took the 3lnb from the 18inch Oval dish and put it on the slimeline dish and was able to point and peak the slimeline dish fine but the slimeline is too big as I have perfect signal on 101 but poor on 119, and 110. The span of the slimline is too wide for that lnb. I for the life of me can not point and peak with the 5lnb on the dish. I know my setting are right if the 3lnb from the Oval dish works. Any Ideas?
laddanator is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:09 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |