TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Mini
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average.
Old 03-05-2013, 05:05 PM   #1
Corran Horn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Wood Dale, IL
Posts: 141
I'm wondering if this will work over wireless...

I see this...

Quote:
IMPORTANT! TiVo boxes using a wireless connection will not support the TiVo Mini.
on the TiVo site...but does that mean the Mini itself cannot use a wireless ethernet bridge?

__________________
Samsung DirecTivo (RETIRED) & Phillips DSR7000 (RETIRED) & Tivo Premiere 4 & Tivo Mini
Corran Horn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 05:22 PM   #2
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 15,805
Quote:
Originally Posted by Corran Horn View Post
I see this...

on the TiVo site...but does that mean the Mini itself cannot use a wireless ethernet bridge?
It should be able to just like the Premiere. And with the Premiere and a wireless Bridge, you can get an identical experience to it being connected to a wired network. If the Wi-Fi network is setup properly.

__________________
Roamio Pro (5TB Red)
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA (1TB Red)
53TB unRAID2--38TB unRAID3--33TB unRAID1a
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 06:12 PM   #3
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,838
You MAY be able to get it working with wireless networking, but TiVo doesn't support it so if there are any issues it's up to you to deal with them. MoCA is a much more reliable alternative in general.

__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 06:31 PM   #4
Bigg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hartford- New Haven CT
Posts: 4,488
It will work if you have one heck of a wireless bridge setup, and don't have a lot of interference.

__________________
Premiere XL4 Lifetime 3/26/13 XFinity
2 TiVo Mini's on Ethernet
80 HR Series 2 Lifetime 4/11/04 DEAD as of 11/2010
Bigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 07:01 PM   #5
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 15,805
It doesn't take too much of a wireless Bridge. My almost 5 year old DLINk DAP-1522 wireless Bridges have no problem providing the consistent bandwidth to a Premiere to give an experience identical to it being on a wired network. But I also have my Wi-Fi network setup properly. Multiple APs, not saturated, and on channels with no interference

__________________
Roamio Pro (5TB Red)
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA (1TB Red)
53TB unRAID2--38TB unRAID3--33TB unRAID1a
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 07:19 PM   #6
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 3,960
Since the Mini and the required host TiVo already have MoCA built-in, what's the point? If you have to put wireless on something, put it on the Premiere using a bridge. Then let the Mini connect to it over MoCA.

Unless there's no coax where you want to put the Mini...

Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 07:26 PM   #7
compnurd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 965
Yeh good point..

compnurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 08:25 PM   #8
jfh3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Denver area
Posts: 4,466
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
It doesn't take too much of a wireless Bridge. My almost 5 year old DLINk DAP-1522 wireless Bridges have no problem providing the consistent bandwidth to a Premiere to give an experience identical to it being on a wired network. But I also have my Wi-Fi network setup properly. Multiple APs, not saturated, and on channels with no interference
Ditto. I have the same setup on one of my Premieres and it works fine. That happens to be the box I'm going to replace with a Mini, so I will be able to report on this more shortly after I get a Mini.

But I agree with the other poster who said just use MoCA if you have coax to the location, unless you already gave a working bridge set up.

__________________
- Roamio x2; Roamio Pro; Roamio Plus
- TiVo Mini x4

- Premiere (2TB) x2 (both for sale - PM me)
- Elite XL4 (for sale)
jfh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 08:29 PM   #9
SNJpage1
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Atlantic City, NJ
Posts: 3,234
Since you already have an electrical outlet where the mini is wouldnt one of the ethernet over the electrical wiring work? Or is the speed of them too slow?

__________________
S2 and a Tivo HD
SNJpage1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 08:46 PM   #10
jfh3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Denver area
Posts: 4,466
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNJpage1 View Post
Since you already have an electrical outlet where the mini is wouldnt one of the ethernet over the electrical wiring work? Or is the speed of them too slow?
The newer devices should work fine. It's the same logical idea behind using MoCA, except you would be using power lines as the transport instead of coax.

But, since MoCA adapters are less expensive and TiVo officially supports that connection mechanism, I' go with MoCA over PowerLine or whatever the official name is.

__________________
- Roamio x2; Roamio Pro; Roamio Plus
- TiVo Mini x4

- Premiere (2TB) x2 (both for sale - PM me)
- Elite XL4 (for sale)
jfh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 08:52 PM   #11
Bigg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hartford- New Haven CT
Posts: 4,488
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arcady View Post
Unless there's no coax where you want to put the Mini...
Hence the point. I'm wondering about Powerline, as everywhere you can use a Mini would have a plug... Powerline is a lot slower than MoCA, but with decent electrical wiring, it can be a good solution. I'm using it now, although I probably would have been a lot better off with the more expensive, but faster MoCA.

__________________
Premiere XL4 Lifetime 3/26/13 XFinity
2 TiVo Mini's on Ethernet
80 HR Series 2 Lifetime 4/11/04 DEAD as of 11/2010
Bigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 08:55 PM   #12
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 3,960
I never considered having no coax until the end of my original post.

Everywhere I would personally install a Mini already had cable. Maybe the next time I move I won't even have to worry about having cable drops anywhere other than the living room.

Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 09:35 PM   #13
Corran Horn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Wood Dale, IL
Posts: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arcady View Post
Since the Mini and the required host TiVo already have MoCA built-in, what's the point? If you have to put wireless on something, put it on the Premiere using a bridge. Then let the Mini connect to it over MoCA.

Unless there's no coax where you want to put the Mini...
Yeap, that's it. (for now, anyway)

__________________
Samsung DirecTivo (RETIRED) & Phillips DSR7000 (RETIRED) & Tivo Premiere 4 & Tivo Mini
Corran Horn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37 AM.
Page generated in 0.08150792 seconds (79.65% PHP - 20.35% MySQL) with 18 queries