TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-13-2012, 06:56 PM   #1
Sleestak
Lizzard Member
 
Sleestak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Land of the Lost
Posts: 1,776
MultiRoom Viewing - not working

My old (HD 20-hr) NEVER sees my new (premier) box:

Both are on the same network & subnet.
Both can be pinged from a workstation, and both connect to Tivo service.
Both are wired ethernet.
Both are manual IP, I don't use any DHCP on the network.
Both are re-named and MRV-enabled at Tivo.com.
Both have been restarted multiple times in the weeks since installation.

The new premier always sees the old HD, but what I really need is for the old HD to see the new one. Without it, I can't see the premiere programs on my good TV...thanx
Sleestak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 08:55 PM   #2
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,689
You say you have restarted the Tivos, what about the router?

Do you only have 1 router you are using?
Tivo cannot MRV from Tivos on 1 router to other Tivos on another router.

By 'MRV-Enabled', do you mean in your My ACCOUNT at tivo.com, under DVR Preferences, those check boxes should be checked. then have your Tivos connect.

Just needed to clarify.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 11:19 PM   #3
Sleestak
Lizzard Member
 
Sleestak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Land of the Lost
Posts: 1,776
Ya, just one router, have restarted it since, and the check boxes under my account are checked for MRV.
Sleestak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 08:27 AM   #4
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,758
I know you've said that you've restarted both TIvos many times but I have to ask anyway - have you restarted them since the name change on Tivo.com? The Tivo will not broadcast it's new name without a restart.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 10:23 AM   #5
Sleestak
Lizzard Member
 
Sleestak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Land of the Lost
Posts: 1,776
Yes, and both tivos see themselves as their given names under "settings->system information"
Sleestak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 01:09 PM   #6
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,758
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sleestak View Post
Yes, and both tivos see themselves as their given names under "settings->system information"
They will see themselves after making a daily call to Tivo but they will not output that name to your local network until restarted. I discovered that the hard way and consider it a SW bug.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 05:33 PM   #7
Sleestak
Lizzard Member
 
Sleestak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Land of the Lost
Posts: 1,776
It's working with wireless instead of ether on the new box, so I suspect the cable.
Sleestak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |