TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-14-2012, 06:10 PM   #1
fburgerod
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 16
Keeping my place while swapping tuners

I have a Premiere XL 1TB. Today, I am watching a recorded football game and I wanted to check the Yankee/Tigers game. So I pressed pause on the recorded game and then swap. After a quick 10 second view, I swapped back to my paused recording, but it was now live. This, of course, is very frustrating as I now know the game score and missed a quarter of play.

Am I doing it wrong? Is the TiVo programming buggy?
fburgerod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 08:56 PM   #2
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,333
How were you watching the game originally - using the live buffer or playing from the NPL?
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 12:26 AM   #3
fburgerod
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 16
I was watching it while recording the football game and paused it. It did not hold the pause because when I switched back, it was "live."

I repeated this process later and the recording did indeed hold the pause. Sometimes it works and sometimes not. Is there a way to insure it works?

Last edited by fburgerod : 10-15-2012 at 02:29 AM. Reason: misinformation
fburgerod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 06:52 AM   #4
sneagle
Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: New York area
Posts: 2,106
The key is the size of the buffer. It is only 30 min. If you are further back than that, it will revert to live when you switch back tuners.
__________________
Former DirecTivo user..left for lack of line of sight for HD
Using Tivo HD x 2 with FIOS using cablecards and
One FIOS DVR with the latest software
sneagle is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 08:41 AM   #5
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,333
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneagle View Post
The key is the size of the buffer. It is only 30 min. If you are further back than that, it will revert to live when you switch back tuners.
Buffer size does not apply to something actually being recorded. The reason I asked the question, is if you are watching through "Live TV", it should retain the pause point. I do it all of the time, switching between two football games I am recording. If you are watching through the NPL, the pause sometimes gets lost (known problem) and is different from the "Live TV" pause point anyway.

Edit: My intial post should have said "Live TV" rather than "live buffer"
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"

Last edited by lpwcomp : 10-15-2012 at 09:09 AM.
lpwcomp is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |