TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-20-2012, 02:34 AM   #1
siratfus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 175
LCD HDMI Input reselects/flicker question

TIVOHD XL recently replaced with WD20EURS 2TB

Something peculiar I've noticed after I've replaced my hard drive because I know the former drive (wd20eads) did not do this. Every-time I go to the Tivo Menu or go back to live tv, the screen will black out momentarily because the HDMI input is reelecting itself again. I know it's the input because the LCD's info banner will say "HDMI 1" then go away.

This was not happening before. It's bugging me. Does this have anything to do with hard drive model? Does this happen to anybody else? Should it be a concern? Can I get rid of it?

Thank you.

Last edited by siratfus : 09-20-2012 at 11:34 AM.
siratfus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 10:12 AM   #2
bobbythegeek
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 18
There are timing and error reporting differences between the various 2TB WD green drives (EARS, EADS, EURS) that could affect performance. Some drives are faster and some drives approach error reporting and recovery differently. This is appropriate as drives are designed for different purposes, such as A/V.

Also, there could be a renegotiation of the HDMI video signal. If this is the cause, it might help to set the Tivo to a single "Video output format", such as 1080i or 720p.
__________________
Bobby
Premiere+1TB;HD+1TB;M-Cards;S2DT; Sharp LC46D65U; Sharp LC32D47U; VIZIO E370VA
bobbythegeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 06:05 AM   #3
siratfus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 175
Bobbythegeek, thank you for the tips! I changed the video output in the tivo settings to 1080i Hybrid and that did the trick! My LCD is capable of all the outputs, so I thought I was supposed to have it on NATIVE. Thanks again!
siratfus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 03:25 AM   #4
siratfus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 175
Correction.. 1080i FIXED did the trick, not hybrid. In case anyone has this same issue.
siratfus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |